Australia: Road Trip - Gold Coast

Surpize

Wow 12 days is really very long. But there are many beaches there, if you want can go explore other beaches other than Surfers Paradise, for example i like broadbeach and Coolangatta. Each beach is different. Other standard activities include whale watching, hot air balloon, parks etc.

For theme park, you can get the unlimited pass to Movie World, Sea World, and Wet and Wild. Dream world need to get separately. Buy from here: https://themeparks.com.au/box-office/movie-world.aspx?

Since you staying for so long, it's really worth it. I bought unlimited pass but only went to Movie World and Sea World.

For those whale watching, hot air balloon activities, no need to buy in advance. Can go there and buy.

I also like Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, see the free roaming kangaroos and see koala bears.

quite sure you will enjoy your trip. Hope this helps

My accommodation place will be at Surfers Paradise, and Burleigh Heads so most probably will visit these two beach. I've calculated, If I buy the Sea World + Whale Watching package + Movie World, it will be cheaper than buying the VIP passes. Haha. Not intending to drive in Australia so traveling to places like Lamington Park, Springbrook and Byron Bay will be a problem.

Those with lobangs for daytours please recommend!

Thanks!!

drive to Sydney and come back :D:D

Too far already. 11 hours drive? Cannot tahan. [laugh]

My accommodation place will be at Surfers Paradise, and Burleigh Heads so most probably will visit these two beach. I've calculated, If I buy the Sea World + Whale Watching package + Movie World, it will be cheaper than buying the VIP passes. Haha. Not intending to drive in Australia so traveling to places like Lamington Park, Springbrook and Byron Bay will be a problem.

Those with lobangs for daytours please recommend!

Thanks!!

Too far already. 11 hours drive? Cannot tahan. [laugh]

U can try booking theme park tixs thru this site: http://www.experienceoz.com.au/t/theme-parks. Got my dreamworld/whitewater world family combo tixs cheaper here than thru myfun.com or the theme park website itself. [;)]

Surfers u gotta try the Hilton Residences - beri nice n great location. A bit more ex but not exorbitantly so.

Tink 12 days a bit long juz for GC. U might wanna head up to Brisbane or the Sunshine Coast for a couple of days.

Hi, any FR from your GC trip?

Getting all set to the lovely weather next week!

Thanks

Oops, are the theme parks very crowded?

Going to Gold Coast this April for 12 days. Regretted booking so long, 12 days is a lot of time to spend at GC. Flying via FlyScoot. Got my tix from there for about $300+.

Anyone bought your theme park passes from https://myfun.com.au/attractions-and-experiences.aspx ?

Is it really a better deal than buying from the theme park itself? Those who have bought from myfun.com.au before please share your experiences. Will be going to Movie World, Sea World + Whale Watching. Sea World have a combo package available @ http://www.seaworldwhalewatch.com.au/pricing_and_packages.php.

Is myfun.com.au a reliable source?

So far what we have in mind:

- SkyPoint Climb

- Surfers Paradise Beach

- Movie World

- Sea World

- Whale Watching

- Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary

- Cape Byron Bay Lighthouse

- Hot Air Balloon

- Springbrook National Park Glowworm Tour

- Lamington National Park

- Shopping trips

Anyone else have experiences with day tours? Any local tour agency to recommend?

Hi, any FR from your GC trip?

Getting all set to the lovely weather next week!

Thanks

Oops, are the theme parks very crowded?

Will do a FR maybe over the weekend with pictures. I went Movie World, Sea World. Movie World for the well, rollercoasters, and Sea World for the dolphins. There weren't much to see at Sea World as it was mainly like a bigger version of Underwater World but they seriously had lots of dolphins just basking under the sun (and looking for attention).

Try to go your theme parks on weekdays instead unless you really like squeezing with the crowd, and go early if you wanna complete all the rides. Movie World was quite packed though I went on a weekday. Had to queue for quite a bit but managed to complete all the rides and shop for all my souvenirs (I bought lots lots lots of keychains [laugh] ). Best ride - Superman & Arkham Asylum - similar to Battlestar Galactica Cylon ride. Don't miss out the Asylum as it is quite hidden at the back near Superman - not much queue, about 15 to 20 minutes. Queued the longest for the stunt show - about 45 to 50 mins.

There is this Batman show too! I think it was about 12 noon plus plus or smtg. I didn't know there was going to be a show till I saw everyone gathering at the pavilion - a good time to buy finger food for your family and just wait for the live show to start. Follow the crowd, you'll know where it is haha.

