CNA: S'poreans appear to be happiest people in Asia

Vulcann

知足常乐?

Contentment?

Anyway not everyone surfs so the survey should be more specific [wave]

But I get your point. We should count our lucky stars we do not have massive unemployments, disruptive riots/protests, wars, etc

Happiness is difficult to quantify actually. To a starving person, happiness is when he found a piece of mouldy stale bread but to a multi-billionaire happiness is his corporation rakes in hundreds of millions regularly.

To me happiness is when my kids have good morals, grow up healthy and does well in their studies [:)]

And if it is not too much to ask for, replacing my battered 6-yo nipponese car with a new one without costing an arm and a leg will really make me a happy bloke [laugh] [laugh]

Not many govs in the world, are helping country fellowmen. Sometimes, we just have to view in a larger picture. See what happening in this world around us. [:)]

Meaning your sales frens are not saving in the 1st place... 8years not enuff savings? Well at least we know the policy is forcing them to save, at least for the DP which will result in lower interest and lower loan period; meaning they will suddenly realise that life will be easier when u dun just loan here loan there...

Maybe u could provide details on wat car they currently driving? and wat car they were targetting b4 the policy?

Some of them in marine and construction sales, currently now a few of them owning a 05-06 Jazz / altis / Vios.

actually they are targeting something like newer Civics / Mpvs and SuVs range, do agree on the part that they are not saving enough but from

what i see the savings they set aside are more for their kids education and insurances.

Most of them are reluctant to use the money for cars as it will be diffcult for them to save back hahahaaaaa. also not

the high standards of living also contributes to what we are saving now is lesser than last time.

Don't see the relation behind posting on FB and happiness. Those poor countries which have no internet like India or African countries are not happy since they don't have Facebook?

Just post pic from travelling and eat good food become happy? No!!! After that they stressed working to save more and pay liabilities

Don't forget to post saying buy cars in cash and change Porsches every time.... Most happy country and people :D

This angmors does not even rooted here, and they start anyhow comment about other countries. <_< See us "Red Eyed" [laugh]

The only problem of the country, is the basic housing, public transport systems and FT floodgates. Other than these problem, is still a great place to live in. Maybe I'm well traveled and see too many problems around the world. So after the pros and cons, is still a great tiny place to stay in. I'm not sure, how those middle income earners' view.

Because you are rich meh. [:p]

So its hard for you to emphasis with the rest of us (not the people in MCF, which many seems to be very well off), but the majority of Singaporeans. If I rich, I alos say Singapore very nice, just looking at the low income tax, plus all the bright lights & high building. But if I am poor & shown a bill of 5 figure medical bill for a short sty in hospital or/and surgurey, suddenly its not so pretty liao.

Also the only problems you mention, while not alot but they are all critical problem (compare to say Food not nice, or not enough shopping centre for instance in other places)! But i do give credit for Singapore rather low crime rates (for a city state) & cleanliness.

Because you are rich meh. [:p]

So its hard for you to emphasis with the rest of us (not the people in MCF, which many seems to be very well off), but the majority of Singaporeans. If I rich, I alos say Singapore very nice, just looking at the low income tax, plus all the bright lights & high building. But if I am poor & shown a bill of 5 figure medical bill for a short sty in hospital or/and surgurey, suddenly its not so pretty liao.

Also the only problems you mention, while not alot but they are all critical problem (compare to say Food not nice, or not enough shopping centre for instance in other places)! But i do give credit for Singapore rather low crime rates (for a city state) & cleanliness.

If not, why we are seeing so many rich, around the world coming to Singapore to settle. Security and politically stable is the key factor, to the rich. Thought is expensive living here, why they don't chose JB instead, even it is much cheaper? Today, we have better developments that is equal to that of Singapore, and yet, the rich still insist to stay in Singapore. [cool]

of course happy. Everytime i am unhappy, all I have is to look at my CPF statement, then I will feel very happy.

Correction: i feel lich [laugh] [laugh]

zwsurvey131031e.jpg

Ethnic Chinese from Singapore are perceived as being the happiest among Chinese-majority territories in Asia, according to a new survey.

Their sentiment was echoed by respondents from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, the three other territories involved in the survey conducted by Taiwan's Global Views Monthly magazine.

More than half of all Singapore respondents saw themselves as the happiest, while a third chose Taiwan. Around 4 per cent each chose Hong Kong or China.

Respondents from Taiwan and Hong Kong saw themselves as second happiest, while those from mainland China picked Hong Kong just ahead of their home ground.

Close to 4,000 ethnic Chinese from the four territories were polled. Lianhe Zaobao was the Singapore partner in the survey. China-based Horizon Research, the Hong Kong Economic Journal and the Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies were the other partners.

----------------

those ethnic chinese in MCF..are u truly happy?