Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Rebate level doesn't mean bidding price. Some ppl tell me they happy like toad when they secure COE coz rebate is $60k but they got their COE at $65k so they "earn" $5k. What they dunno is at the price they booked the car, the AD price the car wif a $70k COE in mind so they actualli paid $5k extra for nothing.... yes... this is what i am saying... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Rebate level doesn't mean bidding price. Some ppl tell me they happy like toad when they secure COE coz rebate is $60k but they got their COE at $65k so they "earn" $5k. What they dunno is at the price they booked the car, the AD price the car wif a $70k COE in mind so they actualli paid $5k extra for nothing.... Let's say the quota is 300. 65k is the highest bidder so he got his. Next highest will get his but his bid may be slightly lower at 64k. Dan the next highest will get his so on and so forth. If 60k falls within the 300 number of COEs he will get it too. There are also some luck involve. More quota more luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Let's say the quota is 300. 65k is the highest bidder so he got his. Next highest will get his but his bid may be slightly lower at 64k. Dan the next highest will get his so on and so forth. If 60k falls within the 300 number of COEs he will get it too. There are also some luck involve. More quota more luck. i don't think you understand. COE rebate is not the '' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 i don't think you understand. COE rebate is not the '' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 dun tink the SE can commit in writing how much the company will bid. and i doubt the SE is the one that decides on the price but rather the mgt. cannot really rem if i got it in writing or verbally but quite sure i know the range i looking at... and they always like to ask, want to pay $1k more for guaranteed COE? i reply, no need, sure get de..... but all this 10yrs ago... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 cannot really rem if i got it in writing or verbally but quite sure i know the range i looking at... and they always like to ask, want to pay $1k more for guaranteed COE? i reply, no need, sure get de..... but all this 10yrs ago... Tink what ur SE wrote was prob the rebate level. No way they will commit on the bidding amount, even for guaranteed COE. That's why there's something fundamentally wrong wif the current COE system when ADs decides on the bidding and there's no transparency to buyers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Tink what ur SE wrote was prob the rebate level. No way they will commit on the bidding amount, even for guaranteed COE. That's why there's something fundamentally wrong wif the current COE system when ADs decides on the bidding and there's no transparency to buyers. last time rebate level not common... most likely not. you ask how much they will tell you.. because last time they sell cars without COE at a slightly higher price... then with COE... so quite sure it is the COE bid not rebate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 IMHO...this is what most dealers will play... There was only one dealer that play this game with me back then...wanted to hold my deposit for a while before they bid...1st bid they miss by a few K...then 2nd one miss again...they call me and ask me to top up by 1K and they sure will get the COE for me. I told them if you no confident to get it at that price, dun waste each other's time, lets call the deal off. (which I am prepared to do so) And I take my money to some one else who can get the COE. They retracted the top up and deliver the COE by the 3rd bid. My friend also kenna the same trick by another dealership...I told him to try the same trick..and it work. To them its like how desperate you want the car...if you give a heck care attitude...they wont risk closing the sales over one or two grand...not as if they are selling at a lost to begin with. The best was Motor Image...steady....they told me give them a chance to bid for the COE...and if they cannot secure it...they will use a 40K open cat to register my car. In the end, they fail to secure the COE but still they deliver the car to me. (they wanted to try to bid lower and try their luck...maybe cos they throw in too many freebies for me liao...hahahahaha) So its not exclusive to VW...its the whole market also playing this kinda mind games. Especially now those who secure the last few "full loan" package...LPPL have to wait for the dealers to secure COE....will they cancel their bookings ? I think not.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 dun tink the SE can commit in writing how much the company will bid. and i doubt the SE is the one that decides on the price but rather the mgt. They can only tell you the min amount that they will bid...eg...market trend is 80K...they will usually say rebate if below 70K....then if kenna the last freak result for Cat2...LPPL suck thumb and fork out money lor...hahahahaha.... But how much will they bid for you....only after the bidding close then you will know how much the dealer table in the bid for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helloz Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Just to share my thoughts on new car prices for potential buyers:- Most ADs offer 2 types of pricing (both 6 bids non-guaranteed), (1) standard package (2) savers package - usually 20K below standard price (1) standard package:- COE rebate for standard package is usually near current COE price - buyer pays