Can U-turn from middle lane?

Lebonchi

Yup, saw one just the other day.

A 40' trailer make a left turn to enter a construction site, directly from the 2nd lane from the left. He gave a left indicator signal which is technically correct. But I thought he was actually filtering to the left-most lane.

Luckily I was behind him on the same lane, so no issue for me. It just surprised me a bit to see that.

There was a pickup truck on the left-most lane though, that got a scare! He also thought the trailer was filtering, instead of a left turn cutting right across his path!!

Yes ty need a big space to turn. Thats why when i suspect a long vehicle is going to turn n eat my lane...i wil slow down n give way.

Better to b safe than sorry. Those drivers not easy. Most pple never give way n ty hv to take chances many times just to reach their destination.

Those big trailers don't have a choice. They have to approach from 2nd lane to be able to make the turn. First lane too tight for them.

Have witnessed this in a few cases.

I ever tried driving a primemover wh just a 20' trailer. I tell u turning not easy. Reversing is hell. :wacko:

I've seen such stunts in JB, twice. Both times in the Taman U area. One of the time I was on right lane making U-turn, and a Honda Accord on my left also U-turn from its middle lane. Imagine if I wasn't doing a U-turn I would have bang him also. :wacko:

But I haven't such such stunts in Singapore yet, except for long and heavy vehicles, which is understandable.

some time at a busy junction, when the car couldn't get into the outer right lane (long queue and the car may come out from somewhere that can't join the queue), they may have to attempt this stunt in order to do the u-turn.

This kind of 2nd lane u-turn stunt, u can see it daily at Chinatown. In front of the Chinatown Point Shopping centre cross-junction. U-turn towards Funan Centre.

some time at a busy junction, when the car couldn't get into the outer right lane (long queue and the car may come out from somewhere that can't join the queue), they may have to attempt this stunt in order to do the u-turn.

Yes, it usually this case and scenario.

But at least, if possible, the driver should wind down his/her window and wave for the car on his/her right lane to give way or something.... but usually they don't bother and just U-turn as thou its their own road !!! [:(]

It's definately wrong for him to make a U turn on middle lane. Luckily TS is alert and prevent a collision. Please report to TP and he will get a fine & demerit points. It's very reckless of that Lexus driver to make a U turn on the middle lane and never think of safety on the road. I suggest you send your video clip and report him.

I let you know TP standard reply...

Dear so and so...

In order for our enforcement to take action, we need to know if you are willing to testify in court should the offender pleads not guilty.

Please indicate your willingness to stand in court as witness and provide your full name, NRIC and contact number.

so...do you wanna trouble yourself by taking time off to attend court ?

Got video...cant they just proceed and charge the offending party without bothering us ?

Oh ya...TS ask if can U turn from middle lane....the answer is YES...as long as you dun get caught.

Edited by Ghostrider

No excuse, there is always another U-turn further down the road.

This is blatant disregard and disrespect to other drivers sharing the road, 1st world country, 3rd world behaviour.

I let you know TP standard reply...

Dear so and so...

In order for our enforcement to take action, we need to know if you are willing to testify in court should the offender pleads not guilty.

Please indicate your willingness to stand in court as witness and provide your full name, NRIC and contact number.

so...do you wanna trouble yourself by taking time off to attend court ?

Got video...cant they just proceed and charge the offending party without bothering us ?

Oh ya...TS ask if can U turn from middle lane....the answer is YES...as long as you dun get caught.

The TP have their procedures to follow and I think what they worry is the driver dispute the charges and they have nobody to back them up.

If I'm not wrong, video evidence can only be used as supporting evidence, not standalone evidence. You still have to be there to testify and confirm that you witness the offence and the video will support what you said is true.

However, I'm assuming the TP will be smart enough to indicate in the letter that his offence has been captured on video so the driver will know he has no case.

Maybe the driver was turning right. Then he remembered he forgot to lock his house door when he left home... So.... [laugh]

Haha [laugh]

Let him explain to the TP..

The TP have their procedures to follow and I think what they worry is the driver dispute the charges and they have nobody to back them up.

If I'm not wrong, video evidence can only be used as supporting evidence, not standalone evidence. You still have to be there to testify and confirm that you witness the offence and the video will support what you said is true.

However, I'm assuming the TP will be smart enough to indicate in the letter that his offence has been captured on video so the driver will know he has no case.

I know...but I have attended court before....damn wasting time lah...and it might not be once nia...who gonna compensate me ? I have to take leave leh...and they the time they give you means you die die have to make time to attend...

This might be an indirect deterrence to those who think they can sabotage by setting up another driver.

Though I think the TP could do better to make it more conducive for motorists to blow the whistle.

Yes, it usually this case and scenario.

But at least, if possible, the driver should wind down his/her window and wave for the car on his/her right lane to give way or something.... but usually they don't bother and just U-turn as thou its their own road !!! [:(]

yah wind down window and wave will be good gesture, at least people are aware.