Australia: Road Trip - Gold Coast

Surpize

Which hotel is that in Perth? I going year-end.

i stayed pan pacific.. was abt SGD160+/nite booked from agoda. Along the road is 2P.. further down the slope is 3P FYI

Just to share [laugh] .. i just came back from perth. They dont have Tarago anymore... all using kia carnival now across all rental companies there. Must get one with cruise control so on the freeways there, much easier to cruise along since most vehicles adhere to the speed limits there strictly

I stayed in the CBD area for 2 nites... what i did was parked the car overnight near very near the hotel (which was free from 6pm to 8am). And payed for the parking till 10am at 3.70AUD/hr fits my sight seeing juz nicely.

Oh.. and we had 6 luggages (3big+3mall) and 6 adults .. still pretty roomy

Thanks... yes, i kept seeing only like 3 options for MPVs at the rental sites: Toyota Tarago, Kia (Grand) Carnival, Hyundai iMax.

I've never driven a car with cruise control before (not that rich [:p] ). So how does the cruise control work? Just press something (where) and the speed will be constant and then just need to focus on steering is it? Just brake and the control will be off and it's back to manual again? Anything to take note of?

Also, do they not all come with cruise control, or must specify?

I think we'll be going to some of the touristy locations. Don't tell me the parking rates will make me flip...

Anyone has any other tips on where to park to avoid paying a hand and a leg?

And sounds like Kia Carnival is quite all right in terms of space. Does it have rear aircon vent, btw?

tks...

The roads from Brisbane Airport to GC should be well lighted if you travelling on the expressways.

Just make sure you don't speed as they are very strict on this.

Also there is a toll which you need to pay when you come out from GC airport to GC if you are using the expressway, I missed paying that and was fined when I came back

I would suggest leaving GC earlier just in case there are unexpected situation.

How to take note of and pay at the toll? Is it not like NSH, where you definitely have to stop and pass through - in which case can't miss? I heard almost 16 yr ago from my ex-boss that he had a fine when driving in Aust and didn't feel like paying, but was told he won't be able to enter Aust again without being arrested if he doesn't pay... so he promptly did. It was also quite ex...

farmstay maybe the cows and sheep will jaga for u free. [laugh]

but city hotel hv to pay......that is, if they even hv a carpark to begin wif. otherwise park in those wilson parking and it's even more ex. last time when i stayed at sydney swissotel, they no carpark n nearest one was A$70/night! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

whether boot big enuf or not, go google for pixs n decide for yourself lah.

wah lao... hotel no carpark??? culture shock to me leh. Here i don't think that's conceiveable, and we're a much smaller country. How can they hold seminars or wedding dinner at the hotel if no carpark?? how do residents visit guests?? so inconvenient...

I already tried to google, but mostly are pixs of exterior or dashboard... very rare if any of the interior leh, esp the boot area. guess not many people are interested in it so got little/no supply...

How to take note of and pay at the toll? Is it not like NSH, where you definitely have to stop and pass through - in which case can't miss? I heard almost 16 yr ago from my ex-boss that he had a fine when driving in Aust and didn't feel like paying, but was told he won't be able to enter Aust again without being arrested if he doesn't pay... so he promptly did. It was also quite ex...

IIRC, there are a few lanes which has no barrier to stop you , it's something like an ERP.

The other lanes which will have barriers and those you need to stop and pay the toll.

For my case, they issue the fine amount to the car rental company and the rental company charge it to my credit card... [:(]

Thanks... yes, i kept seeing only like 3 options for MPVs at the rental sites: Toyota Tarago, Kia (Grand) Carnival, Hyundai iMax.

I've never driven a car with cruise control before (not that rich [:p] ). So how does the cruise control work? Just press something (where) and the speed will be constant and then just need to focus on steering is it? Just brake and the control will be off and it's back to manual again? Anything to take note of?

Also, do they not all come with cruise control, or must specify?

I think we'll be going to some of the touristy locations. Don't tell me the parking rates will make me flip...

Anyone has any other tips on where to park to avoid paying a hand and a leg?

And sounds like Kia Carnival is quite all right in terms of space. Does it have rear aircon vent, btw?

tks...

Cruise control easy to use ba... press cruise button get to speed.. then click set .. juz feel around to get a hang of it.

Think ask at the counter when you collect the car, staff there wld most likely try and give you wat you want.

Only CBD area in have these exorbitant charges [rifle] . every where else was free for me. Tho there were free buses serving the CBD area.. to encourage ppl not to drive and jam up the main shopping/chinatown area etc

Yea, it has rear aircon vent

you think too much, there is australia not singapore [laugh] [laugh]

wah lao... hotel no carpark??? culture shock to me leh. Here i don't think that's conceiveable, and we're a much smaller country. How can they hold seminars or wedding dinner at the hotel if no carpark?? how do residents visit guests?? so inconvenient...

you think too much, there is australia not singapore [laugh][laugh]

[laugh][laugh] yalor. sometimes we take our convenience for granted. pay 50 sen for parking coupon oredi ppl kpkb. in sydney, it was reported that at a woolworths in the city fringe gave free 30min parking. but one second above that, the charge jumps to $30 per hour! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

once i park near the opera house, decided to take a train to Olympic stadium and took a ferry back, cost me $26, should have driven there instead [sweatdrop]

Cruise control easy to use ba... press cruise button get to speed.. then click set .. juz feel around to get a hang of it.