more, better margin for ADs, they will be in the priority list for bidding (means very likely to get it in the 1st few bids) (2) savers package:- COE rebate for savers package usually equals price difference between standard package & savers package (e.g. if the price difference between the standard and savers package = 20K, the COE rebate for savers will be lesser by 20K compared to standard package) - buyer pays lesser, lower margin for ADs, low-priority (means only likely to get it in the last few bids/or AD's discretion) Whether one should go for standard or savers package depends on how soon you need a car or how much risk one can take. That said, under normal circumstance, I haven't heard from anyone who didn't manage to secure COE after the end of 6 bids (at the very most AD will ask you to top-up if COE price is still high - usually the amount is quite reasonable, AD will bear half). Curious to hear from anyone who took back their deposit after 6 failed bids :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 IMHO...this is what most dealers will play... There was only one dealer that play this game with me back then...wanted to hold my deposit for a while before they bid...1st bid they miss by a few K...then 2nd one miss again...they call me and ask me to top up by 1K and they sure will get the COE for me. I told them if you no confident to get it at that price, dun waste each other's time, lets call the deal off. (which I am prepared to do so) And I take my money to some one else who can get the COE. They retracted the top up and deliver the COE by the 3rd bid. My friend also kenna the same trick by another dealership...I told him to try the same trick..and it work. To them its like how desperate you want the car...if you give a heck care attitude...they wont risk closing the sales over one or two grand...not as if they are selling at a lost to begin with. The best was Motor Image...steady....they told me give them a chance to bid for the COE...and if they cannot secure it...they will use a 40K open cat to register my car. In the end, they fail to secure the COE but still they deliver the car to me. (they wanted to try to bid lower and try their luck...maybe cos they throw in too many freebies for me liao...hahahahaha) So its not exclusive to VW...its the whole market also playing this kinda mind games. Especially now those who secure the last few "full loan" package...LPPL have to wait for the dealers to secure COE....will they cancel their bookings ? I think not.... The whole industry is playing the same mind game. So, who don't want get a hand on their new cars the soonest. Nothing wrong with that. Is just mind against mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 They can only tell you the min amount that they will bid...eg...market trend is 80K...they will usually say rebate if below 70K....then if kenna the last freak result for Cat2...LPPL suck thumb and fork out money lor...hahahahaha.... But how much will they bid for you....only after the bidding close then you will know how much the dealer table in the bid for you. But i tink there's a fine print somewhere that caps their rebate amount. For example, if freak COE drop to $1, they ain't gonna give a rebate of $69,999 even if the rebate level is set at $70,000. IIRC, a fren kena snook b4 quite a few years back when freak COE was $101. He comprain that he din get back the full difference so landed up paying more than he should n later curse again when it came to scrapping his car coz of the low COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Hi everyone, In fact, my post has got nothing to do with any good / bad experience with VW, their Das Auto tagline or their controversial Dsg. Since some of you mentioned earlier on the guaranteed and non guaranteed bid part, can anyone enlighten me what is the difference between the Saver Price with Non-Guaranteed COE and Standard Price with Non-Guaranteed COE for Toyota cars? Due to an expanding family, I am thinking of upgrading to the Wish but I dun wish to appear silly in front of the SE. http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new...2012/price.aspx Suggest you got BM and ask them for more accurate info Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 All ADs are in business .... buyers have the choice of the different COE packages and buy price. If someone go for non guarantee COEs, he/she made the choice and IMO, they have no right to KPKB ..... TS has no ground for complaint .... in this situation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyauto Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 Oh no. Have you been to the other brands to see. All are like this. Unless you pay a premium on the COE. If not the rebate will be low. If you want cheaper its like that one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyauto Neutral Newbie April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I would love to see the $1 again. But i doubt so in this current situation and market. Garment will not let this freak accident happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ATTB 2nd Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 This thread become COE thread liao.. Bo lang hiew TS liao.. Muahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear April 9, 2013 Share April 9, 2013 I might be wrong but I think I read somewhere Cat A and B are valid for 6 months and open Cat is valid for 3 months. But given't that the laws on cars change so very often nowadays, my information could very well be outdated. hehe still valid.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...