Can't remember much now as I don't have the pics with me. I'll try to do a FR this weekend, if I forgot to do it please @ mention me! [nod]

One thing I noticed, there were lots of Korean tourists in GC, and lots of tiongs... You'll be able to spot them easily, queue-cutters, loud mouth..... [shakehead] I don't know about the weather not but it was quite to the extreme when I was there. Either extremely HOT, or cold, and it rained on the last three days of my stay.

Favorite part of my GC trip:

1) Hotair balloon ride with Hotair. The whole package was really worth it. Long ride to the launch location, 1 hour plus of flight time, fabulous breakfast provided and great hosts.

2) Byron Bay

Best shopping place:

Harbourtown Shopping Center - many many factory outlet stores are here.. Shop until mad.

Least favorite:

Glowworm tour.

If you're planning to go on a Glowworm tour, I suggest you skip it completely, or drive yourself to Springbrook National Park/Springbrook Natural Bridge instead. We paid almost 100aud for the tour that started from 6pm to slightly past 8pm. Journey inclusive in the short two hours tour. Regretted. Should have visited Springbrook Natural Bridge in the day instead.

Thanks so much for these infO.

Will do sea n movie world on weekdays n cws.

Not planning on glow worms as doing self drive trip and not familiar with the road so avoid doing night drive.

Family loves marketing so with try afew including Carrara .

Appreciate your FR.

Counting down 4 more days!

Will do a FR maybe over the weekend with pictures. I went Movie World, Sea World. Movie World for the well, rollercoasters, and Sea World for the dolphins. There weren't much to see at Sea World as it was mainly like a bigger version of Underwater World but they seriously had lots of dolphins just basking under the sun (and looking for attention).

Try to go your theme parks on weekdays instead unless you really like squeezing with the crowd, and go early if you wanna complete all the rides. Movie World was quite packed though I went on a weekday. Had to queue for quite a bit but managed to complete all the rides and shop for all my souvenirs (I bought lots lots lots of keychains [laugh] ). Best ride - Superman & Arkham Asylum - similar to Battlestar Galactica Cylon ride. Don't miss out the Asylum as it is quite hidden at the back near Superman - not much queue, about 15 to 20 minutes. Queued the longest for the stunt show - about 45 to 50 mins.

There is this Batman show too! I think it was about 12 noon plus plus or smtg. I didn't know there was going to be a show till I saw everyone gathering at the pavilion - a good time to buy finger food for your family and just wait for the live show to start. Follow the crowd, you'll know where it is haha.

Can't remember much now as I don't have the pics with me. I'll try to do a FR this weekend, if I forgot to do it please @ mention me! [nod]

One thing I noticed, there were lots of Korean tourists in GC, and lots of tiongs... You'll be able to spot them easily, queue-cutters, loud mouth..... [shakehead] I don't know about the weather not but it was quite to the extreme when I was there. Either extremely HOT, or cold, and it rained on the last three days of my stay.

Favorite part of my GC trip:

1) Hotair balloon ride with Hotair. The whole package was really worth it. Long ride to the launch location, 1 hour plus of flight time, fabulous breakfast provided and great hosts.

2) Byron Bay

Best shopping place:

Harbourtown Shopping Center - many many factory outlet stores are here.. Shop until mad.

Least favorite:

Glowworm tour.

If you're planning to go on a Glowworm tour, I suggest you skip it completely, or drive yourself to Springbrook National Park/Springbrook Natural Bridge instead. We paid almost 100aud for the tour that started from 6pm to slightly past 8pm. Journey inclusive in the short two hours tour. Regretted. Should have visited Springbrook Natural Bridge in the day instead.

Hi folks,

I m going to GC end of September,will fly to brisbane then drive there,so need some Master or Expert give some tips.

1)Do i need to convert Singapore licence to international licence?

2)is it easy to drive from Brisbane airport to surfers paradise beach,and the hot spot like movie world /sea world?Do i need GPS?becouse if rent from the car rental company need about AU$46.00

3)Any good recommendation for food?

4)Anything need to take note or beware?

Thanks in advance!

Hi folks,

I m going to GC end of September,will fly to brisbane then drive there,so need some Master or Expert give some tips.

2)is it easy to drive from Brisbane airport to surfers paradise beach,and the hot spot like movie world /sea world?Do i need GPS?becouse if rent from the car rental company need about AU$46.00

Thanks in advance!

1. No need to convert licence.

2. The route from Brisbane to surfers paradise quite straight forward, normal paper may can lead you there. Driving around GC also can use paper, save the money on renting a GPS, but if you need one, there are a few free GPS app to download onto you phone.

