Panerex77 1st Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 One of my relatives is bedridden and in coma stage now. We have been trying to contact the various insurance companies to enquire if this relative has insurance plans with them. So far, the insurance companies seem OK to reveal details as long as we provide the name and NRIC and explain the situation. However, what about banks? How would we be able to withdraw the cash inside this relative's bank accounts? Does it mean the only time the cash can be withdrawn is upon passing? It is intended to use the cash in the bank accounts to help offset the medical bills. pls advise. thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 similar situation before .... ask the bank staff, they say either the account holder come personally to sign the withdrawal form, or bank staff can go to hosital to let account holder sign....act as a witness also..... of course your case will be more chim as the person is in coma.....so tink no other ways.... ask the bank.for more precise info Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nighthawkcity 1st Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 banks cant help without documentations probably only legal documents and doctor certification can help. perhaps can speak to those free legal advice lawyers to see if can help your relative apply power of attorney.. lawyer might need doctor certification to help. bank will accept only power of attorney (to act on behalf of account holder) hope this helps you in the right direction.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 (edited) http://www.publicguardian.gov.sg/Home.aspx If you don't have this, then you can't do anything. Edited April 10, 2013 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 (edited) if the person is deemed incapable of handling his own affairs, you might have to apply for a court order to appoint a guardian to make decisions on his behalf in his best interest... My dad was incapable to take care of himself (handicapped due to stroke....), we tried to claim medishield but they told us to apply for a court order lst, before releasing the cash to the guardian. Spend approx. 1.5k to 2 k plus to get a lawyer, then he will apply to court on your family's behalf (you no need to attend hearing). Then, after a few sessions, the judge will approve and provide with a 'court order' with original stamp. Photocopy a few copies... Ur aunt next of kin, will use this CO to apply for whatever claims / insurance or withdrawals.... its like a main shi lin pai... Go everywhere also will kena recognise... Hope this helps. Just to add on...you will need doc's certification and letter to state that the patient is incapable of deciding on his/ her affairs, and thus need a guardian... something like this check carefully..the doc will know what to write else alot of ding dong bells.... Edited April 10, 2013 by Byond 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angchug 3rd Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 Is there hope for recovery or just waiting? If its just waiting you should move him to Hospice center. Over there the daily charges is between $1 - 300 depending on your affordability. They are really very kind and sincere. They even loan me a new electric operated bed, wheel chair, free nursing..... whenever I take my late wife home for a day. She stayed at Thomson Hospice for 2 months total bill $200.00 You should also approach the hospital social worker to see they could help financially. You don't really need to settle the hospital bill immediately. I settled my late wife hospital bill with SGH over 2 years installment. Total bill +100k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angchug 3rd Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 One of my relatives is bedridden and in coma stage now. We have been trying to contact the various insurance companies to enquire if this relative has insurance plans with them. So far, the insurance companies seem OK to reveal details as long as we provide the name and NRIC and explain the situation. However, what about banks? How would we be able to withdraw the cash inside this relative's bank accounts? Does it mean the only time the cash can be withdrawn is upon passing? It is intended to use the cash in the bank accounts to help offset the medical bills. pls advise. thanks You just need to call the bank and pretend you are him and ask for a new PIN number. With the new PIN number you just withdraw $2000/day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyckh 5th Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 Touch wood but if something happened to your relative, withdraw his/her account balance via ATM everyday until you hit the mininum account amount. The reason is the bank will immediately freeze the account, pending a court decision to release the money, once they knew that the account holder had passed on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcscot 5th Gear April 10, 2013 Share April 10, 2013 if the person is deemed incapable of handling his own affairs, you might have to apply for a court order to appoint a guardian to make decisions on his behalf in his best interest... My dad was incapable to take care of himself (handicapped due to stroke....), we tried to claim medishield but they told us to apply for a court order lst, before releasing the cash to the guardian. Spend approx. 1.5k to 2 k plus to get a lawyer, then he will apply to court on your family's behalf (you no need to attend hearing). Then, after a few sessions, the judge will approve and provide with a 'court order' with original stamp. Photocopy a few copies... Ur aunt next of kin, will use this CO to apply for whatever claims / insurance or withdrawals.... its like a main shi lin pai... Go everywhere also will kena recognise... Hope this helps. Just to add on...you will need doc's certification and letter to state that the patient is incapable of deciding on his/ her affairs, and thus need a guardian... something like this check carefully..the doc will know what to write else alot of ding dong bells.... Totally agree! Please get this done ASAP. You will likely need the doctor who is currently looking after him or who usually looks after your relative to confirm the incapacity. Please get this done ASAP. I know a case which the courts took approx 6-8 months to clear! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 You just need to call the bank and pretend you are him and ask for a new PIN number. With the new PIN number you just withdraw $2000/day. Smart way although its wrong but it falls in grey area IMO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 solid thread!!! Damm brady informative!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 If the relative got joint account then still able to withdraw cash. Personal account then cannot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Yes, use the ATM card to withdraw the money. Once the bank knows that the account holder is in a coma and unable to make decision on his/her own, they will immediately freeze the account. Then it will have to go through the full process of the law which will takes years and lots of money will go to the lawyer instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Yes, use the ATM card to withdraw the money. Once the bank knows that the account holder is in a coma and unable to make decision on his/her own, they will immediately freeze the account. Then it will have to go through the full process of the law which will takes years and lots of money will go to the lawyer instead. AS far as I know there is some kind of form the bank have that we(the acct holder when alive n capable) can fill up.. a nominee and in future this nominated person can withdraw the $$....All banks shld have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtb 6th Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Passbook has a thumbprint, speak to the bank to visit the house for thumbprint signature if allows??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Dun think banks had the "machine" to perform a thumbprint verification. Only Police force have bah. But the banks will have their own set of guidelines to help the customer . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Dun think banks had the "machine" to perform a thumbprint verification. Only Police force have bah. But the banks will have their own set of guidelines to help the customer . last time when still schooling my signature not consistent and the bank asked for my thumb print........but provided that they have a copy of yours in the first place to compare...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hxsrzszp2 Neutral Newbie April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Creates a very unhappy working environment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...