19 Apr 13 - SFN8460H Road hogger attempts to create accident

Hondavvvtec

TS, just email TP with the youtube link. There is no need to send the huge video clip to them.

If they feel that it is a traffic viotation, TP will ask you if you are willing to testify in the court if the driver wants to fight in court. If the driver do not protest, the TP will penalize the driver based on your video as evident. Speaking from my experience.

Please notify TP now to get rid of pest off road. thank you.

This young chap was travelling along AYE at a speed of below 90km/h on lane 1. He performed an Emergency Brake after i flashed him from behind. He did a 2nd attempt to create a near miss to show his big EGO. After moving to lane 1, he slowed down beside me on my left and starts his gesturing and only stopped after i pointed to him the video camera in my car.

watch from 55 secs onwards

Dont know what's wrong with people nowadays? Want to travel on lane 1 but < 90km/h and even slower than cars on lane 2.

The file is too large at 734mb when i uploaded in onto youtube.

How to resize so that i can send it to the TP?

Actually many forgot that part of defensive driving is to pre-empt and avoid any possibility of road rage upon. Nowadays road rage is not about getting off the car while taking a baseball bat or a spanner anymore, as the value of car going up and up, road rage have evolve it getting one self involved it an unexpected accident cause substainal injury to both body and property.

To the TS. While I do not denied the other party is an a-----e to do such stunts, it's only farkup reacting to an act of provocation. An unnessesary provocation by your part. Yes he's an ass, yes he road hog. But you flashed him and probably tailgated him in such a distance that he deemed it as intimidation (he just passed, so his tolerance may not be be as high as us)

I believe you should be much more experience on the road. You could have avoid this whole episode.

The key to road safety is to be a "Road Buddha"

No emotions, no feelings, no ego and no impatience.

You chose a lousy choice to react to his road hogger, you flashed him which he treat it as an agression and he perceived you as trolling.

You could have chose a less agressive an more progressive more: Filter left, drop gear and overtake him from the left. (like the taxi) If you have done that, not only you will be on your way with a better mood, the road rage would not have manifested on him.

Every action cause a reaction. The action you chose will/may be resulted a more drastic reaction than usual.

Take care, take it as a lesson learned.

I salute you if you are really a road Buddha.

I am no saint. I encounter this type of hogger almost everyday. Either purposely or really hogging the fast lane. I would usually overtake from the left if traffic clear. Else highbeam. Once in a while will encounter some buggers who will purposely jam brake, I would find a way to cut in front and return the favor. Better than taking video and complain.

I cannot kehan Liao, u ready turtle. In europe where I work for a couple years, all cars high beam from like even 500 m to 1km away, especially at autobahn, when incoming at 250km/h or more. Same in Malaysia NSW. I don't usually get high beam since I'm a ready fast driver, but I do come across Porsche, Feraris coming in at 300km/hr high beam u as far as 1km away.

There is nothing wrong if intention is correct, what's the ego about?

Horn is to warn for danger, high beam is used for alerting car approaching at others blind spot like multi-story car park go up or down ramp got another car coming incoming direction, on high beam to alert driver on oncoming side, or driving in dark narrow curvy road reaching blind spot, on high beam to warn cars if there is any car is approaching. The uses of horn and high beam is never use for venting frustration, it is only don't know why people go use that to show their displeasure.

I cannot kehan Liao, u ready turtle. In europe where I work for a couple years, all cars high beam from like even 500 m to 1km away, especially at autobahn, when incoming at 250km/h or more. Same in Malaysia NSW. I don't usually get high beam since I'm a ready fast driver, but I do come across Porsche, Feraris coming in at 300km/hr high beam u as far as 1km away.

There is nothing wrong if intention is correct, what's the ego about?

Ya there is nothing wrong when intention is correct, but what you think may not be what others think. Like TS high beam telling driver infront rod hog, the driver infront see high beam he buay song TS, thought TS want to look for trouble is it? This kind of situation can be avoided by just overtaking on the left, no need high beam.

And ya, I know road hogging is irritating but rather than put drivers into dangerous situation where one will never know the high beam or horn offended anyone else. Best is to just find opportunity overtake or stay far away from them.

* If one feel overtaking on the left is dangerous, than the driver infront cutting TS overtake is even more dangerous. I hope you get what I mean. What is normal in other countries, may not be of normal here in Singapore. So understand it and drive safe guys.

Edited by Yewheng

I salute you if you are really a road Buddha.

