BolehLand Esso redemption

Meanmachine

Just top up and tell the cashier tolak points. Pay the difference in cash, it is that simple.

A funny thing to share that happened to me quite some time back. I was at the Msia Esso cashier counter and in my most innocent look, smiling and asked very politely in english on how to redeem the points. She answered me in Melayu which I don't understand much, so my wife stepped in and asked her in her native tongue and translated.

When we were stepping out, the same cashier lady talked simple english to another customer waiting to pay when he enquired in English.

The both of us turned around to look at her and she sort of ignored us... she very guai lan hor?

A funny thing to share that happened to me quite some time back. I was at the Msia Esso cashier counter and in my most innocent look, smiling and asked very politely in english on how to redeem the points. She answered me in Melayu which I don't understand much, so my wife stepped in and asked her in her native tongue and translated.

When we were stepping out, the same cashier lady talked simple english to another customer waiting to pay when he enquired in English.

The both of us turned around to look at her and she sort of ignored us... she very guai lan hor?

You have answered your own question already. She is probably only confident in speaking in simple, pre-memorised sentences in English. Many PRC sales personnel here don't even bother to even do that.

Perhaps...

Her simple english was pretty well structured and doesn't sound heavily accented as she give driving instructions to the guy to carrefour and was telling him its good to sign up for the Esso card to get points and redeem petrol after accumulating XXXX points.

I have been pumping Gelang Petah on and off bi weekly when eat Zi Char and wash car for two years. Never crossed my mind to use their loyalty cards or redeem points like in SG.

Is Esso Smiles Card in MY the best deal at the moment? Or does Shell or Petronas offer better loyalty scheme at the moment? i'm going to get my Smiles card next week. Sheesh I'm surely the last one onboard. Wahahha [laugh]

Petronas also got loyalty card but I dunno can redeem for what..Esso more straightforward.

How to redeem ah? Just tell them thats all?

If u got enuff pts just tell the cashier u wanna redeem for petrol

The cashier w activate the pump n the pump will Stop when it hit the amt

To continue just replace the nozzle n take it up again

Petronas also got loyalty card but I dunno can redeem for what..Esso more straightforward.

Cheers. I've got my Esso card. Its quite puny roughly 1.5% savings I think, or calculated. Quite small sum, but since we're all gonna have to pay, might as well use the card.

Perhaps...

Her simple english was pretty well structured and doesn't sound heavily accented as she give driving instructions to the guy to carrefour and was telling him its good to sign up for the Esso card to get points and redeem petrol after accumulating XXXX points.

Actually u know, bro... There was once a GV chinaman spoke Chinese to me when I was collecting tickets. I could speak Chinese, maybe almost as good as a Chinaman, But I replied him in English. After all its our country, and I speak whatever tongue I want in my backyard.

These days GV's Chinaman at Plaza Sing pronounces English well. I told my other half I was impressed.

When in Rome, do as the Romans do. Malaysian Chinese speak malay to the Malays there and Chinamen eventually speak English in SG too. Its hard for us to expect them native Malays to change to suit us.

And yes, like u, I do feel irritated when the minah speaks Malay to me. I just say. "Sorry, I dun understand. Can u speak English?" Usually works. Somehow the first word does wonders. She then speaks English to me. Even haltingly.

Edited by Pplater

Depends on which Esso you go, some Essos you can pump liow direct go in deduct, but the one at pelangi zZZzzzzz ask me next time go in inform 1st.

2nd time i pump informed liow , she tell me the machine offline cannot redeem.

sometimes after pumping she tell you her machine spoiled cannot credit your points.

I have been going to JB to pump Esso for number of years. Singapore Esso smile card cannot be use for Malaysia card.

If I'm not wrong, now no longer can apply for smile card unless you are Malaysian with Malaysian IC and Address. For the redemption of point for petrol. You must go cashier to register before pump. If you pump and then expected redemption when paying, they will tell you next round.

Like you, im also a die-hard customer over many years.

But recently their petrol keeps giving issues.

I have since switched to Shell temporary.

Eagerly awaiting for the new Petronas station to open.............. ^_^

I have been going to JB to pump Esso for number of years. Singapore Esso smile card cannot be use for Malaysia card.

If I'm not wrong, now no longer can apply for smile card unless you are Malaysian with Malaysian IC and Address. For the redemption of point for petrol. You must go cashier to register before pump. If you pump and then expected redemption when paying, they will tell you next round.

Like you, im also a die-hard customer over many years.

But recently their petrol keeps giving issues.

I have since switched to Shell temporary.

Eagerly awaiting for the new Petronas station to open.............. ^_^

What happen to your so-call "issue"??? share share

Hi bro,

This is not true. I just applied for it 2 weeks back at Pelangi. Just fill up form with Singapore address and I/C. I have used it twice since then.