Fcw75 Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 There's no smoke without fire. Your car is still new, enjoy it and good luck. Come feedback to us half a year later. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 With all the negative reviews about VW - not just the aftersales service in Singapore, but the general quality and reliability of their cars...why are people still buying VWs??? The power of advertising. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 An entry level car with complex electronics. Not a bad idea to skip it. HAHA.. dun pray pray.. 7spd hor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 i reckon you have decided to go for a non guaranteed coe or min. 6 bidding coe or whatsoever. such situation does not occur in VW only and you sounded like a first time car buyer to me. fortunately VW SE is kind enough to let you cancel your booking. it makes no sense for a company to make negative profit, just to make you happy? end of the day, you want your new car immediately, you pay at a premium price. to add on, VW and me have no direct relationship for now. :-p so is it a Passat or Golf GTi? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MTRAC Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 There's no smoke without fire. Your car is still new, enjoy it and good luck. Come feedback to us half a year later. Agreed. I am a ex VW owner. When my my car was 6 mths old, it was admitted more than 30 days in VW workshop for various reason. On the 7 mths, juddering appeared. After months of complain and numerous visit to their workshop, clutch was eventually changed on the 10mth. Though irritating, juddering is not dangerous. The fearful one is the MU failure, a couple of peoples' MU failed when car in motion, car loss power and other cars from behind have to take evasive action. Cannot drive with this at the back of my mind, sold car when it was 1 yr old. If there is on problem with 7 spd dry.. VW doesnt have to do a mass recall in China. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 A lot of ppl like to repeat "7 Speed DSG" is very very bad... its fashionable to do so. If u look around, it cannot be that so many ppl owned a VW before. Many also claimed they saw a lot of VW breakdown on the roads. I have driven for 5 years. I have seen a few VW breakdowns, but not more than other brands. Check with friends who have Jettas and Golf 6. None had issues too. Many VW owners last time were super vocal and the image is kinda fixed. Once there is an image issue, many will just parrot what they heard like how many still thinks it is dangerous to go Japan for holidays but have no issues going to Korea even though Korea is nearer to Fukushima than some parts of Japan. I did a lot of reading on the internet and use my own eyes to see. I am aware of the potential issues with DSG. I looked around and saw that the only better cars are out of my budget and I sure as hell aint buying other contis with worse reliability, fuel economy and technology (Fiat, Citreon and Peugeot), and I surely will not pay a high price for Jap cars that have the aged 4 Speed gear box and aged engines. So I bought a Golf 7. So far no prob. Either way, I am happy with my car and I love the fact that with all the VW bashing around my Golf 7 is still not a common car like the Altis ... yet... For those who blast the 7 Spd DSG, perhaps they need to know that when it is working well, it contributes to a fuel consumption of 22km/l on many trips and due to being caught in a few jams, my consumption till date is 15.6km/l. You win some u lose some. The more gears u have, the harder it is to maintain. Same as the more electronics a car has. I think ultimately, its a mindset issue. You wana own a fanciful system, be prepared for the quirks. No supermodel will be easy to handle. Now, the the trouble is i doubt many vw buyers r actually looking for supermodels, more like the workhorse housewife. Also, as reliable as 6 or 7spd be, fact is wear n tear will happen. Its a mechanical clutch, sorry 2 actually. Clutches will one day wear out. Ask your manual driver friends how soon that can be. Then it will be good to find out the cost of replacing the clutches n electronics driving the gears. Most likely when its time to replace, warranty is already over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 With all the negative reviews about VW - not just the aftersales service in Singapore, but the general quality and reliability of their cars...why are people still buying VWs??? Price. Which german car can u get that boasts technology used in top end euro sports cars? And is cheaper the 3series n c class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 The more gears u have, the harder it is to maintain. Same as the more electronics a car has. I think ultimately, its a mindset issue. You wana own a fanciful system, be prepared for the quirks. No supermodel will be easy to handle. Now, the the trouble is i doubt many vw buyers r actually looking for supermodels, more like the workhorse housewife. Also, as reliable as 6 or 7spd be, fact is wear n tear will happen. Its a mechanical clutch, sorry 2 actually. Clutches will one day wear out. Ask your manual driver friends how soon that can be. Then it will be good to find out the cost of replacing the clutches n electronics driving the gears. Most likely when its time to replace, warranty is already over. U r right. I am not looking for a workhorse housewife. My final choice was between an Astra, Giuletta and the Golf7. I was prepared for some "effort" in the ownership for owning something that is diff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubbishman 1st Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Hi everyone, In fact, my post has got nothing to do with any good / bad experience with VW, their Das Auto tagline or their controversial Dsg. Since some of you mentioned earlier on the guaranteed and non guaranteed bid part, can anyone enlighten me what is the difference between the Saver Price with Non-Guaranteed COE and Standard Price with Non-Guaranteed COE for Toyota cars? Due to an expanding family, I am thinking of upgrading to the Wish but I dun wish to appear silly in front of the SE. http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new...2012/price.aspx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raytham Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 An entry level car with complex electronics. Not a bad idea to skip it. Generally complex electroncis is one issue, things that switches or moves fast generates intense amount of heat. In this case, even DSG switches faster than a manual driver. Plus in the Singapore hot climate, we can assume lifespan is even shorten. