Fishing GPS

Intention is to finally get some Fishing done. Hope to secure a boat, small one by end this yr.

However, Fishing GPS would be one of the things I would also consider. Any experiences in them here?

There are few locations where I used to fish on Sundays and do not require any GPS. Those are the hot spots with plenty of fishes to catch which swam together from neighbouring countries.

The hot spots are Lucky Plaza, City Plaza, Chinatown Point/People's Park Complex, S'goon Road, Joo Chiat Road and Marina Square. Still trying to locate those fishes from Mymmar, can't find that hot spot although reported that there are about 20,000 fishes around.

Do not use the hearse, use your Pors, the fishes just hop in, no need use of nets or fishing lines..... -_-

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Intention is to finally get some Fishing done. Hope to secure a boat, small one by end this yr.

However, Fishing GPS would be one of the things I would also consider. Any experiences in them here?

Joke aside ... [wave]

What size boat would you intend to buy. Certain sizes could only go to certain locations due to rough waters.

Used to fish around Sister's Island, Kusu Island with smaller boat (3 meter) and bigger ones (>6 meters) after Pulau Tekong and South China Sea.

Another location is off West Coast Park where there is a club with some pleasure craft parked & maintain there. The sea there is not that rough and for a small size boat, one would be able to fish there for Sea Bass or Mangrove Jacks.... [bounce2]

Buying a small boat is easy but where one going to parked it is .... [sweatdrop]

In SG, there simply no place to park you boat except those Marina Clubs. In the late 70's, had a few friends staying in Kampong in Jalan Ulu Seletar, Kampong Wak Hassan (Sembawang End) and Punggol 17th Avenue. They have small boats and during holidays, used the boats to catch crabs, prawns & fishes along Sungei Seletar, the sea off Sembawang and Johore Straits.

All these kampongs had gone and so too are all those boats I used.

Maybe one can still use the small boat if got friend in those fish farms at Lim Chu Kang end... [sly]

Try Sim Lim Tower basement. There are a few shops there selling marine GPS. But for fishing, I tot u will need an echo sounder? These can spot fishes and prevent urself from grounding.

Need a co-pilot, give me a call!!! Me got POWERED PLEASURE CRAFT DRIVING LICENCE COURSE (PPCDL). Have not used yet. :D

Another location is off West Coast Park where there is a club with some pleasure craft parked & maintain there. The sea there is not that rough and for a small size boat, one would be able to fish there for Sea Bass or Mangrove Jacks.... [bounce2]

That is Republic Marina and Singapore Polytechnic Marina where u take ur POWERED PLEASURE CRAFT DRIVING LICENCE COURSE (PPCDL).

The water there is rough leh, caused by the various ferries, bumboats and tugs at the West Coast terminal. Also pretty windy there.

You have 2 boat shows coming up next week. I would check out what they have there first.

http://www.singaporeyachtshow.com/latest-n...-show-extension

http://www.boat-asia.com/home/home.asp

That is Republic Marina and Singapore Polytechnic Marina where u take ur POWERED PLEASURE CRAFT DRIVING LICENCE COURSE (PPCDL).

The water there is rough leh, caused by the various ferries, bumboats and tugs at the West Coast terminal. Also pretty windy there.

Thanks, didn't know they are Republic Marina and SP Marina. [wave]

wow.. where you take boss? Looks interesting.. :wub:

I took my lessons at SAF Yacht Club Sembawang. Tests are conducted at SP Campus(Theory) and SP marina(Practical).

Me no boss, me worker only. If lose my job, maybe can go drive boat. :D

Also there is a big article in this magazine (http://www.yachtingworld.com/) about ipad plotters. From past experience anything that says "marine" is normally really expensive and the technology interface just crap. In bright sunlight the ipad screen is really hard to use, but if you have a cabin then is fine. Just got to make sure you are able to re-charge the batteries.

U intend to fish sg waters? Only fr fun n passing time i hope. Hahaha.

U can use ordinary gps n key in coordinates fr yr locations.

U get an albacore 27' walkaround is nice. Can even reach thailand wh extra fuel stored on board n enough fr local play play fishing.

Dun forget a hummingbird fish finder too. U got yr fishing tackle yet?

Good luck n hv fun.

Oh ya. Boat n ob get 2nd hand better. Save a lot.

Just make sure all in good shape...especially e ob motor cos a bad one will give u headache n cost lots to repair to good condition.

115hp or thereabouts enough fr local fishing. N make sure it comes wh trailer otherwise how to launch.

Finally some advice. The happiest days of a fisherman is when he gets his first boat.........................................................and when he sells it.

Hahaha. [laugh]

You have 2 boat shows coming up next week. I would check out what they have there first.

http://www.singaporeyachtshow.com/latest-n...-show-extension

http://www.boat-asia.com/home/home.asp

Try to get 2nd hand as much as possible. Maybe fm those giving up hobby. Get good bargaing like that. Plus ty prob throw in all yr safety equip...life vests...anchor...etc fr free.

Boat...outboard motor......radar...gps...fish finder....fishing tackle all much cheaper 2nd hand. New will cost u a bomb till no more money fr fuel.....bait.....n launching fees anymore.

Hahaha. [laugh]

Edited by Pisces69

Try to get 2nd hand as much as possible. Maybe fm those giving up hobby. Get good bargaing like that. Plus ty prob throw in all yr safety equip...life vests...anchor...etc fr free.

Boat...outboard motor......radar...gps...fish finder....fishing tackle all much cheaper 2nd hand. New will cost u a bomb till no more money fr fuel.....bait.....n launching fees anymore.

Hahaha. [laugh]

Yeah, it's not a cheap hobby!

I took my lessons at SAF Yacht Club Sembawang. Tests are conducted at SP Campus(Theory) and SP marina(Practical).

Me no boss, me worker only. If lose my job, maybe can go drive boat. :D

Wow.. Sigh. I want to take.. no time.. and bo $$.. [bigcry]

hahaha.. good job. [rolleyes][:p]

Yeah, it's not a cheap hobby!

Firstly i dun really do serious fishing in sg waters cos no real serious fish.

Second i find it cheaper n easier to book a good boat n boatman overseas to catch e biggies.

Sg can only play play lah. So many pple i know in sg buy boat then later sell at a loss.

Thats why i say get 2nd hand. Later u sell dun lose much.