3. Food are everywhere, just choose what you like to eat. See the earlier post where BB had her food in GC.

4. Drive safe, dun speed. take care of your belongings, car break in is not uncommon there.

No need. But take note of the high insurance excess AUD$2700-$3300 on the rental.

Not 100% necessary but if first time driving there, it's advisable to get. Makes the drive more enjoyable and stress free, esp if u plan to head to Lamington or Springbrook mountains (shld go). Can download Navfree app but I find my Garmin gives better advanced notice and easier to search for places.

What kinda food? My fav over there is Red Rooster BBQ chicken. If u hang around Surfers, Cavill Mall has some good makan places which are not too ex i.e. steak & pastas for abt AUD10-15. U shld head to Robina Town Centre - HUGE and lots of shops.

Give way, be considerate and dun drive like you're in Sgp.

[thumbsup][drivingcar]

3. Food are everywhere, just choose what you like to eat. See the earlier post where BB had her food in GC.

@beonhah

Thread is here. Don't think everyone knows who or what is BB. Haha.

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2694643-gold-coast-experience-2014-with-pictures/?hl=%2Bgold+%2Bcoast

Anyway Jman888 is right. There's food all around you in GC. If you are a meat lover, you will probably love Hurricane's Grill at Surfers Paradise - famous for their pork ribs, beef ribs. Otherwise, be adventurous and just walk in to any restaurants you fancy. Most of the food served there are pretty not bad with generous portion, akin to american serving size. Try to look around other tables to see how's the serving like as you do not want to over order. [laugh]

You can refer to the above posted thread for more highlights of my trip to Gold Coast back in April. Hope it helps.

Thanks every tips and information !Especially

HAHAHA!Frankly, in Singapore i will give way and considerate too...

thanks again! have a nice day!

Going to Gold Coast this April for 12 days. Regretted booking so long, 12 days is a lot of time to spend at GC. Flying via FlyScoot. Got my tix from there for about $300+.

Anyone bought your theme park passes from https://myfun.com.au/attractions-and-experiences.aspx ?

Is it really a better deal than buying from the theme park itself? Those who have bought from myfun.com.au before please share your experiences. Will be going to Movie World, Sea World + Whale Watching. Sea World have a combo package available @ http://www.seaworldwhalewatch.com.au/pricing_and_packages.php.

Is myfun.com.au a reliable source?

So far what we have in mind:

- SkyPoint Climb

- Surfers Paradise Beach

- Movie World

- Sea World

- Whale Watching

- Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary

- Cape Byron Bay Lighthouse

- Hot Air Balloon

- Springbrook National Park Glowworm Tour

- Lamington National Park

- Shopping trips

Anyone else have experiences with day tours? Any local tour agency to recommend?

I bought my themepark tickets from myfun.com.au. If you have 4 pax. I would recommend if you monitor the promotion as they always have buy 4 get 1 free promo, meaning you buy 4 pax but paid for 3 pax. I bought at AUD109 per pax but one month later their promo is AUD99 per pax. :(

Don't worry it is reliable. My fun.com package was unlimited entry to movieworld, seaworld and wet and wild. It will be different price if you buy at the themepark which is more expensive.

Surfer paradise got beacgfront nite market at wednesday, friday and sunday.

Going GC for 12 days is abit long.

Can anyone share with me a detail itinerary inclusive of accommodation for a 5-6 days Gold coast/Brisbane holiday with farm stay and self drive? A family of 4 with kids at 4-5years old. I am just too lazy to plan and looking for help. Please help. Going in Oct.

Your own family holiday n u too lazy to plan? [dizzy]

Ok i suggest the following itinerary then:

Day 1: Fly to Gold Coast

Day 2: Sleep

Day 3: Sleep

Day 4: Sleep

Day 5: Sleep

Day 6: Fly back to SG

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

HAHAHAHA. Good one.. I would love that.

Farmstay I can only think of Lilydale

YOu plan 2 days farmstay, each day for each themepark lor. Brisbane actually nothing much to see.

Farmstay I can only think of Lilydale

YOu plan 2 days farmstay, each day for each themepark lor. Brisbane actually nothing much to see.

All farm fully booked in Oct.. Just the Chinese holiday so many tourists.

Wah piang.....the poor cows gonna get their tities yanked until blister.

Last time visited a strawberry farm and a bus load of PRCs were there too. Knn.....those ppl trample all over the strawberries and started squatting and eating it there itself - unwashed. [shakehead] The farmhands were shouting at them not to walk on the strawberries and that they need to wash them b4 eating becoz of pesticide. But they juz kept at it....... [dizzy]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

At least give 2 days of shopping near the hotel mah [laugh]