Skywalker Neutral Newbie April 23, 2013 Author Share April 23, 2013 Yes. You buy low-mid end models, it may come out from their china factory or some other manufacturers panel. Is the norm anyway. Same like car lah. B&b car outsource to another country. Higher end then come from korean or japanese panels. Popular models are easier to find for reviews where they dig deep to find the true speed, panel type and etc. So which models are considered low-mid range? or they go by price range? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 hi all i have someone offering this tv for $500...tv gurus...worth it? 40 inch Sony Bravia LED full HD TV. It's a EX430. Retail Price: $750 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidercool 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 hi all i have someone offering this tv for $500...tv gurus...worth it? 40 inch Sony Bravia LED full HD TV. It's a EX430. Retail Price: $750 If brand new with lower price, just take lor. I m using 46" 855 model. Everyday using it to link up smart phone(Samsung)to it. Watching drama, movies foc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysportwish 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 LG is pretty competitive, so far I am very happy with their after-sales services.. very responsive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Best value 4K TV for under US$1k I hope it makes it to our shores. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 If brand new with lower price, just take lor. I m using 46" 855 model. Everyday using it to link up smart phone(Samsung)to it. Watching drama, movies foc. thanks. decided to get it since similar size and specs all in at least $800+...using as a spare bedroom tv for my new house next year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Samsung has always edged over LG in terms of electronics products. Even my Korean friend attested to that. Has the tide changed?????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 (edited) Hi bro, I have bought a 32" LED TV Sxxxx brand. When you sit in front, the colour very nice and sharp. When you sit 45 degree (or watch the TV from the side), the whole TV screen colour is whiteish. I had called and spoken to the technical helpdesk. They told me this is normal. They say something like this is LCD panel. WTF, my old LCD/Plamsa dont even have such thing. Edited September 17, 2013 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Looking for new LED TV, what are the key criteria for choosing the "right" one? I only know Motion Rate (somehow those 3D mode have higher rate), 3D (good to have but not necessary), built-in WIFI (no need to buy another adaptor). My choice is either 46" or 47", Samsung or LG since I believe they are the leader in LED TV now, <$2K budget. For the same amount of money, which brand is the best choice? From the specs, LG seems to have slightly better specs (on paper) as compared to Samsung of roughly the same price band. Thanks Get Panasonic, you won't regret it. Get the 1600Hz refresh rate good enough liao. Panasonic TV Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobile1 1st Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 New TV nowadays are DVB-T2 ready. Don't be conned to buy old TVs. Mediacorp will go digital (DVB-T2 technology) starting Dec 2013. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 I went into Courts, Clementi and chatted for ages to a guy there who explained things in detail. I was impressed with how he explained stuff and the no pressure way he did it. I really liked LG 55'' and was interested in their latest model but he said no, go for the one on offer as the latest updates actually did nothing to improve picture etc. Can't remember model numbers etc. Anyway we are in UK for 6 months and I've bought the 42" LG LED 3 D model here and am impressed. Also bought the LG Home Cinema but that went snap crackle pop last Thursday, only 3 months old. I took it in and had a replacement 24 hours later. When back in Singapore next month we'll get the LG 55" LED 3D unless something better has come on the market. But you have to have a Home Cinema with any LED TV as the sound from the LED TV isn't up to it, imo. The other good thing about LG are the spectacles for the 3D effect which unlike Samsung and Sony don't require batteries. mayb they wanna clear old stock? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 (edited) LG & Samsung are the main providers of LCD panels to the all the other brands. The rest are from Taiwan. different between LCD & LED are just the back light...the former is using CCFL and the latter is using LED. No prize in guessing which one is brighter. Sharp is the biggest panel provider but their products are selling well....at one of point almost go into bankrupt Panasonic, Fujitsu and Hitachi used to have a joint venture too.... a circuit board will also be needed to power or drive the panel and this where the traditional TV makers like Sony, Philips, Panasonic and Sharp are the early players and dominate the world before the likes of Samsung and LG came in. At the end of the day, our eyes are the best judge. Dun be too concern with all the specification...We will have to ask ourselves can we see the difference and does it worth the extra hundreds between brand A and brand B. Edited September 17, 2013 by Cracker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Hi bro, I have bought a 32" LED TV Sxxxx brand. When you sit in front, the colour very nice and sharp. When you sit 45 degree (or watch the TV from the side), the whole TV screen colour is whiteish. I had called and spoken to the technical helpdesk. They told me this is normal. They say something like this is LCD panel. WTF, my old LCD/Plamsa dont even have such thing. Is it the same when u see it in showroom? If nof, confirm something wrong lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Best suggestion yur so far. At the end of the day the answers are NO and NO. Reliability is important in electronics, esp one that you are going to use daily for years to come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfan Neutral Newbie September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Looking for new LED TV, what are the key criteria for choosing the "right" one? I only know Motion Rate (somehow those 3D mode have higher rate), 3D (good to have but not necessary), built-in WIFI (no need to buy another adaptor). My choice is either 46" or 47", Samsung or LG since I believe they are the leader in LED TV now, <$2K budget. For the same amount of money, which brand is the best choice? From the specs, LG seems to have slightly better specs (on paper) as compared to Samsung of roughly the same price band. Thanks Actually what is so smart about Smart TV? Is it because it can skype and youtube and has wifi? Why not a cheap mac mini or Apple TV connected to a normal full HD TV? Overall still cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Actually what is so smart about Smart TV? Is it because it can skype and youtube and has wifi? Why not a cheap mac mini or Apple TV connected to a normal full HD TV? Overall still cheaper? You can either direct connect the ethernet cable or using wifi to connect the smart tv and to surf the net. Yes, you can skype, youtube and has wifi connection. Of course, direct ethernet cable is still the best, for its connection speed. Good about smart tv is that you can directly connect your mobile phone or tablet, select youtube videos to play onto the smart tv directly. Connecting via computer can't do that. Smart tv is just another gadget if you have extra bucks to spend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 17, 2013 Share September 17, 2013 Just for sharing after reading up from some online articles... What are the most essential things to have when buying a television? - Size - Type (Plasma, LCD or LED) If the area is too dark, get Plasma tv. If you want environmental friendly, get LED tv. How do you calculate the screen size that suit your area? - The distance between the tv to your sofa, measure based on inches then divided by half. For my case, i got myself a 60" LED smart tv. As for resolution (pixels), frequency, smart (internet) and stuffs. You can never win the next latest model which will launch in the few months time or even within short weeks. Thus, size and type of tv are important, the rest are sadly not so essential after all. Lastly, brands like Sony, Sharp, Samsung and LG are the top choices. There is no best brand, only best price wins. Hope this helps some or few mcfers when selecting your beloved tv. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear September 18, 2013 Share September 18, 2013 Reliability is important in electronics, esp one that you are going to use daily for years to come. all the components & board are MIC or localised in their region... and most of the TV sold here are assembled in Malaysia or Thailand. Only the very high end are assembled in the country of origin. having worked in a tv assembly plant,,, I no longer believe brand A is better than brand B in term of reliability.... same goes for notebook or desktop pc. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...