19 Apr 13 - SFN8460H Road hogger attempts to create accident

Hondavvvtec

I support you to send in the video to the TP, just make sure you do not self-pwn such as you yourself is speeding, and tailgating.

Obviously the "new driver" committed a string of boo boos on the road but the TP may also fault you for getting both into dangerous situation, which made the road unsafe for the rest of the motorists.

Just like one bro said...the taxi just zoomed past on the left without a fuss.

So think about it first.

Good luck.

I also support to send to TP. Take these roadhoggers off the roads!

By the way you also has some fault. You should not high beam him. He maybe get piss off with you high beam. If you just overtake him on the left just like the taxi nothing much would have happened. Why put yourself into such dangerous situation?

I watched the video. Yes, traffic is light. TS could have overtaken easily. No need to provoke anyone.

I do not see flashing beam at a road hogger as provocative. Some ppl really no situation awareness, or they do not know they are road hogging, thinking "wtf is wrong I driving at speed limit". some no sit awareness persons will filter left when they see the flash. Some ignorant ones will realise why they keep kena beam, and hopefully ask and learn.

Only egomaniacs will do something crazy putting themselves n others at danger because they kena beam and to them its a big thing as they see it as their ego n self esteem is bruised lol.. this type of pple shld be taken off the road, help themselves avert high blood pressure also since they so small gas haha..

Yup. No need to flash. Just drop gear and over take from the middle lane.

If he overtake from middle lane, it would become TS's fault if any accident occurs, highway code always overtake from the right...

highway code 是死的,人是活得....

What I usually do for this kind of situation : just follow his speed turn on my Hi Beam all the way, dun overtake him, just keep on the Hi Beam and stay well behind him. He speed up I speed up he change lane I change lane. ONE POINT MUST TAKE NOTE U MUST KEEP AT LEAST 2 TO 3 CARS' LENGTH BEHIND, THIS IS THE MOST EFFECTIVE LENGTH TO SHINE THE HI BEAM.

I tell you, they cannot take it, they will try to slow down, try to speed up, try to change lane or even stop.

Try next time. Just my 2 cents.

Most cars now have automatic anti glare rear and side mirrors. Continuous high beam has no affect on such drivers.

Traffic is light la..

TS just wanna insist on his right to drive fast on overtaking lane.

Decided to flash light, thinking 'f--king P plate noob should just move aside for me.'

Noob P plate was told speed limit 90.

He travel 90, KNN kena high beam by aggressive driver ..

Sparks fly.

Actually from camera, he jam brake, cannot see what's in front.

How TS know there wasn't anything in front?

At most kena one change lane w/o signalling.

Send to TP, i think most likely nothing happen.. At most one $150 fine..

This type just live and let live, no need to flash light. Just overtake from left.

If every hogger want to flash light and fight, no need to drive liao.

Drive out from house got already.

Put P.plate doesnt mean new driver.

I also put P.plate. it is the same piece of P.plate i got it in 1995 as a sovenier from B.batok Driving centre.

Edited by Mcf777

Actually many forgot that part of defensive driving is to pre-empt and avoid any possibility of road rage upon. Nowadays road rage is not about getting off the car while taking a baseball bat or a spanner anymore, as the value of car going up and up, road rage have evolve it getting one self involved it an unexpected accident cause substainal injury to both body and property.

To the TS. While I do not denied the other party is an a-----e to do such stunts, it's only farkup reacting to an act of provocation. An unnessesary provocation by your part. Yes he's an ass, yes he road hog. But you flashed him and probably tailgated him in such a distance that he deemed it as intimidation (he just passed, so his tolerance may not be be as high as us)

I believe you should be much more experience on the road. You could have avoid this whole episode.

The key to road safety is to be a "Road Buddha"

No emotions, no feelings, no ego and no impatience.

You chose a lousy choice to react to his road hogger, you flashed him which he treat it as an agression and he perceived you as trolling.

You could have chose a less agressive an more progressive more: Filter left, drop gear and overtake him from the left. (like the taxi) If you have done that, not only you will be on your way with a better mood, the road rage would not have manifested on him.

Every action cause a reaction. The action you chose will/may be resulted a more drastic reaction than usual.

Take care, take it as a lesson learned.

Edited by Pocus

Even though the brake lights came on, it wasn't even close to an "Emergency brake", you can see in relation to the traffic..

Maybe I'm wrong, but when TS (finally) decide to overtake from the left could be in his blind spot too.. maybe the driver's actions are not deliberate?

The video doesn't show much. Maybe the front driver got startled when he got high beamed so he tapped on the brakes. It wasn't even an ebrake. Then after that he realised he got high beamed for hogging lane one so decided to filter to lane 2 but then TS also decided to filter at the same time while in his blindspot.

I didnt know this thread will end up with so many replies. Anyway for those who think I m speeding, my speed was actually at93 when I approached the car in front. If he were to travel at 90 then most probably I wouldnt have flashed him at all. Neither in the video did I protrayed that I was tailgating him and if you noticed I did waited for few secs before I did a short flashed. Anyway the driver in front was not showing any normal gestures at all. At first when he did a jam brake, my initial thought was that there might be another vehicle in front . But when I shifted to lane 2, thats when I realised that he did it purposely. I treat it as a normal flash asking to give way rather than horn since most of us dont like to be horn.

Anyway dont need to show me a young chap ego just becos his partner was beside him. And if you guys noticed, I dont think I have driven recklessly in any way throughout the video. I m just wondering whats wrong with his mentality. What will he gain by showing such stunts?

I rather quickly changef back to lane 1 to avoid such youngster. Too bad I dont have a side camers that shows that he deliberately slow down so that I m at his right jusr to show me his unfriendly gesture

By the way you also has some fault. You should not high beam him. He maybe get piss off with you high beam. If you just overtake him on the left just like the taxi nothing much would have happened. Why put yourself into such dangerous situation?

Actually I prefer ppl to flash high beam at me than tail gate me.

Like from far, the person rushing, he flash his high beam, I will shift to the side. It is way safer than tail gating.

On friday on CTE after 8.30pm, got 1 P plate MPV also drive on lane 1 at 70km/h. No kidding. Seriously that slow. Even vans are overtaking him on lane 2. Cars after cars flash and horn him, the kid(yeah, I turn to see who was driving) refused to move.

Alot of this new bird drivers either drive damn slow, or cheong damn fast. Especially those P plate vans. Knn, can cheong lane 1.

Bottom line....

Road hogging...Never mind

Zham brake.....its a no no. Got balls, go zham in front of TP. Then I salute you. <_<

Edited by Hamburger