Vulcann 6th Gear March 31, 2013 Share March 31, 2013 Why didn't anyone suggest this during my time? From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-years-20130401 Cut NS to less than 2 years Published on Apr 01, 2013 I WAS heartened to read that improving the perception of national service is finally getting the attention it deserves ("Aiming higher for NS: Getting back that NS feeling", March 23). Present and future generations need to think of NS with pride rather than as a liability. There is no doubt that NS is critical to Singapore's survival. However, its patriotic sentiments are overridden by three factors: First, it is disruptive. It interferes with a young man's studies, university applications, and later, even work. It takes two years on paper, but when the difference between discharge from NS and university start dates are factored in, it can go on for much longer. Second, it is risky to life and limb. Third, it delays the day when a young man can contribute to his family's income and start his own family. As a result, it is perceived as an extreme sacrifice, especially in the light of the head start enjoyed by one's foreign peers in today's competitive world. Recent recruits agree on one thing - that the second year is usually not directly related to military training. The most substantial field training is largely done in the first year. One way to minimise the disruptions and disadvantages that NS causes is to reduce the tenure of service. This is in line with what is happening in several other countries. This way, there will still be a trained reservist force ready to defend the country but the resentment associated with the disruptions will be significantly less. No amount of monetary incentive can replace the two years that are lost in the prime of one's youth. Kelly Kishor Mel (Mrs) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged March 31, 2013 Share March 31, 2013 Why didn't anyone suggest this during my time? From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-years-20130401 Cut NS to less than 2 years Published on Apr 01, 2013 I WAS heartened to read that improving the perception of national service is finally getting the attention it deserves ("Aiming higher for NS: Getting back that NS feeling", March 23). Present and future generations need to think of NS with pride rather than as a liability. There is no doubt that NS is critical to Singapore's survival. However, its patriotic sentiments are overridden by three factors: First, it is disruptive. It interferes with a young man's studies, university applications, and later, even work. It takes two years on paper, but when the difference between discharge from NS and university start dates are factored in, it can go on for much longer. Second, it is risky to life and limb. Third, it delays the day when a young man can contribute to his family's income and start his own family. As a result, it is perceived as an extreme sacrifice, especially in the light of the head start enjoyed by one's foreign peers in today's competitive world. Recent recruits agree on one thing - that the second year is usually not directly related to military training. The most substantial field training is largely done in the first year. One way to minimise the disruptions and disadvantages that NS causes is to reduce the tenure of service. This is in line with what is happening in several other countries. This way, there will still be a trained reservist force ready to defend the country but the resentment associated with the disruptions will be significantly less. No amount of monetary incentive can replace the two years that are lost in the prime of one's youth. Kelly Kishor Mel (Mrs) april fool also ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 1, 2013 Author Share April 1, 2013 april fool also ? I can be their fool if they were to cut down our 2 1/2 years to 2 years then bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 Kelly Kishor Mel (Mrs) Looks like a PR's son is going to serve NS soon. I thought some brilliant mini star suggests they can pay their way out of NS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PorkChong Clutched April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 (edited) the name does not sounds like local indians. "No amount of monetary incentive can replace the two years that are lost in the prime of one's youth." knn,we don't need FTs like you to tell us the above statement or even your letter. unhappy then f off send your son back to india. Edited April 1, 2013 by PorkChong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 Kelly Kishor Mel (Mrs) Looks like a PR's son is going to serve NS soon. I thought some brilliant mini star suggests they can pay their way out of NS? Oei dun generalize leh...We dun know the person la. There are many native fellow Indians citizens here also. That NS is a waste of time is a universal truth. Just cos someone say it out doesnt mean the person is an "outsider". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 Why didn't anyone suggest this during my time? From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-years-20130401 Cut NS to less than 2 years Published on Apr 01, 2013 I WAS heartened to read that improving the perception of national service is finally getting the attention it deserves ("Aiming higher for NS: Getting back that NS feeling", March 23). Present and future generations need to think of NS with pride rather than as a liability. There is no doubt that NS is critical to Singapore's survival. However, its patriotic sentiments are overridden by three factors: First, it is disruptive. It interferes with a young man's studies, university applications, and later, even work. It takes two years on paper, but when the difference between discharge from NS and university start dates are factored in, it can go on for much longer. Second, it is risky to life and limb. Third, it delays the day when a young man can contribute to his family's income and start his own family. As a result, it is perceived as an extreme sacrifice, especially in the light of the head start enjoyed by one's foreign peers in today's competitive world. Recent recruits agree on one thing - that the second year is usually not directly related to military training. The most substantial field training is largely done in the first year. One way to minimise the disruptions and disadvantages that NS causes is to reduce the tenure of service. This is in line with what is happening in several other countries. This way, there will still be a trained reservist force ready to defend the country but the resentment associated with the disruptions will be significantly less. No amount of monetary incentive can replace the two years that are lost in the prime of one's youth. Kelly Kishor Mel (Mrs) two yr is too short already.... now still wanna cut down... shld increase to 3 yrs... and make sure the NSF achieve some sort of qualification before allow to ORD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 don't forget about the reservist cycles, that is also impactful in our competitive work enviroment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 now is only 1 yr 10mths and max 2 yrs right? Already very short isn't it? Training a spec from start of BMT takes about 9 mths. officer 12 mths. Not to mention those specialised units like CDO/NDU. NSF police and SCDF also help deal with civil resource requirements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 now is only 1 yr 10mths and max 2 yrs right? Already very short isn't it? Training a spec from start of BMT takes about 9 mths. officer 12 mths. Not to mention those specialised units like CDO/NDU. NSF police and SCDF also help deal with civil resource requirements. well said!