Mcf777 Turbocharged April 30, 2013 Share April 30, 2013 LL. CEO have to come out and say something. This is the POWER of Internet. ======================================= http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...larke_quay.html The CEO of the Clarke Quay restaurant that billed a customer $3,900 for dinner clarified that the amount of food served was for 20 people. The initial bill of $5,900 was due to an error and the difference had been refunded in cash. Talking to Lianhe Wanbao, Roger Koh, boss of Chen Fu Ji restaurant, said the initial bill of $5,900 was due to a staff keying in '22' for quantity instead of '2'. The customer highlighted the error and the money was refunded on the spot. The recalculated bill of $3,922.70 was for a dinner catered to 20 diners. Mr Koh explained that the cost of $80 for Pu'Er tea was charged at $4 per pax, while the cost of $180 for fried rice was for 12 portions, at $15 each. When the total amount is divided amongst the 20 diners, the cost per head would roughly be $196. The photo of the customer's receipts had been circulating on facebook along with a description in Chinese. She had dined at the restaurant on Thursday (April 25). It mentions that the woman questioned the staff why two plates of fried squid could cost $704 while one person's share of Pu'Er tea could cost $80. The woman also disputed the cost of a portion of fried rice that was listed at $180 on the bill, and four crabs for $812. The woman also wrote that she was furious and told the staff she wanted to sue them. They then recalculated the bill and it still came up to $3,922.70." ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 30, 2013 Share April 30, 2013 the customer according to wanbao is a lady boss of a mala steamboat shop and apparently from PRC. after getting the fact, $196 per pax with liquor at a known chop carrot shop doesn't seem too expensive. On 4/30/2013 at 9:51 AM, Mcf777 said: LL. CEO have to come out and say something. This is the POWER of Internet. ======================================= http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...larke_quay.html The CEO of the Clarke Quay restaurant that billed a customer $3,900 for dinner clarified that the amount of food served was for 20 people. The initial bill of $5,900 was due to an error and the difference had been refunded in cash. Talking to Lianhe Wanbao, Roger Koh, boss of Chen Fu Ji restaurant, said the initial bill of $5,900 was due to a staff keying in '22' for quantity instead of '2'. The customer highlighted the error and the money was refunded on the spot. The recalculated bill of $3,922.70 was for a dinner catered to 20 diners. Mr Koh explained that the cost of $80 for Pu'Er tea was charged at $4 per pax, while the cost of $180 for fried rice was for 12 portions, at $15 each. When the total amount is divided amongst the 20 diners, the cost per head would roughly be $196. The photo of the customer's receipts had been circulating on facebook along with a description in Chinese. She had dined at the restaurant on Thursday (April 25). It mentions that the woman questioned the staff why two plates of fried squid could cost $704 while one person's share of Pu'Er tea could cost $80. The woman also disputed the cost of a portion of fried rice that was listed at $180 on the bill, and four crabs for $812. The woman also wrote that she was furious and told the staff she wanted to sue them. They then recalculated the bill and it still came up to $3,922.70." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinobros 2nd Gear May 8, 2013 Share May 8, 2013 It is a little pricey but I think it is quite expected for a ATAS fried rice. The fried rice is really good when I last ate there 5 years ago. Lots of Crab meat. Just to OT, I brought a few overseas colleagues (20 or so) to satay by the bay and the bill for the BBQ Stingray+Sambal Sotong+Cereal Prawns came to S$700. That I think is a real ripoff. SUPER BANNED them now. Anyway when you go in big groups, which ever restaurant you go, be prepared to be chopped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 8, 2013 Share May 8, 2013 On 5/8/2013 at 1:05 AM, Dinobros said: It is a little pricey but I think it is quite expected for a ATAS fried rice. The fried rice is really good when I last ate there 5 years ago. Lots of Crab meat. Just to OT, I brought a few overseas colleagues (20 or so) to satay by the bay and the bill for the BBQ Stingray+Sambal Sotong+Cereal Prawns came to S$700. That I think is a real ripoff. SUPER BANNED them now. Anyway when you go in big groups, which ever restaurant you go, be prepared to be chopped. you know the location is not local friendly, you choice so dun complaint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 8, 2013 Share May 8, 2013 On 5/8/2013 at 1:05 AM, Dinobros said: It is a little pricey but I think it is quite expected for a ATAS fried rice. The fried rice is really good when I last ate there 5 years ago. Lots of Crab meat. Just to OT, I brought a few overseas colleagues (20 or so) to satay by the bay and the bill for the BBQ Stingray+Sambal Sotong+Cereal Prawns came to S$700. That I think is a real ripoff. SUPER BANNED