Panhard 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 (edited) Hi guys, My very good buddy buying either the vios or city.Engine wise, vios is DOHC & city SOHC. Which should he opt for. Edited April 27, 2013 by Panhard ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 Hi guys, My very good buddy buying either the vois or city.Engine wise, vois is DOHC & city SOHC. Which should he opt for. DOHC usually better than SOHC but maintenance a bit higher. But both cars r good. Ask him to go testdrive n see which one he likes better in terms of comfort...space...handling...n price. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 I don't see why maintenance is higher. It's not like you would need to replace the camshafts at any point of ownership, unless you are doing taxi-like mileage. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 I don't see why maintenance is higher. It's not like you would need to replace the camshafts at any point of ownership, unless you are doing taxi-like mileage. Hahaha. U go ws n ask why. Anyway twincam adjustments n gaskets etc cost more lah. And if u need to replace any parts....it wil cost more. But fr most....its worth getting twincam cos of performance. Plus if v tec....twincam can hv even more power n economy cos in n out valves hv better control. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Author Share April 27, 2013 (edited) On paper, the DOHC vois delivers 107 horses while the city has 120 with the SOHC. Vois- 4 speed autoCity- 5 speed auto Test drive reveals the new vios a little quieter Edited April 27, 2013 by Panhard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 On paper, the DOHC vois delivers 107 horses while the city has 120 with the SOHC. HP is good fr flat out driving. Torque makes e car easier n more shiok to drive around. Also engine design plays a part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 DOHC means is DAMN ON & HEONG CHARGER Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 (edited) SOHC fares better than DOHC on low end throttle response which makes for better city driving Edited April 27, 2013 by Happily1986 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ishiwgao 3rd Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 (edited) cant say much about vios, but I'm a city driver for 3 years and it has given me 0 problems (maybe still waiting for the 4th/5th year to zibaboom haha). TS let me know if u need any comments on city. buying a car should be more than just DOHC vs SOHC right haha Edited April 27, 2013 by Ishiwgao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 HP is good fr flat out driving. Torque makes e car easier n more shiok to drive around. Also engine design plays a part. Also car weight. Engine size is a factor right? If it's 1L light car, isn't it better with DOHC so it won't struggle at highway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 Both work on the same concept which is variable valve timing on the intake valves. When there's more load the intake valves will open bigger and longer to allow more air into the A/F mixture to produce more power. Honda uses more moving parts on a single cam shaft to control the intake and exhaust valves. The functions are pretty much the same as Toyota's DOHC. Anyway more important in the variable valve timing dan the number of overhead cams. Both are similar in efficiency. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 At what RPM were these max hp achieved? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 On paper, the DOHC vois delivers 107 horses while the city has 120 with the SOHC. Vois- 4 speed autoCity- 5 speed auto Test drive reveals the new vios a little quieter U sure the New Vios more quiet?? It's known to be more noisy than the previous model.. Hence I din buy it. City definitely would be a more powerful contender except for the paper thin body. Honda are good with their engines but I dun see much from the Toyota side. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Author Share April 27, 2013 SOHC fares better than DOHC on low end throttle response which makes for better city driving Means better FC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Author Share April 27, 2013 cant say much about vios, but I'm a city driver for 3 years and it has given me 0 problems (maybe still waiting for the 4th/5th year to zibaboom haha). TS let me know if u need any comments on city. buying a car should be more than just DOHC vs SOHC right haha Ya agree! Was. Looking at both specs sheet, noticed the difference on these areas. How do you find the QC of Thai made cars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Author Share April 27, 2013 (edited) At what RPM were these max hp achieved? City : 120/6600, vios : 107/6000. Kerb wight: city: 1130kg, Vios: 1045kg Edited April 27, 2013 by Panhard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Author Share April 27, 2013 U sure the New Vios more quiet?? It's known to be more noisy than the previous model.. Hence I din buy it. City definitely would be a more powerful contender except for the paper thin body. Honda are good with their engines but I dun see much from the Toyota side. My buddy is leaning more towards the city than the vios. Maybe someone can share on built quality of "tom yam" cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear April 27, 2013 Share April 27, 2013 My buddy is leaning more towards the city than the vios. Maybe someone can share on built quality of "tom yam" cars If compared "Tom Yam" to "Tom Yam", go for the Honda.. But its slightly more ex than the Toyota. N I think the City handles better than the Vios. Cos I known of more Vios flipping over than the City. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...