Forummer Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Hi Some advice needed. My brother in law is interested in getting a 6 yr old used jap car from a direct owner. Tested the car and the car was ok. Had it checked. Also ok. Is it reasonable to expect the direct seller to provide him a 1 yr warranty on parts of engine and transmission? Get the direct seller to commit via a contract to provide him a warranty? Pls advice. Cuz my brother in law is afraid the car will give problems in future. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Hi Some advice needed. My brother in law is interested in getting a 6 yr old used jap car from a direct owner. Tested the car and the car was ok. Had it checked. Also ok. Is it reasonable to expect the direct seller to provide him a 1 yr warranty on parts of engine and transmission? Get the direct seller to commit via a contract to provide him a warranty? Pls advice. Cuz my brother in law is afraid the car will give problems in future. haha.. want warranty buy new car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Just ask yourself : will you give a year's warranty for the same item sold? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 .... if have service records , receipt to back up good enough la... where got warranty from direct seller.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kauctions66 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Is it even reasonable to ask for the warranty in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Put yrself in the direct owner shoes. Would u do it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Hi Some advice needed. My brother in law is interested in getting a 6 yr old used jap car from a direct owner. Tested the car and the car was ok. Had it checked. Also ok. Is it reasonable to expect the direct seller to provide him a 1 yr warranty on parts of engine and transmission? Get the direct seller to commit via a contract to provide him a warranty? Pls advice. Cuz my brother in law is afraid the car will give problems in future. if so scared then buy new lor for peace of mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forummer Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Author Share April 9, 2013 Ya i did tell him but he still feels strongly about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Ya i did tell him but he still feels strongly about it. ask him fly kite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 (edited) your brother in-law got car to sell ... ? no need 12 months warranty ... i give discount ... 9 months can liao come on la ... buy direct (cheaper right else why buy direct) and still want people to have sleepless nights for 12 months if car got problem ? even new car ... just come out from showroom can also got problem hor within 1 week and 6 years old car ... the likelihood to breakdown is even higher ... just buy cheap fair value and budget some money for wear and tear fixes ... buying 6 years old car is hweeng see ... may be good condition or next week breakdown liao ... similar buy a fairly new car at good value ... sekali got major accident repair your bro in-law is the type of robert to be chopped by used car dealer ... no mercy because of this kind of people, owner have to sell cheap to dealer and dealer chop your bro in-law carrot giving 1 year warranty .... when got problem ... dealer will ask him fly kite or simply don't answer the phone Hi Some advice needed. My brother in law is interested in getting a 6 yr old used jap car from a direct owner. Tested the car and the car was ok. Had it checked. Also ok. Is it reasonable to expect the direct seller to provide him a 1 yr warranty on parts of engine and transmission? Get the direct seller to commit via a contract to provide him a warranty? Pls advice. Cuz my brother in law is afraid the car will give problems in future. Edited April 9, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Haha another young boy Last x I always thinking those uncles always think they r rite Always say eat more salt than we eat rice Now it seems it's my turn to say that Must admit old Liao My dealer told me anything within 7 days let him know I sb glad Liao Then discovered the plastic cover that wrap one of the joint to the wheel has a tiny hole that's y rim got abit stain Jus after 7 days But he still hounor it but ask me visit ws tied up with them I AV They changed new parts for me I was super glad for a 5 yo car with this service 12 mths warranty Ha ha ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 for 12 months warranty? Can add 10k to the price lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 (edited) i buy new car with 3 years warranty ... within 3 year sibei steady ... nothing wrong ... now slightly over 4 years ... several problems surfacing 1-by-1 ... can sue the manufacturer how come their parts timing sibei choon after 3 years spoil = cannot claim warranty liao so how? Edited April 9, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 i buy new car with 3 years warranty ... within 3 year sibei steady ... nothing wrong ... now slightly over 4 years ... several problems surfacing 1-by-1 ... can sue the manufacturer how come their parts timing sibei choon after 3 years spoil = cannot claim warranty liao so how? suck thumb lor... you want use own thumb or mine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forummer Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Author Share April 9, 2013 I am hoping he will see these replies. will forward him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HunterRanger Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 haha.. want warranty buy new car... U can ask him when is the last time servicing and is it from agent service or outside garage and ask him to offer u a 6 month warranty before u purchase Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 U can ask him when is the last time servicing and is it from agent service or outside garage and ask him to offer u a 6 month warranty before u purchase hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 go buy new ......problem solved, end of story. PS: for once i feel the pain of a car dealer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...