Watches III

Steptronic

not brainwashed lah

GMT 2C is higher priced when new probably because of the additional GMT feature, ie more costly to manufacture

if we compare the spot market asking prices in the parallel import market

it would indicate the relative demand of GMT is much lower than Sub

which makes sense given the status of the Sub in the Rolex range.

therefore in the preowned market, it is not a given that GMT will command a higher price than the Sub

despite having a higher price brand new.

[;)]

This piece by this seller (stanleykee) is hardly indicative of spot price of GMT vs Sub in general. In fact in the parallel import market (BNIB), GMT is always asking higher than Sub, other than this instance. So the premise upon which your entire argument was based is already incorrect.

Because the GMT and Sub are priced within 20% of each other, there is no "relative demand". We are still talking demand in the same market segment. It is not like demand of E class vs S class where you can derive "relative demand" according to the penetration rate in their respective market segments and price brackets.

Following your claim that demand of Sub is higher than GMT only serves to highlight the fact that GMT is almost always priced higher than the Sub (given similar age and attributes), whether the seller is AD, parallel importer or pre-owned dealer. This suggests that the GMT is price inelastic to demand. Which is a good thing in terms of exclusivity and prestige over the Sub, however slight.

So when you spot something like a BNIB GMT 2C asking for lower price than a BNIB Sub C from the same seller, BUY! It won't happen again and you know it will be a good deal.

Unless you have a real soft spot for the Sub! :D

This piece by this seller (stanleykee) is hardly indicative of spot price of GMT vs Sub in general. In fact in the parallel import market (BNIB), GMT is always asking higher than Sub, other than this instance. So the premise upon which your entire argument was based is already incorrect.

Because the GMT and Sub are priced within 20% of each other, there is no "relative demand". We are still talking demand in the same market segment. It is not like demand of E class vs S class where you can derive "relative demand" according to the penetration rate in their respective market segments and price brackets.

Following your claim that demand of Sub is higher than GMT only serves to highlight the fact that GMT is almost always priced higher than the Sub (given similar age and attributes), whether the seller is AD, parallel importer or pre-owned dealer. This suggests that the GMT is price inelastic to demand. Which is a good thing in terms of exclusivity and prestige over the Sub, however slight.

So when you spot something like a BNIB GMT 2C asking for lower price than a BNIB Sub C from the same seller, BUY! It won't happen again and you know it will be a good deal.

Unless you have a real soft spot for the Sub! :D

thanks for your comments

I have recently seen a few instances where GMT was priced lower than Sub but it could be very short term current demand supply where these spot sellers wish to clear out the GMTs faster than the Subs and not indicative of the general market trend. Btw I am not an expert in Rolexes and do not claim to be one either.

What I have said previously were just recent observations.

I have already stated my preference for the sub previously and why the GMT feature does not add value in my opinion.

but I would encourage anyone who is interested in buying the GMT 2C to take advantage of the present situation as it may be a long while before such an opportunity were to occur again

Viceroy, whats your next Rolex gonna be?

Have my eyes on a dress watch: 18k day-date "president" on bracelet.... The old 36mm one cos I think the new one looks silly... Dress watches shouldn't be so big.

Or maybe a rose gold Calatrava.... Those are classic.

Or an 18k JLC master control moonphase with white dial.

Aiyah so many watches to buy, so little money!

Hey ask you a question hor: do you wear your 18k gold watches with office wear? I find that yellow gold clashes with steel belt buckle. Rose gold still ok, can match. Can recommend me a nice matching belt buckle to match yellow gold watches?

Also hor, my wedding band is white gold leh... And I also wear watch on left wrist... So confirm clash one.... So what do you do har? I realised rose gold goes better with white gold....

Edited by Viceroymenthol

Have my eyes on a dress watch: 18k day-date "president" on bracelet.... The old 36mm one cos I think the new one looks silly... Dress watches shouldn't be so big.

Hey ask you a question hor: do you wear your 18k gold watches with office wear? I find that yellow gold clashes with steel belt buckle. Rose gold still ok, can match. Can recommend me a nice matching belt buckle to match yellow gold watches?

