How to give way to emergency vehicle in a traffic jam.

Ghostrider

While driving in Vancouver in the 80's saw vehicles mounting curbs,just to give way to a Emergency vehicle.The thinking is,it could easily a loved ones that is requiring the urgent medical attention and in these cases time is always a essence.

That seems a bit extreme...not all cars would be able to do that...I know my car can't...cos if I do that...I sure to leave my bumper behind...hahahahaha...

Best is that make an effort lah...

Sometime SG drivers are really blur...the EV come right up their arse then they start to look for place to filter...and equally bad are those in the next lane who refuse to give way to the car that is attempting to give way to the EV.

Dunno about Europe...but in US, most of the drivers are very nice. I was trying to cross a non controlled road (dual carriage without any traffic light or zebra crossing..) I was so surprise that both side of the cars come to a stop to let me cross. In Singapore...wait long long lor...we do not have that mentality.

Even when I use the double blink to say thanks...instead I got a blast of horn from the car behind...hahahahaha....

Sporeans soooo competitive. Work work work. Pay bills...pay bills....pay bills.

No time to b courteous lah.

Plus pay so much fr car. Drivers think ty king of e road. Why sud i gib way. U gib way to me sucker. :angry:

Hahaha.

That seems a bit extreme...not all cars would be able to do that...I know my car can't...cos if I do that...I sure to leave my bumper behind...hahahahaha...

Best is that make an effort lah...

Sometime SG drivers are really blur...the EV come right up their arse then they start to look for place to filter...and equally bad are those in the next lane who refuse to give way to the car that is attempting to give way to the EV.

Happened to me before. By the time i checked the rear mirror, the EV is right behind. OF course I signal to filter out of the way. Honest mistake!

Its ok lah...I sometime dont realise that I road hogging too until I see pple jab my arse...hahahaha...

Just need to pay attention to the road at all time...even at the back of your car.

Sporeans soooo competitive. Work work work. Pay bills...pay bills....pay bills.

No time to b courteous lah.

Plus pay so much fr car. Drivers think ty king of e road. Why sud i gib way. U gib way to me sucker. :angry:

Hahaha.

A few situation I wont give way...one such case is queue jumper. Every morning at Teban Garden...pple will use the 2nd lane and cheong all the way then attempt to cut in to make the left turn...I will not yield...yes..I am arse enuff to speed up to close the gap to prevent these queue cutters.

Whole lane queuing up to wait for their turn...why must I entertain all these inconsiderate people.

I hate queue jumpers. I wish that a traffic police will station himself there to catch all these inconsiderate people...

A few situation I wont give way...one such case is queue jumper. Every morning at Teban Garden...pple will use the 2nd lane and cheong all the way then attempt to cut in to make the left turn...I will not yield...yes..I am arse enuff to speed up to close the gap to prevent these queue cutters.

Whole lane queuing up to wait for their turn...why must I entertain all these inconsiderate people.

I hate queue jumpers. I wish that a traffic police will station himself there to catch all these inconsiderate people...

+ 1.

I will always try my very best to block off queue jumper to the extent of inching slowly so that the car behind me will move off to close the gap to stop the Q jumper from cutting in behind me. I make no apologies for my action.

Q jumpers in my opinion are the worst of its kind. It is like as if their time is more precious than the rest of us who actually follow traffic rules.

Same as in London. The traffic will just stop and "part" to allow the EV to drive past. And u know lah, some london roads are super narrow one. For those, the cars will mount the kerb to make way.

Encountered once in KL as well near Jalan Ampang. All the cars started moving to the side. [thumbsup] So I monkey see monkey do and follow.

Ya i hate Q jumpers too. Ty think ty r special. Everybody fall in line n Q n those @rseholes think ty prime minister or president n jump to e front. And if ty squeeze in ty think ty damm smart. Everybody Q n ty dun need to.

Best if those old pick-up or lorry bang them hard n ty hv to claim their own ins n lose their NCD. If i see e bugger parked later i wil do some artwork on his bonnet. Sign big big "I am a stupid Q jumper".