them now. Anyway when you go in big groups, which ever restaurant you go, be prepared to be chopped. Bro...first 20 person is not a few. Your bill ended up around $35 per pax, which is quite normal for this place ...they are more expensive than most hawker centres selling these kind of food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LinOrLim Clutched May 8, 2013 Share May 8, 2013 I can now hear "chop chop chop chop...chop chop curry pok" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackcongee Neutral Newbie May 9, 2013 Share May 9, 2013 Alot of rich are like that One I met got 3 home in orchard road, did up their house soft furishing, bargain for $50 less and free cushion cover. Quite afew done up their home take donkey weeks to paid until you called them up for payment. Really pui On 4/29/2013 at 2:17 AM, Actan72 said: On Saturday, I went to Din tai fung for dinner. After having my wonderful dinner, I pick up the tab and walk to the cashier. There was an old man giving hell to the cashier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 On 4/28/2013 at 9:59 AM, Achtung said: I do like sin huat even tho they r expensive... Std is more than 100 per pax miss out this post.... any recommendations for sin huat? i cant stand sin huat attitude though LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 On 4/28/2013 at 4:40 AM, Forte3737 said: how much a plate of crab mee hoon? i think $60 per plate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CYHew 3rd Gear July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 On 4/29/2013 at 2:17 AM, Actan72 said: On Saturday, I went to Din tai fung for dinner. After having my wonderful dinner, I pick up the tab and walk to the cashier. There was an old man giving hell to the cashier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 On 7/27/2013 at 5:17 AM, Raymondism said: miss out this post.... any recommendations for sin huat? i cant stand sin huat attitude though LOL scallops and crab bee hoon damm good. attitude not that bad lah. so far i went still ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 On 7/27/2013 at 9:37 AM, Little_prince said: scallops and crab bee hoon damm good. attitude not that bad lah. so far i went still ok. i usually go to the coffee shop for duck rice... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 On 7/27/2013 at 10:26 AM, Raymondism said: i usually go to the coffee shop for duck rice... Ya. Last time used to go there for duck rice for lunch then go BS for afternoon session. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 On 7/27/2013 at 8:28 AM, CYHew said: some say, every dollar saved is every dollar earned. this is how the rich gets richer Not all rich people are ngeow la. Some are quite generous.. Just depends on the person who's rich. A quote that I have always remembered since the first time I saw it. "Money doesn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 bee hoon crab... The garlic prawns the rest IMHO so so niah On 7/27/2013 at 5:17 AM, Raymondism said: miss out this post.... any recommendations for sin huat? i cant stand sin huat attitude though LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Hee hee BS days..... XTD now? On 7/27/2013 at 12:24 PM, Little_prince said: Ya. Last time used to go there for duck rice for lunch then go BS for afternoon session. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 On 7/27/2013 at 12:24 PM, Little_prince said: Ya. Last time used to go there for duck rice for lunch then go BS for afternoon session. Last time was duck rice w curry fish head... follow by happy hour at MG ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 14, 2014 Share May 14, 2014 Quote One meal equals to one month's salary By Melody Ng The New Paper Monday, May 12, 2014 (Left) The portion of the one crab that Mr Caaway and his family paid $707.20 for; (right) the receipt billed to Mr Caaway and his family. Seafood meals can be expensive. But a Filipino family on a trip here were stunned when they were hit with a bill for $1,186.20. Just the crab alone cost them $707. Their meal on April 26 at Forum Seafood Village Restaurant at Boat Quay also included prawns, a fish and a plate of vegetables. Mr Santiago Caaway, 54, said the total bill was more than what the family paid for their flight here and back. The restaurant had been in the news previously after tourists accused it of over-charging. But Forum Seafood spokesman Thomas Tham said the restaurant clearly states its prices and patrons know how much the dishes cost. And it was no ordinary crab that the Caaway family ordered. They had chilli Alaskan king crab, which other restaurants and seafood suppliers say is expensive. Was Mr Caaway aware that he was getting the Alaskan king crab instead of the more common and cheaper mud crab? Mr Caaway claimed his family did not know there were different types of crab on the menu but said they wanted it cooked in chilli gravy. "We heard that Singapore is known for its chilli crab, so we thought we must have this," said Mr Caaway, who has since returned to the Philippines. Hope they learn their lesson and never come back again ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...