Think ask at the counter when you collect the car, staff there wld most likely try and give you wat you want.

Only CBD area in have these exorbitant charges [rifle] . every where else was free for me. Tho there were free buses serving the CBD area.. to encourage ppl not to drive and jam up the main shopping/chinatown area etc

Yea, it has rear aircon vent

OK... tks... is petrol or parking more expensive there? Maybe should just drive around ... [:p]

This is daylight robbery...

OK... tks... is petrol or parking more expensive there? Maybe should just drive around ... [:p]

petrol is abt A$1.50/L there. after u factor in the exchange rate and our usual discount here, it works out not much diff.

anyway, you're on holiday and rental car is unlimited km. juz drive n see as much as u can n dun too kiam abt petrol cost. [laugh]

Driving at night is fine as I used to drive to Brisbane for dinner and then back to GC. So far I have never seen any animals on the motorway before.

Lighting condition is fine but maybe because I am very familiar with the place.

As for driving to Brisbane Airport in the morning, if is in the morning then you might just have to leave a bit early just in case. I think the jam is only for the city area but won't affect much on the toll way to airport. I remembered last time I only took about an hour plus to get to the airport but once again I am very familiar with the place.

QUOTE (Kamitani7 @ Sep 30 2013, 01:45 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I would say it's fairly easy to drive from the airport to GC.

I would recommend harbour town and robina shopping centre for shopping.
As for food, the ramen place, hakataya ramen, is a good place to enjoy good ramen. Another place you could try is the ashmore seafood and steak located in ashmore. This one seldom people know but tour group always go one.

If need anymore things can ask as I have been living in GC for the past 6 years.

Thanks for advice.

I understand the drive from Brisbane airport to GC is pretty straight forward... my only concern is driving in the night as lighting is poor.. (any chance of animals running on to the highway???) & missing the road signs.

Do you know what's the typical traffic condition in the morning from GC to Brisbane airport on a weekday? My flight back to S'pore is at 9:10am.. does that means i need to leave GC by 6am to give myself at least 2 hrs to reach the airport with some time left to return the car & checking in? Thanks!

Yup, it's time to plan one self drive trip for Brisbane and gold coast for June 14.

Did some primary research, see if anyone who has experienced in these areas can help tks.

Primary goal, to visit 2 friends both staying in Brisbane.

Drive around viewing scenery, not able to visit all 3 theme parks due to 7 yo can't participate in all rides.

Places I read so far are

Theme park in GC

Koala park

GC hinterland

Lost world valley

MT Barney - farmstay

Sunshine coast

Great barrier reef is very popular but is it suitable for 7 yo?

Thanks alot

Yup, it's time to plan one self drive trip for Brisbane and gold coast for June 14.

Did some primary research, see if anyone who has experienced in these areas can help tks.

Drive around viewing scenery, not able to visit all 3 theme parks due to 7 yo can't participate in all rides.

Places I read so far are

Theme park in GC

Koala park

GC hinterland

Lost world valley

MT Barney - farmstay

Sunshine coast

Thanks alot

Visiting Australia in Winter has disadvantages such as shorter day ( Sunrise 730am and sets 5pm). Maybe rainy too.

Edited by Fu11thr0tt1e

Visiting Australia in Winter has disadvantages such as shorter day ( Sunrise 730am and sets 5pm). Maybe rainy too.

Tks for the point but got to accept it due to wifey n boy prefer cool periods

As for rain, I read west side will face this issue in June but queensland is opp, least rain I'm June.

Found some gems like scenic rim n granite belt

Will kp on reading tks

Places I read so far are

Theme park in GC

Koala park

GC hinterland

Lost world valley

MT Barney - farmstay

Sunshine coast

Thanks alot

with kid of 7 years i think can visit most of the theme park.

if time not permit, would rather stick to the usual parks and tourist attraction and shopping at the markets and malls, forget about farm stay, reef and other adventurous activities.

with kid of 7 years i think can visit most of the theme park.

if time not permit, would rather stick to the usual parks and tourist attraction and shopping at the markets and malls, forget about farm stay, reef and other adventurous activities.

Thanks for the suggestion bro! Appreciated

Till date plans are 3 nights stay at granite belt vineyard farmstay, 2 nights stay around hinterland farmstay for cattles n horse rides and 5 nights staying in cottages along GC while visiting movie world and currumbin wildlife , the carrara mkt, beach and visits to 2 friends in Brisbane for meal

My family is more to eat and dine type and not really into theme parks But we still will

Delicate a movie world n wildlife for him as that's gold coast.

Thanks bro will look into it in details