I am no saint. I encounter this type of hogger almost everyday. Either purposely or really hogging the fast lane. I would usually overtake from the left if traffic clear. Else highbeam. Once in a while will encounter some buggers who will purposely jam brake, I would find a way to cut in front and return the favor. Better than taking video and complain.

It's not hard to be a road buddha.

Just stick to your objective of arriving safely and ignore everything else other drivers does.

It cracks me up everytime when I see people complain about other drivers, or they try to provoke road rage stuff.

What for? Does it earn us any $$$? Does it help to reach our destination safer? Does it make the other driver come down and say "thank you" to you?

Nothing..nada!

So what for?

Save the breathe and energy onto something more useful please.

You will find yourself happier with people around you loving you more since they are feeling less of your temper and complains.

Edited by Icedbs

Agreed whole-heartedly with Icedbs, I am a 'converted' buddha driver myself. Used to be emotional when provoked but not anymore. End of the day, lives matter more, be it your passengers or the other car's passenger(s).

SG is too stressful, no point adding more to it.

That said, you should submit the video to TP for investigation, just to let the other driver learn what he failed to learn in the driving theories/practical. You may have helped to save his life in future.

Agreed whole-heartedly with Icedbs, I am a 'converted' buddha driver myself. Used to be emotional when provoked but not anymore. End of the day, lives matter more, be it your passengers or the other car's passenger(s).

SG is too stressful, no point adding more to it.

That said, you should submit the video to TP for investigation, just to let the other driver learn what he failed to learn in the driving theories/practical. You may have helped to save his life in future.

Ya, although I said much about high beam and horn, I still also want TS to report to TP to make him learn the hard way.

Traffic is light la..

TS just wanna insist on his right to drive fast on overtaking lane.

Decided to flash light, thinking 'f--king P plate noob should just move aside for me.'

Noob P plate was told speed limit 90.

He travel 90, KNN kena high beam by aggressive driver ..

Sparks fly.

Actually from camera, he jam brake, cannot see what's in front.

How TS know there wasn't anything in front?

At most kena one change lane w/o signalling.

Send to TP, i think most likely nothing happen.. At most one $150 fine..

This type just live and let live, no need to flash light. Just overtake from left.

If every hogger want to flash light and fight, no need to drive liao.

Drive out from house got already.

Pls see the video carefully before you start to create your another set of your story. A change from lane 1 to lane 2 in the video will already tell you whether if theres any car in front. Look at the way I changed my lane will tell you that I m not agitated by the driver in front. If I really want to provoke him, I would have already drive recklessly or even stayed behind him to perform stunts. To create stories such as me thinking that the driver in front should give way bcos he is a p plate holder is so shallow of you and it also tells me how carefully have you watched the video

Anyway, this video served as a reminder to all drivers here on how such drivers exist on our rds. For those who thinks that I shouldnt have flashed, all I can say is different drivers react differently. Some will sound their horn, others may high beam, cut dangerously from the left and overtake. No methods suit all situations. In fact some drivers may have also chosen to get back at the driver. For me I think he is very immature as I will just ignore him

After installing cam to my car, I myself try to drive better. Anybody try to disturb me, I just post on the net, no need to get back to him while on the road.

Maybe if anyone feels they have road rage in them can perhaps install, also to protect yourself from insurance frauds or road rages.

Edited by Nicholas

Looking at the full length of the video, TS is also no angel ..... -_-

He was maintaining 90Km/h all the way on the 1st lane even when the 2nd lane is clear off vehicles. Almost at the end of the video, a 'red' car overtake TS from middle lane. So does TS 'road hogging' the 'red' vehicle ? .... :ph34r:

In the begining, just follow the front driver and there are chances of TS overtaking from the left but did not and chosed to 'flash' at the front driver. Yes, he might be slow on outer lane but did he commit any offence. Road Traffic Act states maximum speed is 90km/h but did not states minimum speed allowed. 80km/h is not 'Road Hogging' or rather, TS is 'Tailgating' or failing to keep a distant.

I will agree with TS if the front vehicle 'road hog' when travelling at 60km/h & below on 1st lane... [:(]

In US, their highways did state minimum speed is 110km/h, then one committed an offence travelling below the min speed. Slower vehicles should keep to the extreme 'right'.

Bro..just remember that if these drivers continue to be "idiots", one day, they will meet their "lessons"

We don't have to worry for them.

