If you car kena knock backside, what will u do?

Gs_1984

If you car kena knock backside, what will u do?  

51 members have voted

1. 1. If you car kena knock backside, what will u do?

• Claim insurance
    • Settle ourselves
    • Let him go

  On 4/3/2013 at 6:17 AM, Jtay said:

Not quite true. My wife knocked into another vehicle last year. I still reported to my insurer - they gave me a private settllement form which I got the other driver to sign. When my renewal came this year, no increase in the insurance fees.

but u cannot change to another insurer for cheaper price.

On 4/3/2013 at 6:51 AM, Joseph22 said:

but u cannot change to another insurer for cheaper price.

Actually also not 100% true. My insurer was originally with Aviva. When renewal letter came in Jan this year, they quoted about $100 less. I searched around, and ultimately got a cheaper quote with directasia.

Maybe the practice differs for different insurers?

My new ride was knocked from behind some years back and the other party asked me to settle privately. Went to agent which quoted changing whole bumper which will cost >1K which I think was too ex for the damage. Told her and she asked me to go to her workshop for repair and I think it was done for less than $200.

  On 4/3/2013 at 7:10 AM, Jtay said:

Actually also not 100% true. My insurer was originally with Aviva. When renewal letter came in Jan this year, they quoted about $100 less. I searched around, and ultimately got a cheaper quote with directasia.

Maybe the practice differs for different insurers?

oh..

my friend got lock in cause other insurer dont want to quote because he go report. maybe his insurer do something funny to his report :mellow:

Hi bro,

I met with a similar accident last year Feb. I'm the one who kissed the car in front [smallcry] Demage very minor & we do a private settlement. The owner send his car to AD for assessment (car is Honda Civic) & they quoted $500 for the repair. I pay him cash & get him sign on the private settlement form (2 copies). Please ensure you reported it to your insurance company even if you both agreed private settlement (oso send a copy of the signed form to your insurance for record).

On 4/3/2013 at 7:40 AM, Joseph22 said:

oh..

my friend got lock in cause other insurer dont want to quote because he go report. maybe his insurer do something funny to his report :mellow:

Not sure what happened for your friend's case. But if the same thing were to happen again, I think i'll still report to insurers, but make sure the other party sign the private settlement form.

I kenna hit from behind before. I stopped at a pedestrian crossing when i was hit by another car. No damage. We shook hands and no money changed hands. Then i kenna f--ked by my friend who was with me :wacko:[blush]

Sometimes it's the attitude of the driver behind when he come down. Some people can come down and ask 'Eh! Why u brake? There's no car wat!'. When you hear this, sure damn tulan one.

If he/she come down and say 'Sorry sorry! Are you Ok?'...at leat not so tulan.

On 4/3/2013 at 8:41 AM, Philipkee said:

I kenna hit from behind before. I stopped at a pedestrian crossing when i was hit by another car. No damage. We shook hands and no money changed hands. Then i kenna f--ked by my friend who was with me :wacko:[blush]

So your car kenna banged, then afterwards you kenna banged? [laugh]

Even if no damage, first reaction is to scold the driver first, if he's very paiseh, then forgive and forget about it. This is hoping that scolding him will make him a safer driver. Maybe if you're not in front of him, he may have hit a pedestrian crossing the road.

On 4/2/2013 at 3:52 PM, Gs_1984 said:

Car condition:

Unnoticeable damage.

Unless you are 15cm away under strong light, else you cannot see the dent. Slight paint chip.

What will you do?

1) claim insurance. Change bumper + rent car for 3 days while it is in workshop

2) accept a $1000 compensation and u settle urself. Even if u decide to do nothing, he will still pay.

3) let him go n forget about it.

As you said, 15cm away under strong light else cannot see the dent. Just let him go lah, for god sake if your car is not brand new or worth more than 200k. Afterall, life is not easy for a taxi driver.

On 4/3/2013 at 2:37 AM, Gs_1984 said:

Just met up with the taxi uncle. He only paid me 500 and say the other half pay me tomorrow when he earn from the taxi. Sibeh sad, even showed me his reciept saying inside only left 4 dollar.

I ask him want sign paper for private settlement, he say no need. Dont know english, so dont wan sign. I think since i take his money and he do not need my signature, i suppose i should be safe. Lets see if i get the other half tomorrow.

A few years ago, i also kissed other ppl car on CTE when i just passed my driving, the other party let me go without any compensation since there is no damage. I suppose by letting the taxi go easy this time i am already paying it forward.