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 (edited) No wonder some men still remains a mama's boy even though they have grown up. First the mother write in to suggest cut NS to less dan 2 years lah dan the maid write in and say boy boy not receiving enough welfare lah. They will learn to make their beds, do laundry and take care of themselves. Mothers should rejoice coz less work for them. Edited April 1, 2013 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 If really from st forum. Then they really too free, this kind of stupid letter also publish. Important letters that really question policy of our govt will get thrown away or edit till unrecognizable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 (edited) Why the mother write , got balls ask the son write himself la. Another chao ah gua hiding behind mummy. What is so difficult about 2 years . To me I don't think it was wasted but it probably gave me a disadvantage at a start. But I have to agree that army gave me the transition from a boy to a man. Taking up responsiblity as well as learning when to take action and when not to . I won't see army as a waste of time as it instills some form of discipline as well as tolerance and understanding towards another race or religion. We have common grounds in which we can relate to and this in turn builds up racial harmony. That said , more recognition should be given to those which serve and are going to serve. Not reduce their duration but improve the relationship between work and country responsiblity . We are not sub standard conscripts that are asked back to protect the rich foriegners , we are conscripted to protect our country and our people. Even if it is at the expense of the foreigners . That said foreigners should be paying much higher taxes to compensate for our commitment as compared to our miserable tax rebate for servicing national service . Cause without us , they won't be here in the first place. Edited April 1, 2013 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 the name does not sounds like local indians. "No amount of monetary incentive can replace the two years that are lost in the prime of one's youth." knn,we don't need FTs like you to tell us the above statement or even your letter. unhappy then f off send your son back to india. buay pai liao better than an earlier letter which proposed to pay more taxes (or other monetary means) to replace NS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damien22 1st Gear April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 Why the mother write , got balls ask the son write himself la. Another chao ah gua hiding behind mummy. What is so difficult about 2 years . To me I don't think it was wasted but it probably gave me a disadvantage at a start. But I have to agree that army gave me the transition from a boy to a man. Taking up responsiblity as well as learning when to take action and when not to . I won't see army as a waste of time as it instills some form of discipline as well as tolerance and understanding towards another race or religion. We have common grounds in which we can relate to and this in turn builds up racial harmony. That said , more recognition should be given to those which serve and are going to serve. Not reduce their duration but improve the relationship between work and country responsiblity . We are not sub standard conscripts that are asked back to protect the rich foriegners , we are conscripted to protect our country and our people. Even if it is at the expense of the foreigners . That said foreigners should be paying much higher taxes to compensate for our commitment as compared to our miserable tax rebate for servicing national service . Cause without us , they won't be here in the first place. Bro, well said! Many have always claim that NS is a waste of time, but no matter what, it is still the liability/obligation (whatever you put it) of every young 'boy' and must be fulfilled. Instead of seeing NS as a waste of time, why dont we see it as a time of two years to pause, slow down and think of what one wants to do in future after that phase in life? The ultimate loss is not one forgoing of the two years in life, but losing the vision of how one wants to move forward after that two years. The only people who need not serve NS are those exempted due to health reasons. So, I rather serve my NS than to be unable to! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 my suggestion... ns 2 years.... 1 year 6 months normal ns... remaining 6 months, the qualified ones work in offices throughout singapore to replace ladies on maternity leave.... so we address labour shortage, practical ns work experience, productivity and cost of maternity leave all at the same time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 now is only 1 yr 10mths and max 2 yrs right? Already very short isn't it? ya lor, my wife's nephew went in and before we knew it, ORD liao.... What she want ? 1.5 yrs issit ? Then all those officers can prepare for ORD after pass out from OCS lor. Not enough time to get 2LT also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched April 1, 2013 Share April 1, 2013 Bro, well said! Many have always claim that NS is a waste of time, but no matter what, it is still the liability/obligation (whatever you put it) of every young 'boy' and must be fulfilled. Instead of seeing NS as a waste of time, why dont we see it as a time of two years to pause, slow down and think of what one wants to do in future after that phase in life? To summarize your point: 1) NS is not a waste of time becos it is a liability/obligation that must be fulfilled, and 2) It provides opportunity for some to to think about the future? Very flimsy premise dun you think? I hope there are better reasons for NS to be justified in addition to the above. For 1), if that logic flow you can replace NS with ANYTHING with that logic. Slavery, forced prostitution ...etc For 2) a person who would think about the future would with or without NS. You do not enforce NS just for that. I mean cmon, there are so many people who do not serve NS. You mean they are all handicapped by that opportunity to think? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...