We just have to ignore them and don't let them spoil our day and the pple around us.

The problem is these idiot hoggers r forcing other drivers to do something dangerous to other road users.

Just like those who park dangerously n cause others to hv an accident. Ty r fined. Why arnt hoggers fined even more?

If you ever drive on the N-S H'way or even the Autobahn,

You will notice that super fast cars coming from behind on the fast lane will flash flash high beam, the slower cars in front will auto give way, filter to slower lane.

Those fast cars will not overtake from the left. Its a no-no cas the slower car in front will filter out intending to give way.

if car in front dont give way, LLST. Eff the driver. as in Spore always

You will notice that super fast cars coming from behind on the fast lane will flash flash high beam, the slower cars in front will auto give way, filter to slower lane.

Those fast cars will not overtake from the left. Its a no-no cas the slower car in front will filter out intending to give way.

In Malaysia Highways, yes cos the(Malaysian) know how to siam MY TP & summons and those SG drivers wants to drive in MY highways, better learn a lesson to keep to the "LEFT".

But in Singapore roads, better kuai kuai and if chance permit, overtake from the 'left' or just follow ..... [:(]

towards 3/4 of the video, u r not a saint either... taxi in front of u travelling so much faster till u nearly cant see his taillight and u still stick to lane 1 wif ur speed? road hogger calling another person hogger? tat guy is only a p-plater and if u buay song he gesture at u, dan challenge him out of his car la... u will not get any case by sending in tis video to TP... in fact, TP will ask u the same question y u hog when the taxi in front of u going so fast? juz carry on wif life man... so daring, crash into his backside la dan state video is evidence...

Well one can snip and crop out the part where the dangerous act was committed....

the rest are redundant.

anyway... no one is perfect but to chose who is to be condemn, i will pick that moron that is trying to create an accident by jamming brake to create an intention accident.... What a prick.

I do not see flashing beam at a road hogger as provocative. Some ppl really no situation awareness, or they do not know they are road hogging, thinking "wtf is wrong I driving at speed limit". some no sit awareness persons will filter left when they see the flash. Some ignorant ones will realise why they keep kena beam, and hopefully ask and learn.

Only egomaniacs will do something crazy putting themselves n others at danger because they kena beam and to them its a big thing as they see it as their ego n self esteem is bruised lol.. this type of pple shld be taken off the road, help themselves avert high blood pressure also since they so small gas haha..

Agree that flashing light is not provocative.

I have been in TS situation a couple of times. I no longer flash light as i will either follow his speed, or go to lane to and then overtake safely from the left (with proper signalling)

The 'self-righteous' part of me when it comes to this is no longer there. I am more relaxed on the road. Overtake me without signalling will no longer get my ire (i have proof) as I just want to drive defensively.

yes.. nshw.

empty road.. thought i was going damn fast at 190 already. then a LS460 passed me from the left without me even knowing he approached.

really 一山还比一山高 [bigcry]

should have been keeping on the left then..

Edited by Solar

Normally I will not high beam the bugger if I can overtake from the left.

But I will only highbeam him if I am unable to overtake him from the left and in front of him there is more than 5 car length. But normally I will not high beam or horn road hoggers....cos you never know if you will come across these morons...

BUT if this arse tries this on me...I do hope that his brakes are as good as he thinks it is...cos when I slam my brakes back on him...his brakes better be good....cos I slam my brakes HARD !! I hate those donkey brained who plays tap brake...

In the begining, just follow the front driver and there are chances of TS overtaking from the left but did not and chosed to 'flash' at the front driver. Yes, he might be slow on outer lane but did he commit any offence. Road Traffic Act states maximum speed is 90km/h but did not states minimum speed allowed. 80km/h is not 'Road Hogging' or rather, TS is 'Tailgating' or failing to keep a distant.

http://www.mha.gov.sg/news_details.aspx?ni...-iROka1XzyCY%3D

Why stay on Lane 1 when you are travelling at 90km/hr, side by side with the vehicle on Lane 2? It is common sense and basic courtesy. If you want to cruise and stay within speed limits, keep as left as possible. If someone else wants to speed on Lane 1, let them be - it is an overtaking lane afterall.

Can you say the same if the vehicle is travelling at 90km/hr on Lane 1 and there is an ambulance / SCDF vehicle at the back? No need to give way because he is "right"? Do the same stunt and get the ambulance to kiss his rear bumper?

Picture taken from somewhere...

IMG_20120104_102525.jpg