Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 If I can hook one of this, can hang up my rods for good liao From abcnews: http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2013...lifetime-catch/ Great White Shark: A Once in a Lifetime Catch By Rachel Katz Mar 19, 2013 6:03pm For Captain Joe Maisano of Treasure Island, Fla., and fishermen Fab Marchese of Ontario, Canada, it seemed like it would be just another day out on the water, but that quickly changed when then two fishermen spotted a rare great white shark. Maisano, 26, was about 30 miles off the coast of the Gulf of Mexico last Friday when he noticed what looked like a great white shark. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 Biggest I had brought up was a 15kg grouper off the coast of our neighbour but those days no smart phones so NPNT. Back home I did haul up a small shark not far from Bedok Jetty so swimmers in east coast well... [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 One of the more successful trips off our barren shore: The bottom left grouper (with partially shown tail) was contributed by yours truly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Smaller lizard sharks are a common sight here, bedok jetty also alot of baby sharks... From the size and weight do not think that any of our rods here can haul it up... Great whites are rare should be left alone at where they are. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Just when for a local trip last sunday and the sunday before must say that the catch really suxxx alot.. 1st trip = 4 puffer and 1 lizard shark 2nd trip = 1 ( 3kg red chicken) / 1 (groupa 2kg ) / 5 small gu hoot. local trips really cannot make it already leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 Just when for a local trip last sunday and the sunday before must say that the catch really suxxx alot.. 1st trip = 4 puffer and 1 lizard shark 2nd trip = 1 ( 3kg red chicken) / 1 (groupa 2kg ) / 5 small gu hoot. local trips really cannot make it already leh.... Fully agree on the difficulty of hauling up big catches around our waters. If you subscribe to Jack Neo's theory then can understand why. He said the fishes around here are like Singaporeans: they do not dare to open their mouths [laugh] Yep that is why my kakis like to charter boats to overseas like to Horsburgh Lighthouse (strictly speaking not overseas ), Malaysia, Bintan and one time they hiong hiong flew to Maldives to reel in the ultimate Marlins. Didn't join them because wifey would kill me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Hahahaha 5 of my friends going maldives next week, too bad i cannot afford !!! i had been to spratly islands at 2011 and the catch there was power manzzz........i try to learn how to post the pictures here later.. Horsburgh light house there not bad, heard that Raju new boat is making trips there, we had also just booked his boat for TU in May hope that we have a great CR to post. by the way have you tried tanjong pinang? heard from friends there the fishes is lok jia lok jia ( down eat down eat ) but monster less of coz all table size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 Hahahaha 5 of my friends going maldives next week, too bad i cannot afford !!! i had been to spratly islands at 2011 and the catch there was power manzzz........i try to learn how to post the pictures here later.. Horsburgh light house there not bad, heard that Raju new boat is making trips there, we had also just booked his boat for TU in May hope that we have a great CR to post. by the way have you tried tanjong pinang? heard from friends there the fishes is lok jia lok jia ( down eat down eat ) but monster less of coz all table size. Ya the cost of the maldives trip plus boat charter [knife] according to my rich buddies... I guess virgin places like Spratlys will provide great action. What you caught there? Giant groupers? GTs? Same like the Gulf of Aden. Read some reports due to the presence of the manacing pirates the fish stocks have slowly recovered as fishermen all siam the area. Tanjong Pinang? Land or sea "activities"? Not there but another place but couldn't remember the name. Took a ferry from harbourfront to Bintan then speed boat all the way to a kelong. That trip memorable because we caught a lot of Cobias [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Tia gong bull sharks have been spotted in singapore waters before by divers and marine biologists (not just that sembawang shipyard stomp story). Black tip and white tip sharks also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 Tia gong bull sharks have been spotted in singapore waters before by divers and marine biologists (not just that sembawang shipyard stomp story). Black tip and white tip sharks also. Bull sharks are the only species that can survive in fresh water for extended periods of time. They are known to enter into rivers from the sea to swim upstream for hundreds of miles looking for food. Some attacks in Australia along riversides previously attributed to crocs are now thought to be done by them. Highly aggressive and in the top three of most dangerous sharks. The other two varies but generally agreed to be Tigers, the white-pointer (great white) and oceanic white tips. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Yah the Spratly trip was great, we went there directly after the moonsoon was over and it set us back about 1.5k including air tix. not so much of pirates as we were moving near the island where the Msia coast guards stationed there. we did not went for the Big groupas, mostly GTs and dogtooth tunas. GTs was pop at near the reefs area where the water was super clear. Total we brought back about 800kg of fishes excluding estimated about 200 over kg of fishes which we released back to the waters due to rarity of it such as GTs and Blue fin GTs. Total 6 days onboard...24hrs searide Journey from sabah to Spratly and 26hrs on the way backed. i vomited all the way there lol.....waves about 2-2.5M. if you want to see some of the pics can pm me , my friend posted it on the blog. now got scared dun even dare to go there again lol... but Shovelnose had been caught at TM area by some of the anglers in singapore. wanna haul one up someday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 Yah the Spratly trip was great, we went there directly after the moonsoon was over and it set us back about 1.5k including air tix. not so much of pirates as we were moving near the island where the Msia coast guards stationed there. we did not went for the Big groupas, mostly GTs and dogtooth tunas. GTs was pop at near the reefs area where the water was super clear. Total we brought back about 800kg of fishes excluding estimated about 200 over kg of fishes which we released back to the waters due to rarity of it such as GTs and Blue fin GTs. Total 6 days onboard...24hrs searide Journey from sabah to Spratly and 26hrs on the way backed. i vomited all the way there lol.....waves about 2-2.5M. if you want to see some of the pics can pm me , my friend posted it on the blog. now got scared dun even dare to go there again lol... but Shovelnose had been caught at TM area by some of the anglers in singapore. wanna haul one up someday. Nowadays cannot go Spratly liao la if not later kena arrested as spies by any of the claimant states how? Didn't catch any tunas locally but did catch a few during my Phuket trip few years ago on a boating trip and we wanted to slice the buggers alive for sashimi. Boss boatman say paiseh no knife and also no wasabi so bo bianz unless we wana bite the tunas machiam savages. After the fishing trip we had to give all our catches to the happy like F boatman and his sidekicks. Suspect they purposely said no knife no wasabi so we had to surrender our fishes to them... Anywaz your catches were but the journey My Bintan trip my kakis ke kiang bought 3 crates of cheap Indon beer and said wanted to drink on board ....end up they "merlioned" and had to feed the surrounding fishes with contents from their stomach Jokers... Stayed near Loyang last time and always cycled as kids to Changi beach. One time was at the wet market near there and watched a fishmonger slaughtered a live Shovelnose. Folks around said it was caught near Ubin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Share March 20, 2013 Hahahaaa i am too scared to drink onboard. Tot they should have knifes onboard if its more than a day trip as they need to cook? we also brought our wasabi up as we caught sotongs and king fishes which could be shashimi straight. we only got dogtooth tuna, did not get any yellow or blue fins. Next time remember to bring some soya sauce chilli and wasabi lol........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 20, 2013 Author Share March 20, 2013 Hahahaaa i am too scared to drink onboard. Tot they should have knifes onboard if its more than a day trip as they need to cook? we also brought our wasabi up as we caught sotongs and king fishes which could be shashimi straight. we only got dogtooth tuna, did not get any yellow or blue fins. Next time remember to bring some soya sauce chilli and wasabi lol........... Actually watched a local production featuring a chef who said fishes caught locally not suitable for sashimi bec of bacteria infesting inside the fish in tropical waters. Not sure if this is true... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...