I like to think that people don't give way to EVs because they see EVs stopping at traffic lights all the time. They might think, "if they can stop at red lights, no need to give way". Over in other countries, the drivers see EVs chiong traffic lights (of course giving advance warning like using howler and high-pitched siren), so automatically equate blinking lights with emergency.

US EV vehicles have a automatic system to switch the lights in their favor. Its some kind of passive system that is mounted on top of the light bar....it will switch lights from red to green or hold the green longer so that the EV can pass thru.

Why SG cannot be bothered to invest in such a system makes me wonder why...got money to buy new digital cam leh...

Ya i hate Q jumpers too. Ty think ty r special. Everybody fall in line n Q n those @rseholes think ty prime minister or president n jump to e front. And if ty squeeze in ty think ty damm smart. Everybody Q n ty dun need to.

Best if those old pick-up or lorry bang them hard n ty hv to claim their own ins n lose their NCD. If i see e bugger parked later i wil do some artwork on his bonnet. Sign big big "I am a stupid Q jumper".

Wah...that is vandalizing leh...

I think I should consider sending all these queue cutter video to TP...but then...it will be a lot lor. Everyday also see so many of these inconsiderate drivers.

Another one I hate...motorbikes who do not form up to turn at junctions. I am ok with them zooming up to the front and then turn but NOT when these morons brake hard when they are at the front causing faster moving vehicles on the lane next to the turning lane to take evasive actions...wanna die go somewhere else.

I actually wrote to TP before to complain about those queue cutter...

Once when my daughter was in Sec 1...nothing done. No improvements. Then in Sec 3 I wrote in again cos now the queue cutter cannot cut in...they go in front of the traffic light and make a illegal left turn instead. TP replied that they will send more patrol at the area...but till date...I see more houseflies than any sights of TP...now April liao...dotter in Sec 4...situation still as fark up as before.

If TP brings video cam...just make sure its those 500GB HDD type...SD card not enuff to use !!! hahahahaha...

Wah...that is vandalizing leh...

I think I should consider sending all these queue cutter video to TP...but then...it will be a lot lor. Everyday also see so many of these inconsiderate drivers.

Another one I hate...motorbikes who do not form up to turn at junctions. I am ok with them zooming up to the front and then turn but NOT when these morons brake hard when they are at the front causing faster moving vehicles on the lane next to the turning lane to take evasive actions...wanna die go somewhere else.

No lah. Its art. Even that guy n ger paint road n put stickers say its art. [laugh]

Bikes that brake at junction....just mow them down. One less idiot on e road. [rolleyes]

EV can run red lights but if accident...EV driver wil b charged. It happen b4.

Ty must b very sure its safe b4 run a red light. Thats why none wan to do it. Bang ty charged. Reach hospital early ty get nothing.

that means on emergency loh......no need to on siren, police quite often did this as well....... [laugh]

From what I learn from paramedics in singapore

Lights mean they are having patient inside. It is an emergency but not "life and death" (maybe some injuiries).

Lights and souunds mean they have patient inside and it is emergency and "life and death" (doing CPR inside) or someone is blocking the way and die die will not give way.

Edited by Philipkee

EV can run red lights but if accident...EV driver wil b charged. It happen b4.

Ty must b very sure its safe b4 run a red light. Thats why none wan to do it. Bang ty charged. Reach hospital early ty get nothing.

Hear of one case when an ambulance beat the red light to get to the hospital. Reason? They were doing CPR in the hospital and they wanted to get the patient to go to hospital as soon as possible to save his life.

End up they met with an accident. Patient died. Ambulance damaged. Paramedics injured.

Kind of pointless then to beat red lights even to save a life.

Hear of one case when an ambulance beat the red light to get to the hospital. Reason? They were doing CPR in the hospital and they wanted to get the patient to go to hospital as soon as possible to save his life.

End up they met with an accident. Patient died. Ambulance damaged. Paramedics injured.

Kind of pointless then to beat red lights even to save a life.

And u forgot to add........n e driver was charged wh dangerous driving.