Wallet, phone go missing in army camp, but CCTV not working

Vulcann

Been going there for my non-ICT IPPTs during my last few years with them and I had always placed my valuables in one of the many lockers provided.

Now that this Mr Gan had revealed all was not well and that his stuff actually got Ali Ba Ba'ed :wacko: :wacko:

Maybe bros going inside camps for IPPTs play safe just bring along 11B can liao [laugh] [laugh]

But the greater issue which was implied is the security issue.

Non-working CCTVs in camps?

Isolated incident perhaps?

[rolleyes] [rolleyes]

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...orking-20130326

Wallet, phone go missing in army camp, but CCTV not working

Published on Mar 26, 2013

I WENT for my remedial training at Bedok Camp on March 17.

I placed my belongings in one of the lockers provided at the ground level. During the break, I went to check on my belongings and found that my wallet and mobile phone had gone missing. I immediately reported the incident to the army personnel at the training centre.

I requested to view the closed-circuit television camera recording as my locker was in an area that was under CCTV surveillance. However I was told that the CCTV camera at the ground level was down.

I have always thought that military premises are secure, but this incident has made me think otherwise.

There should at least be annual checks on CCTV systems in military camps, so that any spoilt cameras can be fixed without delay.

Gan Ka Hwee

i would rather think the cctv is working but not revealing to the writer. they may conduct their own investigation, nobody get to the cctv footage unless he has a warrant, just my thought :huh:

Edited by Jman888

Army camps got a lot of alil babas one. This is especially true nearer to QM stock taking/LRIs when you can see people start stealing GE equipment from each other to make up for their shortfall.

QM stocktake or LRI (especially LRI) people don't steal, they "borrow"! Even QM also will start calling other camps/unit QM to borrow things for upcoming LRI, then send the storemen out with tonner or minibus to go and collect. Signal store IC will also do the same, all will start calling their contacts in other units for help.

LRI finish then return back.

Edited by Myxilplix

Never even use the lockers in khatib before

Only been there RT one day nia

Kept my stuffs in my car

Who did that guy spoke to?

Cfm is they jus brush him off la

If he persistent speak to higher lvl

They cfm will ask him go make police report first

There r steps to follow ma

He is jus the kind

Never come mcf cry father cry mother

Go one step further

Go cry in papers is it

Who cares abt him man

QM stocktake or LRI (especially LRI) people don't steal, they "borrow"! Even QM also will start calling other camps/unit QM to borrow things for upcoming LRI, then send the storemen out with tonner or minibus to go and collect. Signal store IC will also do the same, all will start calling their contacts in other units for help.

LRI finish then return back.

long time never hear the term LRI. bring back memories siah.

got one time i kena a hboi for lost stores before. really lao gua sia [laugh]

Not surprising, army camps don't like to spend to repair their building or infrastructure unless it drops from it's mountings

Edited by Jokerd

long time never hear the term LRI. bring back memories siah.

got one time i kena a hboi for lost stores before. really lao gua sia [laugh]

Yeah i read Altivo's post then it all came flooding back to me, i thought i had already erased all of the memories. Looks like i need more therapy.

no one / management will suga suga show cctv footage to people unless got police reports etc, as simple as that

It's the army.... You can file an official report to them but some lazy chap must have brushed him aside to avoid the paper work.

I don't think the CCTV was sabotaged, but it is entirely possible that it's an inside job and that someone who knew the CCTV was down chose that time to kapor the guy's stuff.

The PTI's and those outsourced (certis cisco?) Physical Trainers have the skeleton key for the lockers.. I know cos i forgot my locker password during my last IPPT at khatib camp, and needed them to open the locker for me.. [:p]