How much do you wanna squeeze leh?

For a damage as insignificant as you admitted: -

Car condition:

Unnoticeable damage.

Unless you are 15cm away under strong light, else you cannot see the dent. Slight paint chip.

Personally, I've been gently bumped from the rear (along a snail crawling causeway). Exited the vehicle. Same mild scratches nia. The other driver offered S$200.

I accepted on the spot.

Came back SG, .. send to groomer the next day.

Good as new.

On 4/3/2013 at 6:48 AM, SGCMmadman said:

last nov my car got rear ended by a bus while i was stationary at traffic light and i got knocked out causing me to release foot on brake n car rolled forward n hit a taxi infront of me which was also stationary. driver came out n said no problem cause no visible damage and went off to send his passenger and came back later to the scene, seemed very nice and helpful and kept saying dun worry nothing for him to claim but few days later received call fm my insurance surveyor ,say taxi driver claiming 6 days mc n a new rear bumper, had to also go visit my insurance investigator n sit in a room macam go to CID hahaha.... last week received letter from insurance that final settlement with the taxidriver was $1100+ (no new rear bumper, my insurance surveyor only agreed to change bumper brackets and do touch up) spoke with some taxidrivers who incidentally were having a kopi session at a amk kopitiam and was told tat if kiss a taxi behind, be prepared to have yr rear end poked by a cannon and if a taxi kiss your behind, dun believe any father/mother cry singsong by the taxidriver and also most taxidrivers if given chance also 'like' being rear ended (rear bumper ah and not ass) cause can claim gao gao and get free paid off days n also if lucky earn few thousand dollars in insurance claims ... (the wise words of singapore's own taxidrivers)

I kana hit by taxi from rear. I thought sure win but in the end the bugger say I reverse. The accident happen at tok teck road down slope toward vicom, No integrity twist and turn story.

seems like most bro who reply have very good integrity. recently i hit someone's back and he wanna claim me 7k+ based on this damage

532005_10200109415150443_1204999719_n.jpg

On 4/3/2013 at 10:45 AM, Yeshe said:

seems like most bro who reply have very good integrity. recently i hit someone's back and he wanna claim me 7k+ based on this damage

Sensor look ok. even too much if change new bumper and the reinforce bar. Anyone know what is the price of reinforce bar(hidden bumper bar)

Just met up with the taxi uncle. He only paid me 500 and say the other half pay me tomorrow when he earn from the taxi. Sibeh sad, even showed me his reciept saying inside only left 4 dollar.

I ask him want sign paper for private settlement, he say no need. Dont know english, so dont wan sign. I think since i take his money and he do not need my signature, i suppose i should be safe. Lets see if i get the other half tomorrow.

A few years ago, i also kissed other ppl car on CTE when i just passed my driving, the other party let me go without any compensation since there is no damage. I suppose by letting the taxi go easy this time i am already paying it forward.

I am in no position to commend whether did you let the taxi driver go easy or not.

4 yrs ago, an old uncle van driver banged into my rear bumper with a few scratches.

He came down and started apologise and he can only compensate me $50. He told me not to report

insurance as he will defintely lose his job. In the end, I just took $50 from him and without signing anything.

3 yrs ago, a lady driver driving a 6 months old Toyota Altis jammed brake and I rear ended her new car.

I got down, apologise to her and also check with her whether need to call ambulance or sent her to see doctor. She is in a shock but reply she's ok. We both got down to assess the damage.

Her bumper got a few deep scratches but no visible dent. I offered her $500 on the spot to settle privately. She refused and sent her car back to BM.

BM quoted her $700 for the respray. She called me and I offered to go down BM and pay for her.

I think she can sense that I am a sincere person. She changed her mind last min and sent her car to a workshop and got it respray for $150.

Both of us also did not signed anything.

Guess I am very lucky. :D

  On 4/3/2013 at 11:16 AM, Rustyz said:

Sensor look ok. even too much if change new bumper and the reinforce bar. Anyone know what is the price of reinforce bar(hidden bumper bar)

funny thing is, AD quoted him 3-4k but he use his own workshop n claim 7k... farking kelong man [rifle]

On 4/3/2013 at 11:28 AM, Yeshe said:

funny thing is, AD quoted him 3-4k but he use his own workshop n claim 7k... farking kelong man [rifle]

The car look new, so I don't think need any repair work done else where. Maybe u r sponsoring the guy a car entertainment unit with GPS feature and many more. So the bill work out 7K