Press emergency button to save old man. Kena detained by MRT

Ahtong

LINK

Explain when train's emergency button can be used

ON TUESDAY night, I was taking the south-bound MRT train towards Ang Mo Kio.

At Yio Chu Kang station, a woman asked for help in a desperate tone, then pressed the emergency button on the train.

I realised that an elderly man had his arm caught between the train doors. The doors did not re-open after the usual few seconds, and his arm was stuck for about a minute.

When the doors did open, the old man entered the train and was unharmed.

However, an SMRT staff member came and demanded to know who had pressed the button.

When the woman owned up, he asked in frustration: "Why you press the button?"

Later, when the train stopped at Ang Mo Kio station, the woman was detained and further questioned. Thankfully, another man stood up for her.

When is the right time to press the emergency button? If someone gets caught between the train doors, are we supposed to wait until the train starts moving before we press the button?

Perhaps SMRT can clarify the protocol for using the emergency button.

Please don't fiddle with SMRT property, when no air in the cabin due to massive break down, please suffocate and die inside instead of breaking the glass.

For this case, only if the door amputate the old man's arm then press the emergency button, else just let it hang lose there.

The situation above is a good example for e emergency button. I think the woman being detained was more to ascertain the truth and not necessarily to censure her. the guy who spoke up for her is a witness to her account of why she pressed it.

Unless she is being charged for mischief/misuse of the emergency button, I personally dun see what is the issue of this account.

Other examples are if the train cabin fills up with water/smoke except money, are occasions to press it.

Another would be a person in need of immediate medical attention or someone jumped onto the track as the train moves off ( maybe highly unlikely with those security gates/ doors now). Generally, life threatening or dangerous situations, in my opinion, would be compelling reasons why I press the button. The key here is just dun use it to test how good the train driver's or train's response to brake or stop. There were instances where it has been pressed for fun. The red button is a magnet for bored people....

Safe ride.....red button in cars are accidents... usually result in a full stop unless it's a hit and run.

Edited by PSP415

Please don't fiddle with SMRT property, when no air in the cabin due to massive break down, please suffocate and die inside instead of breaking the glass.

For this case, only if the door amputate the old man's arm then press the emergency button, else just let it hang lose there.

Lol, you are right. If the man's arm did not amputated, please do not press the emergency button. I guess the emergency button can only be press when someone die. <_<

tia gong MRT ish private gong see

[sunny]got what rights to detain people!?!?!?!? [sunny]

the woman should stir this shiit big big and get MRT to kneel down and say sorrie!!!! :D

Maybe they have the right cause the person "anyhow" press the emergency button?! [rolleyes]

later on we become like india / china .. ambivalent about helping others if it means we "kena" also ... if his arm is stuck there and my assumption is that the train may move off anytime, i would also want to hit the button ...

stupid smrt! instead of taking the opportunity to educate people and say this is a right course of action and when the emergency button should be used, they rather detain people ... who will help next time?

http://sglinks.com/pages/2232261-mrt-break...ndows-says-smrt

48b5a022aaee50279e3cebaced4b33cb_330.jpg

If you are stuck inside a train, never smash the windows or force the doors open. -- PHOTO: TWITTER If you are stuck inside a train, never smash the windows or force the doors open. Stay calm and wait for help. This was the advice from SMRT, a day after a massive service disruption led to about 4,000 commuters being stuck in trains that had stalled. One frustrated commuter used a fire extinguisher to smash the glass on the door. He should not have done so but considering the situation, he will not be penalised, SMRT officials said. Senior vice-president for communications and services, Mr Goh Chee Kong, said that in the event of a power failure, there is a back-up system that will activate emergency lights within the carriages and provide ventilation. If commuters have to disembark from the trains onto the tracks, the power supply will be cut off and staff deployed to guid...

Full article: http://www.straitstimes.com/The-Big-Story/The-Big-Story-3...

i like the way MRT people are handling the matter [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Maybe they have the right cause the person "anyhow" press the emergency button?! [rolleyes]

Time for the woman to Poh Mata [sly]

Let Mata go and catch the wrongful detaintion [laugh][laugh]

later on we become like india / china .. ambivalent about helping others if it means we "kena" also ... if his arm is stuck there and my assumption is that the train may move off anytime, i would also want to hit the button ...

stupid smrt! instead of taking the opportunity to educate people and say this is a right course of action and when the emergency button should be used, they rather detain people ... who will help next time?

if it was moi, i will on the spot fark that mrt people big time

fark unbtil he lan lan kneel down say sorrie [pirate][pirate]

put big big on hand camera post youtube [sunny]

challenge him, you arrest me lah, i scared you ah [sunny]

SMRT should adopt an "innocent until proven guilty" stance on such matters instead of using such a high-handed apprach...

MRT already kana sai

every other week breakdown

make people angry only

still yayyapapaya [thumbsdown]

still dont want to repent [thumbsdown]

better be humble a bit, give big big award to the woman samaritian, call big big press conference

say what a heroine [thumbsup]

MRT already kana sai

every other week breakdown

make people angry only

still yayyapapaya [thumbsdown]

still dont want to repent [thumbsdown]

better be humble a bit, give big big award to the woman samaritian, call big big press conference

say what a heroine [thumbsup]

they will tell you already give you free ride before 745, what more you want?

we should get ayam brand to sponsor decals for smrt, since both pack like sardines :P

post-4638-1366253501.gif

post-4638-1366253507.gif

you guys have no idea how much money smrt will bleed when that RED button is pressed that causes delay, escpecially when their book is in the red now. <_<

It is not about the emergency button, it is how the people who handle the situation, smrt was never good at it.

SMRT should adopt an "innocent until proven guilty" stance on such matters instead of using such a high-handed apprach...

Exactly. Just take down particulars and contact details, and move on.

Investigate. If found guilty after investigation, then press charges, otherwise if found the woman indeed did the right thing, send a thank you note for civic action.

No need to detain. This is not a police state... oops... maybe I am wrong... :huh:

Edited by JackRabbit