ABC News: 7 Marines Killed in Mortar Training Exercise

Vulcann

On 3/20/2013 at 5:42 AM, Alpha78 said:

I was from Div Arty HQ. And I'm not a gunner. [laugh]

ahahah.. ok ok. Still considered a gunner under the Arty umbrella

On 3/20/2013 at 5:44 AM, Kezg1 said:

U mean u carry the 120mm....this is no joke..btw I tot they do have wheels for 120mm

120mm mounted on APC

  On 3/20/2013 at 5:41 AM, Rncw said:

we always dun follow infantry....our PC finds a flat ground spot, then deploy, then wait for ranging and fire ... we will pound the ground, then riflemen chiong sua...

Oic. So you all just find a fire base and ROC (relax one corner ). [laugh]

  On 3/20/2013 at 5:46 AM, Rncw said:

120mm mounted on APC

This is the most relax platoon in a amour battalion. :D

On 3/20/2013 at 2:51 AM, Rncw said:

i did that few time during live firing....quite scary...

can use water (outdoor use urine?) to flood the tube n diffuse the charge [:p]

Still can deloy lar..........but its very labor intensive lor.

During the vietnam war, the VC & North Viet manage to move tanks, arty, motar through the mountains instead of clear roads to avoid air strikes.

On 3/20/2013 at 5:38 AM, Vega said:

So 81 is quite useless in these type of terrain. <_<

On 3/20/2013 at 7:42 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

We still go brunei lei......become enemy for the riftle companies. [:|]

we just JBL....during reservist, we played football, then book out

On 3/20/2013 at 1:34 AM, Alpha78 said:

Back in 1998, our own Arty unit had a round exploded within the chamber of FH88 or FH2000. If I remember correctly, one man died and several others injured.

Such things happen.

there was also an accident here where an explosive round went off inside an APC.

  On 3/20/2013 at 5:42 AM, Alpha78 said:

I was from Div Arty HQ. And I'm not a gunner. [laugh]

then u must be a leave clerk.......... JBL

Does a 60mm rd have so much ex in it to kill/wound so many?

Could it be they go so fast they did a double feed? (me no motar trained hor)

On 3/20/2013 at 9:53 AM, Playtime said:

Does a 60mm rd have so much ex in it to kill/wound so many?

Could it be they go so fast they did a double feed? (me no motar trained hor)

slot in one round, estimate about 1 secs the bomb comes out (60mm shorter barrel)....maybe percussion cap struck, charges burnt, but mis-fired, then they slot in another that hit the top of the mis-fired round?, or simply the bomb is faulty or too old....those standing around within 20 mtrs sure kena jialat, if not mati..