Notsogoodman 4th Gear April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 On 4/12/2013 at 7:12 AM, Passat57 said: Why do you want to buy used car with high COE? When that car reaches 10 years, the COE value will be zero, regardless of high or low value during registration. More important is how much you are paying now, for the used car. because both direct sellers & dealers will sell same model of used cars at around the same depreciation regardless of the COE Value... A buyer could thus safeguard himself by getting one with a higher COE (unless he gets a lower COE car at a much lower price) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Henryang3000 Neutral Newbie April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 I think the most sensible and appropriate approach is just to wait for the 60 days to expire! From my point of view, after the 60 days period is over, it will be our(Buyer) market and we will hold the advantage of negotiation! All these blood suckers car dealers will have no choice but to lower their car prices in order to remain competitive and most importantly to maintain their market share. It might be not long after the government might step in again and lower the COE prices(As what our Mr lui mentioned last week that they will increase the COE quota significantly by end or beginning of next year) as these blood suckers car dealers have been earning way too much for the past few years! All those resonable and gracious car dealers will tend to be able to survive this and all those blood suckers dealers will go burst. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngboonhua Neutral Newbie April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 Did Lui really said that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 Lui say next year more, did not say increase significantly. Dun assume! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erykool 1st Gear April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 This afternoon, when I went to see a Toyota wish at thrive auto, the sales person tell me its sold, then I just checked the cars which I am tracking in sg carmart, the price of the car increased $2000. Wtf is happening? Chut pattern again to try and smoke buyers who go on their cheaper price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 (edited) On 4/12/2013 at 7:12 AM, Passat57 said: Why do you want to buy used car with high COE? When that car reaches 10 years, the COE value will be zero, regardless of high or low value during registration. More important is how much you are paying now, for the used car. If you plan to drive until the 10th year, whether coe high or low doesnt matter much. What if you dont plan to drive until 10th year?! Currently since the used car price is so over-priced, if you are paying for a car coe is low, doesn it mean that you got carrot even more? Since the car original car price back then should be very low due to the low coe, and now they sell you around the same original car price or even higher?! Edited April 12, 2013 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 On 4/12/2013 at 1:19 PM, Hosaybo said: Lui say next year more, did not say increase significantly. Dun assume! And you believe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 What ever they say, discount it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 I dont believe whatever they say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 On 4/12/2013 at 3:24 PM, Tiger1 said: And you believe? Nope. Dun believe. Just saying that he is prob just referring to the possible increase due to more cars coming to 10 years next year but one bro put it in the context that it is going to increase significantly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Henryang3000 Neutral Newbie April 12, 2013 Share April 12, 2013 But if u observe the COE past historical trend - the COE was at its highest in the late 1990s due to the blooming economy and it subsequently went down significantly due to mild recession in the 2000s. They are somehow correlated and looking at this and looking forward, the economy are looking very gloomy in the next few months and I believed the government had already anticipated that. That's why they said the COE will definitly decrease by then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_byte 3rd Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Wait till you ask then realise wrong info. case in point. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...023&DL=1264 Mentioned 100% loan, then on site say new stock no 100% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ihave3Ballz 2nd Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 On 4/8/2013 at 4:32 PM, Kangadrool said: The loss is potential loss in mark up lah. How can selling 25 cars lose $300K? Obviously, dealer is basing on each car can earn $20K min, but sold them off at profit of $10K each instead. Still got loss meh? Dealer earned at least $250K in a month. Even if you discount above by half, the dealer still make $100K+ in a month. Yes, the loss is obviously in terms of potential profit. Not in negativity. All dealers will cry for their fathers and mothers to the gahmen. Trying to get sympathy and making themselves look pitiful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LukePinetree 1st Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 someone got 08 wish for 45k. I was returning a rental, since I am there I asked for any car for sales. the dealer asked if I want the car I just rented, I told him its' been reared ended. wah! wayang starts: huh ? (eye big big) got meh? got meh? (turn to the admin gal) I don't know leh, got meh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achewlim Neutral Newbie April 14, 2013 Share April 14, 2013 anyone saw a used veloster for sale??would be interested in getting one..but camt seem to find one in the ads.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kerpalz Neutral Newbie April 14, 2013 Share April 14, 2013 I tempted to look for a used airwave or fielder. Thinking if selling my 06optra estate. Practically I have fully fixed up my car for the past 2years at least 90% overhaul. So I wonder should I trade in (dealer giving me 16K for the car) papervalue is 13K. Reason for selling - I travel a lot. Now my fc is 6-7km/L. Quite siong. Wanted to buy a wish but dun wanna stretch too much coz my 2nd kid just came out. Should I wait till the 60 days over then buy another car? Please advise! Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kk13 2nd Gear April 14, 2013 Share April 14, 2013 On 4/14/2013 at 4:06 PM, Kerpalz said: I tempted to look for a used airwave or fielder. Thinking if selling my 06optra estate. Practically I have fully fixed up my car for the past 2years at least 90% overhaul. So I wonder should I trade in (dealer giving me 16K for the car) papervalue is 13K. Reason for selling - I travel a lot. Now my fc is 6-7km/L. Quite siong. Wanted to buy a wish but dun wanna stretch too much coz my 2nd kid just came out. Should I wait till the 60 days over then buy another car? Please advise! Thanks If you can afford 40%DP, wait.... Cos coe going to fall further and it will affect used car market too. If no cash, buy according to affordability before the 60 days window close... Simple as that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kerpalz Neutral Newbie April 14, 2013 Share April 14, 2013 Coz I'm using the trade-in price as deposit or the "new" used car. Coz the airwave and fielder I see on sgcarmrt are asking for 12-18K for DP. So what do u think. Can shop now or wait? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...