Ride Bicycle to work from west to east

Gylgyl

Hi all,

I am staying in west cck area and work in the east at expo changi area. I gain quite abit of weight these past few years of course bcos of good foods and alway drive in the car no matter where I go even to market which is only 800m away. I had been thinking to buy a bicycle to ride to work instead of driving ... so to save cost as well as to lose some weight and keep fit.... but I worry to few things

What are the best route to take to go from cck to changi expo?

How to reduce the risk involve and reduce the nuisance caused to other road users? I'm a driver too and I do realise how dangerous it will be to ride on road....manyway I could avoid the road but still can reach changi??

cycle to mrt n take the train lah...

hate to say this but cyclists slow down the peak hour traffic....

Hi all,

I am staying in west cck area and work in the east at expo changi area. I gain quite abit of weight these past few years of course bcos of good foods and alway drive in the car no matter where I go even to market which is only 800m away. I had been thinking to buy a bicycle to ride to work instead of driving ... so to save cost as well as to lose some weight and keep fit.... but I worry to few things

What are the best route to take to go from cck to changi expo?

How to reduce the risk involve and reduce the nuisance caused to other road users? I'm a driver too and I do realise how dangerous it will be to ride on road....manyway I could avoid the road but still can reach changi??

sorry for pouring cold water but by the time u reached ur working place, u will faint and cant go work. moreover its very dangerous and u gotta go off from ur place 3 am

the distance too far and i would suggest that u cycle to near places around ur neighbourhood area first.

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

the thought of it already make me tire like hell!

You probably have to start the journey from 5am and reach office at 830am [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

I think 3am..

cck cycle down teck whye then turn right down dunearn road then down rochor rd turn left to victoria street then up sims avenue, upper changi then reach expo....

try walking that 800m 1st

duhz

Edited by Raymondism

Try cycling to west coast park first. Tried it once.. going there not so bad, it's the coming back that makes me want to die cause thigh muscle cramp, haha.

Dun be crazy la..wad time u wan to wake up to cycle..even u rch ur wrk place u will half dead ..how to wrk?u joking rite?

Given the density of road users in the morning, I would deduce that it would be impractical as a means of commuting to work. There's a lot of risks involved if you aren't conditioned for it.

Not to mention the harmful exhaust fumes that would have very bad effects on your health. I suggest cycling through the length of east coast park to changi village first. Slowly, you can

increase how many rounds you're going like at first, you go 1 trip then increase it to see if you can tahan. Once up to 4 trips, you will be better conditioned and can concentrate better.

That means that you are less likely to encounter accidents. If possible, get a light road bike with thin wheels. Much less tiring than mountain bikes. once you're okay then maybe you

can have a mini marathon during weekends. About 2 months, you'll start to feel that your stamina has improved and less lactate and metabolytes accumulate at your legs (less muscle cramps).

After a while you'll see that riding bikes feel much lighter and believe me, that feels rewarding. Not to mention, you'll develop glutes worthy of Porker's admiration [laugh]

u sure canot make it. it too far & u dont cycle regularly.

morning traffic v heavy, u might get kill.

those prc bus driver so pro, i always hv to jam brake when they chiong out of bus stop. do u think they care abt bicycle?

I cycled from Bedok Reservoir via pavements, pcn (5% road only) took me 2.5hrs to reach NUS business sch.

I used bedok > marina parade > old airport rd, nicoll highway, shenton way, Keppel road, pasir panjang road

I cycled from Bedok Reservoir via pavements, pcn (5% road only) took me 2.5hrs to reach NUS business sch.

I used bedok > marina parade > old airport rd, nicoll highway, shenton way, Keppel road, pasir panjang road

Might as well take bus lah. PCN/Pavement waste time.

1) calculate the distance with Google map.

2) buy a speedometer.

3) test out your speed and distance on a Saturday.

4) Sunday moan and massage your leg.

5) Monday take a cab to work. Cannot walk

6) Tuesday drive to work, enjoying your car like you never did before.

Been there done that. Bro.

Hi TS, just to share with you my cycling route and experience.

I live in Pasir Ris and work in Boon Lay. I drive daily, but cycle to work every Fri. So I bring an extra set office wear to office on Thur. On Fri after I cycle to office, i will bath and change into office wear. After work, I will change into my stinky cycling jersey and cycle home. I am riding a road bike and all my routes are on road. Other than Fri, I also cycle regularly with my cycling friends.

My route as follows:

To office. Starts at 5am: Pasir Ris, Punggol, Yishun dam, Mandai, Kranji, LCK, NTU , Boon Lay. 50km. Quick stop at Kranji dam and reach office before 730am.

Back home. Starts 8pm after dinner to avoid traffic. Boon lay, Jln Buloh, West coast, Telok Blangah, Anson rd, Nicole highway, Fort rd, East coast pcn, Changi Coastal, Loyang, Pasir ris. 60km. Quick stop at East coast and reach home 1030pm. (sometime I may cycle back by the morning route )

One thing important to take note is the weather. If it rain halfway, it is dangerous or you will be late. So I always check the NEA 3 hr weather report website before I start ( but sometime also not accurate ). Second thing is from your question, I believe you are not a season rider, so riding to work daily is not very practical. You need some training and determination to ride long distance. Maybe you can start with a shorter distance. Thirdly the Park connector is incomplete, so you need ride on the road somehow. You need to overcome the fear of road cycling and have good road awareness as it can very dangerous.

But I think cycling to work is a good form of exercise and fun. It is also refreshing to start work after riding. It is doable, just need some training and discipline to wake up early and endure some muscle pain. Have fun :)

u sure canot make it. it too far & u dont cycle regularly.

morning traffic v heavy, u might get kill.

those prc bus driver so pro, i always hv to jam brake when they chiong out of bus stop. do u think they care abt bicycle?

IMO more bus drivers give way to me when I am on my bicycle rather than in my car. lol. They seem much more patient when they see me on a bicycle.