Galaxy Carz - Used-car firm shuts, leaving some in a fix

Mcf777

used car dealers are crooks !!! enough said.

tell u ssth we dun know, pls [laugh] [laugh]

the whole used car business is run like cowboy town .... don't you feel it?

business good ... every other day got new enterprise open

business no good for few weeks nia ... cannot tahan and close shop

i din know u still ard.

thot qing ming over liao. :D

eh your tombstone, got dirty leh...you kaki no come ah.... [laugh] or they bidding COE to renew your place

sounds like bubble tea [laugh]

many roberts that buy now can waive bye bye to their lemon law rights.

Cowboy town, not so bad.. worst is, when they know demand is there. they show attittude.

its like take it or dun waste their time.

Hi guys, I bought a car from them in January, it was 40k, I ended up paying 20k upfront and taking 20k loan. After a few weeks, I checked that the ownership was not changed over and I called them up, apparently there was some mess up and they said the change over will be soon. I checked with my bank and realized that no installment payment was due till now. The police just called me up and told me to bring my car over to the police station next to KK to surrender it. Am I going to lose my 20k? Really worried right now

why did you buy from them in the 1st place?

even before this news was out ... i think galaxy carz was already "blacklisted" as bad dealer in mycarforum

you are certainly at the disadvantage side ...

money out liao ... and car is not belong to you ...

Hi guys, I bought a car from them in January, it was 40k, I ended up paying 20k upfront and taking 20k loan. After a few weeks, I checked that the ownership was not changed over and I called them up, apparently there was some mess up and they said the change over will be soon. I checked with my bank and realized that no installment payment was due till now. The police just called me up and told me to bring my car over to the police station next to KK to surrender it. Am I going to lose my 20k? Really worried right now

It was my first time buying a car and I didn't do any research. This is really saddening.

Wonder if anyone had the same experience as me and would guide me on what to do next

Should you try to cheat even a dollar from garment, they will hunt you down like a rat.

If its not their money, MYOB.... -_-

LTA's response to this fraud matter on 1 May ST. Wat u tink?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1 May

LTA has worked with the motor industry to promote good business practices and prevent unfortunate experiences like the one described by Mr Yeo Shuan Chee (

There is indeed a loophole, and a glaring one!!

When buying/selling cars from/to dealers, everyone want to avoid hassle so let the 'experts' (or did someone call them crooks?) handle all the processes/paperwork, which include:

- redeem car loan from bank/finance company, if there is any outstanding

- arrange insurance coverage

- arrange road tax

- get parf/scrap value, plus road tax refund, plus balance insurance refund

- transfer ownership

admittedly there is quite a fair bit to do, else anyone can do it himself, then no risk involved. But since so many places to run to, we usually let them handle them, hence the risk. They will then say these take time, so have to wait a few days.

It is difficult to blame them too, because if they transfer the name first before they receive full payment, and if we don't pay up, what can they do? I realised this when I bought a car from a one-man company, who operated the biz from his parents' old semi-D, which has a large carpark space for him to 'mess with' the old cars. He said he doesn't have means to go around chasing people if they took the cars and don't pay when name already transferred...

The govt must come up with a way to hold the money in trust, and both sides must be able to show that everything is ready to be done together, then allow the money/name to change hands - just like when buying house...

otherwise, this type of fraud will never go away.

It is difficult to blame them too, because if they transfer the name first before they receive full payment, and if we don't pay up, what can they do? I realised this when I bought a car from a one-man company, who operated the biz from his parents' old semi-D, which has a large carpark space for him to 'mess with' the old cars. He said he doesn't have means to go around chasing people if they took the cars and don't pay when name already transferred...

The govt must come up with a way to hold the money in trust, and both sides must be able to show that everything is ready to be done together, then allow the money/name to change hands - just like when buying house...

otherwise, this type of fraud will never go away.

that's what the cashier's order is for ma.

in effect bank is like the middle men, takes the money from buyer issues the casher order.

buyer brings it to dealer, can ask him transfer before he hands him the casher order. if buyer want to play punk, no way as funds already held by the bank.