ST: Toddler fell to death two mths after maid saved his life

Vulcann

Be it the occupation a taxi driver or not, it doesn't matter. Most parents on knowing the danger his child will face, they will do something on it. This father sure regret.

A taxi driver can earns 4k a month if he is hardworking like my ex boss.

I think renting a taxi to drive as a car is really cheaper than buying a car. A taxi driver once told me, he has day job and drive his taxi full day only during the weekends and few hours at night. He told me he can easily cover back his rental.

i don't know how you can come to this conclusion. taxis have very high road tax prior to the new scheme.

even then if you are talking about current year, there are diesel private cars attracting same road tax as taxi if indeed your contention is that the fuel ecnonmy of diesel engine.

i can easily find a non-taxi 2 litre running cost $2k all in. you comparing it to a taxi that cost 3k per month before the higher road taxes? [hur]

Ya, spend 3K a month to drive a taxi .............................

[hur]

[hur]

There is the pros...ppl vandalize ur taxi police will catch. Ur pte car cannot

U GL on the road ppl stomp your taxi, you can just change to another Taxi coy and continue to play on the road

U can wait at taxi bay permanently

can earn extra money while wife go orchard shopping.

Go airport can park free

Good leh...tempted to change to taxi yeah.

There is the pros...ppl vandalize ur taxi police will catch. Ur pte car cannot

U GL on the road ppl stomp your taxi, you can just change to another Taxi coy and continue to play on the road

U can wait at taxi bay permanently

can earn extra money while wife go orchard shopping.

Go airport can park free

Good leh...tempted to change to taxi yeah.

Many more advantages. But better not mention here. :ph34r:

Free parking at taxi stands n go eat meal. Come back can immediately pick-up customer to cover meal cost. [bounce2] I see that at the taxi stand outside Jalan Sultan Centre. [lipsrsealed]

[hur]

some fellas either cannot think or cannot be unbiased.

This is a trick answer. The real message is in what is NOT written.

Bca is saying they cannot, did not make changes to buildings under old rules. So condos built before 1995, too bad. Diy your safety.

I can understand under the existing political situation they may be unwilling to get themselves into another quagmire so just issue a safe statement relieving themselves of any responsibility.

Agree with you on DIY to keep your environment under such circumstances I guess.

Free parking at taxi stands n go eat meal. Come back can immediately pick-up customer to cover meal cost. [bounce2] I see that at the taxi stand outside Jalan Sultan Centre. [lipsrsealed]

Yup. they have contracts too, to ferry xxxx. [lipsrsealed] You can't use a private car to do that. Those $$$ tips are huge. So why it is worthwhile to service at $3000 /month.... [gossip] Not only happening in this area, there are more around.

Edited by HP_Lee

According to the writer, the condo's railing gaps already did not comply with the 1995 requirements then:

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-point-20130411

My point

Published on Apr 11, 2013

Elaborate on safety rule

THE Building and Construction Authority, in its reply ("BCA on death-fall condo's barriers"; last Thursday) to my letter ("Toddler's death: Did condo flout building rules?"; April 2), said the design of the safety barriers in Hillview Green condominium complied with the relevant regulatory requirement in 1995, when the building plans were approved.

But it did not state the dimensional requirement between the barriers.

The requirement on the spacing of safety barriers in 1995 was the same as that in 1989, which stipulates that the size of any openings, gaps or voids in the railings or parapets should not permit the passage of a sphere of diameter 15cm.

As the gaps between the bars in Hillview Green are between 14cm and 16.5cm wide, it would seem that they are not in compliance with the regulatory requirement in 1995.

Michael Yeo

According to the writer, the condo's railing gaps already did not comply with the 1995 requirements then:

From ST Forum:

My point

Elaborate on safety rule

THE Building and Construction Authority, in its reply ("BCA on death-fall condo's barriers"; last Thursday) to my letter ("Toddler's death: Did condo flout building rules?"; April 2), said the design of the safety barriers in Hillview Green condominium complied with the relevant regulatory requirement in 1995, when the building plans were approved.

The requirement on the spacing of safety barriers in 1995 was the same as that in 1989, which stipulates that the size of any openings, gaps or voids in the railings or parapets should not permit the passage of a sphere of diameter 15cm.

As the gaps between the bars in Hillview Green are between 14cm and 16.5cm wide, it would seem that they are not in compliance with the regulatory requirement in 1995.

Michael Yeo

[laugh][laugh][laugh]HO SEH LIAO!!!! PHUA KANG TAO!!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

if in US, the developer will kena sue like crazy liao...

i think maybe bca also tio sai liao

the guy who approved the plans [sly] i suspect gonna jit bah boom [sly]

but took place so long ago, seekali he retired liao leh [sly]

From ST Forum:

My point

Elaborate on safety rule

Michael Yeo

Someone's head is gonna to roll this time......

All the Hillview Green residents gonna to file lawsuits

Someone's head is gonna to roll this time......

All the Hillview Green residents gonna to file lawsuits

but first they will get a free upgrade for all the balcony grill :D

free upgrade from developer?