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Agreed. I am a ex VW owner. When my my car was 6 mths old, it was admitted more than 30 days in VW workshop for various reason. On the 7 mths, juddering appeared. After months of complain and numerous visit to their workshop, clutch was eventually changed on the 10mth. Though irritating, juddering is not dangerous. The fearful one is the MU failure, a couple of peoples' MU failed when car in motion, car loss power and other cars from behind have to take evasive action. Cannot drive with this at the back of my mind, sold car when it was 1 yr old. If there is on problem with 7 spd dry.. VW doesnt have to do a mass recall in China. That is my point. When you buy a new car, you should be enjoying it for at least 3 years and not worry abt when the damn gearbox will break down at the back of your head. Good decision bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 P.S. I may be overreacting but I just want to know what are other peoples view on this issue? Is this normal when buying cars or just VW? Never experienced this before btw.. My view is that u shld try n wriggle ur way out of buying a VW altogether. If oredi u angry despite the fact that u booked a non-guaranteed package and dun get COE on the 1st bid, dunno how u gonna handle it when the DSG fails on u later...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 My view is that u shld try n wriggle ur way out of buying a VW altogether. If oredi u angry despite the fact that u booked a non-guaranteed package and dun get COE on the 1st bid, dunno how u gonna handle it when the DSG fails on u later...... And because they are using their workshop manpower to resolve this many cases of DSG issue, the time you have to wait for your normal servicing is more than 1 mth. 1 mth and 4 days to be exact, at Macpherson workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I think your expectations are too high. This is just the first bid. It's stated 6 non-guaranteed bids. Your rebate at 50k, when the bidding starts and when near ending they see that it has rise to above 60K to 64K it's really no point to place their bids. Unless the bidding hovers around 50k dan they go in and bid, the chances of getting it will be higher. First bid only you are already so impatient. Leave it to them to do their job lah. After the 6th bid they still can't get it dan rant all you want. If you are so impatient dan pay more for the confirm 1 bidding if that option is available. correct me if i am wrong because i very long no buy new car: COE rebate @ 50k means if COE drops below 50k. the difference between the COE amount and the rebate will be returned to customer. so what has this got to do with the COE price of 60+k? Why no point to place bid? The contract states 6 non-guaranteed bids. meaning you are not guaranteed a COE but this does not mean the AD has the right not to bid. There is a difference between never bid and bid never get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 (edited) correct me if i am wrong because i very long no buy new car: COE rebate @ 50k means if COE drops below 50k. the difference between the COE amount and the rebate will be returned to customer. so what has this got to do with the COE price of 60+k? Why no point to place bid? The contract states 6 non-guaranteed bids. meaning you are not guaranteed a COE but this does not mean the AD has the right not to bid. There is a difference between never bid and bid never get. When I bought my car some time back this is how it works. SE told me the rebate is $xxK. When bidding starts he msg me he already place in the bid, can check online. So I went online to check, key in my personal particulars and saw the bid under my name is at $xxK. Same as the rebate amount. If you are to secure the COE you will notice the difference will be usually a small difference whether it's lower or higher. The name of the game is highest bidders win. If you see TS case his is set at rebate 50k but the result is 64k. Not even near. And the thing is highest bidderS will secure their COEs. It will take a few tries for the ADs to get the bid amount right since the loan restrictions kicked the COE has yet to stabalised. IMO 6 tries is a lot. Actually if you go around the big players and look at their rebate amounts you will see what the results will be like and who will secure more COEs. Edited April 9, 2013 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Rebate level doesn't mean bidding price. Some ppl tell me they happy like toad when they secure COE coz rebate is $60k but they got their COE at $65k so they "earn" $5k. What they dunno is at the price they booked the car, the AD price the car wif a $70k COE in mind so they actualli paid $5k extra for nothing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 When I bought my car some time back this is how it works. SE told me the rebate is $xxK. When bidding starts he msg me he already place in the bid, can check online. So I went online to check, key in my personal particulars and saw the bid under my name is at $xxK. Same as the rebate amount. If you are to secure the COE you will notice the difference will be usually a small difference whether it's lower or higher. The name of the game is highest bidders win. If you see TS case his is set at rebate 50k but the result is 64k. Not even near. And the thing is highest bidderS will secure their COEs. It will take a few tries for the ADs to get the bid amount right since the loan restrictions kicked the COE has yet to stabalised. IMO 6 tries is a lot. 6 tries has always been the norm... when i bought a new car some 10yrs back... i rem clearly, price agreed is based on a certain level of COE, eg: 60k. so if the bid is shooting much higher, SE will call to ask if you want to top up... this however is still different from the COE rebate amount. COE rebate amount is the amount at which point they have to refund you the difference. I believe this happened because COE was at a all time low during the 2000s period.. thus this COE rebate thing came up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...