Scion Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 (edited) will probably become Liverpool legend if he stick with the club, but too bad... one of the two iconic names that represented English football in the late 90s/early 2000s (at least he's the only two footballers whom my female friends knew, the other being David Beckham... who else ) i remember his wonder goal against Argentina, his hattrick against Germany, another hattrick against Newcastle Former England striker Michael Owen has announced that he will be retiring from football at the end of the season. Owen, 33, signed for Stoke on a free transfer last summer but has had yet another frustrating season that has been hampered by injury problems, limiting him to just seven appearances for the Potters. The former Liverpool, Real Madrid, Newcastle and Manchester United forward announced the news on his personal website on Tuesday morning. "It is with an immense amount of pride that I am announcing my intention to retire from Professional Football at the end of this season," he said. "Having progressed through the ranks at Liverpool to make my first team debut at 17, before embarking upon spells at Real Madrid, Newcastle United, Manchester United and Stoke City, not to mention representing my country on 89 occasions, I now feel it is the right time to bring the curtain down on my career. "I have been very fortunate in that my career has taken me on a journey that like many young players starting out, I could only have dreamt of. "None of this would have been possible without the tremendous support I have received from managers, coaches, fellow players, back room staff, the supporters and my own personal sponsors. I would like to thank each and every one for the huge role they have played in helping me reach the top of my profession." He also went on to thank his wife and family for the important roles they played in his 16-year professional career. Owen first burst onto the scene at the age of 17 for Liverpool in 1997 and went on to have seven successful years at the club. He was part of the side which claimed a Treble of the FA Cup, League Cup and UEFA Cup in 2001 - thanks in part of his late, match-winning brace in the FA Cup final win over Arsenal. That same year he scored a hat-trick in England's 5-1 win over Germany in Munich, and he was rewarded for his exploits by winning the Ballon d'Or. He moved to Real Madrid in 2004, but after a single season in which he scored 13 goals in 36 Liga appearances he moved to Newcastle. It was at St James' Park where his fitness problems really began to hamper his career. After four injury-hit seasons he moved onto Manchester United, where he won his only Premier League title in 2011. He was released from Old Trafford last summer as his injury problems continued to limit his appearances, and he joined Stoke as a free agent. In all, Owen represented England on 89 occasions, scoring 40 goals which put him fourth in the nation's all-time list behind Jimmy Greaves (44), Gary Lineker (48) and Sir Bobby Charlton (49). The only England player to date to score in four different international tournaments, Owen also captained his country on eight occasions. However, an international career which included his individual wonder goal against Argentina and his treble in Munich never recovered from an injury picked up against Sweden at the 2006 World Cup. Frank Lampard, speaking at an England press conference on Tuesday, paid tribute to the striker. "Fantastic player, the kind of player you are very proud to play alongside," he said. "I played with him quite a few times, watched him score goals for England in World Cups when I wasn't there, so I think he will go down in our history in England as one of the greatest goal-scorers and strikers we've had. He deserves very high praise. "The hat-trick in Munich was obviously fantastic, but to come on at the age that he did against Argentina with a bang and score a goal of such eye-catching quality was something very special. It is one of those moments that sticks in everyone's mind. Not just Michael Owen moments, but England in general. "Without maybe some injury problems at the latter end, he would have gone on and broken all the goal-scoring records and probably get 100 caps, but he should not have any real frustrations because his career was absolutely top drawer for club and country." Edited March 20, 2013 by Scion ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Michael who? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 I remember him for his speed, but overwhelmingly I remember him for being injured frequently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 He 33 only? Seems like he has been in this field for very long liao?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 I remember him for his speed, but overwhelmingly I remember him for being injured frequently. yeah, he's fast and zippy. but i think his body was put under high stress and impact due to his speed, and couldn't take it anymore....... maybe he didn't know the term "work smart, not work hard" he can hang his boots liao lah...... maybe go into Manager position or some admin in clubs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 cant remember any other english player besides keegan to win the player of the year sia... he was gd..rise fast but crash fast too guess too many injuries, risk of playing such a high level at such a young age.. best remembered him for this goal.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Oh yah, also remember that he got some bad press before about gambling big. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apong1471 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 I remember him for his speed, but overwhelmingly I remember him for being injured frequently. Ya. Heard at his prime he can clock 10.2 sec in 100m run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Owen's career is a bit half baked but he at least got a BPL medal although no champions league. Gerrard loyally stupidly stayed with Liverfool, winning everything but a BPL medal. No idea who will be judged the ultimate "winner" 10 yrs from now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 i think he can be considered a wonderkid who doesn't fulfilled his potential fully burst into the football scene at age 18, hit the peak by his early 20s, then decline after that Robinho is another similar one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 for international football, Shearer-Owen partnership was perhaps one of the best number 9-10 combos England ever has Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 for international football, Shearer-Owen partnership was perhaps one of the best number 9-10 combos England ever has Too bad it never lasted too long... big big waste they both were not from the same Era... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Versatile 1st Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 (edited) Greed kills. Any Englishmen that decide to play in Madrid always come back like a s--t. Nothing amazing about Owen to be honest.. aside from his wonderkids days. Still recalled his wonder goal during England Vs Argentina tho.... Edited March 20, 2013 by Versatile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Owen's career is a bit half baked but he at least got a BPL medal although no champions league. Gerrard loyally stupidly stayed with Liverfool, winning everything but a BPL medal. No idea who will be judged the ultimate "winner" 10 yrs from now. it will be gerrard because he played in the famous comeback in Champion league. when it come to premier league, ppl only remember the team who won it after 10 years. champion league because its one of the historical comeback and he was on the score sheet. no guess who ppl will remember. owen? maybe ppl wont even know he was at man u during that time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 This is my favourite Owen goal and it probably marked the pinnacle of his career. Arsenal fans look away now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 He 33 only? Seems like he has been in this field for very long liao?! too much injuiry.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 This is my favourite Owen goal and it probably marked the pinnacle of his career. Arsenal fans look away now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpeh23 2nd Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 A fearsome striker at his best, but peaked too early and was never able to recapture his early form. Will be remembered as a player who suffered from a long list of injuries but had his moments too. England fans will remember the goal against Argentina, Liverpool for his contribution during their treble season, and United fans will always remember him for the derby winner against Man City. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...