Also hor, my wedding band is white gold leh... And I also wear watch on left wrist... So confirm clash one.... So what do you do har? I realised rose gold goes better with white gold....

Hahahah, you damn KNN, last time say i ah pek wear yg DD.

Now you also like it.....

Hee hee.

Yes i do wear my gold watches to Lau Pa sat almost every other day.

But never with anything less than a gold buckled belt, gold buckled monks strap shoes and gold cufflinks.

Impossible to go with SS when wearing gold watch.

In fact spectacles must be gold too if you do wear...

I avoid the Hermes gold buckle belt but it can be nice.

Alternatively you can try Dunhill for more ahpekness. Or Ferragamo. Bally also elegant.

My wedding band is diamonds on white gold. So i never wear my wedding band when wearing my yellow gold watches. Only wear the ring when wearing my SS watches.

You are absolutely right, classic can never be wrong.

Never let the trend lead you. Create the trend yourself.

Go go gold!

And welcome to the world of Rolex and ahpekness

P.s. i am also looking to get another DayDate since i've given mine to my wife.

Edited by Throttle2

Thanks for the info bro.

Yeah forgot about the gold cuff links... I used to order my shirts with my left cuff bigger, accommodating thick 44mm watches like Panerai and Offshore.... now have to alter some of the cuffs so as not to look ridiculous. Wearing big sports watches with shirt and pants WAS probably a little ridiculous in itself... ah the folly of youth.

So: gold cuff links, gold watch, gold belt buckle, gold buckle on shoes.... will I look ridiculous? Haha! I have never dressed this way before! Reminds me of those businessmen in the '80s! Complete with gold-rimmed spectacles!

I think that might be overkill.

I would do matching shades in contrasting textures instead of exact colours and materials. For example, if you're wearing a full gold watch, you might consider a bronze buckle, horn cuff links, non-buckled shoes and brown spectacles with maybe small gold accents.

As for the wedding ring, I wouldn't care if it matched.

Well, at least that's how I'd do it.

Edited by Chickenbackside

Thanks for the info bro.

Yeah forgot about the gold cuff links... I used to order my shirts with my left cuff bigger, accommodating thick 44mm watches like Panerai and Offshore.... now have to alter some of the cuffs so as not to look ridiculous. Wearing big sports watches with shirt and pants WAS probably a little ridiculous in itself... ah the folly of youth.

So: gold cuff links, gold watch, gold belt buckle, gold buckle on shoes.... will I look ridiculous? Haha! I have never dressed this way before! Reminds me of those businessmen in the '80s! Complete with gold-rimmed spectacles!

Hahah, no lah, need not be so ah pek.

What i meant is that if you have a gold watch the rest of the metal color on your body must match.

Bronze is an excellent alternative as mentioned by chickenbackside.

I dont mean that you must wear cufflinks or buckled shoes.....

Read: chickenbackside's very good suggestion

Hi All,

I am helping my friend to ask around...

He has a Zenith Chronomaster T Open El Primero watch with a 4021 movement and would like to send it for servicing...

Is there any outside reputable watch repairers that are able to service this watch or he must go back to LVMH?

I understand from him that JW and couple more not able to service it cause it is In-House Movement...

Please kindly share your thoughts... Thanks...

Hi All,

I am helping my friend to ask around...

He has a Zenith Chronomaster T Open El Primero watch with a 4021 movement and would like to send it for servicing...

Is there any outside reputable watch repairers that are able to service this watch or he must go back to LVMH?

I understand from him that JW and couple more not able to service it cause it is In-House Movement...

Please kindly share your thoughts... Thanks...

Try William at Watch Klinik in Tanglin shopping center.

Thanks Throttle2...

I will ask him to check with Watch Klinik...

One more yellow gold watch convert by Throttletology..

Thanks for the info bro.

The look will not be complete with a LV pouch that holds the chequebook and pouch is placed under armpit while walking.

Don't need to be so complete in look.. sometimes wearing a solid gold watch alone while the rest are silver in colour makes the timepiece stands out.

One more yellow gold watch convert by Throttletology..

Yay!

I'm also looking to buy another DayDate to join in the fun.