Simonsoh 2nd Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 hi friends.... my first (and i believe last) car is forte, now abt 4 yrs old. rims have been stock since day one. for me, i dun care abt looks or what.. juz point A/B guy. I juz want to ask what is the function of rim? for nice nice only or must it be inspected and changed now and then for safety? people normally change rim is to nice nice one only is it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 When to change .... When you see a better and nicer 'Rim' ..... It all depend on the spec given in the manual. If manual states 185/R14/60, then can increase to 195/R15/55 for better grib on the road during wet conditions. Bear in mind that increasing the size will eat into your fc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear March 18, 2013 Author Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 6:04 AM, Picnic06 said: When to change .... When you see a better and nicer 'Rim' ..... It all depend on the spec given in the manual. If manual states 185/R14/60, then can increase to 195/R15/55 for better grib on the road during wet conditions. Bear in mind that increasing the size will eat into your fc.... bo lah.... i see so many nice rims but i no feeling one.... for me, i am a point A to point B guy... as long as its safe, its good enuf for me... ideally, my stock rims should last me until 10 yrs... but is it ok? is it safe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 6:12 AM, Simonsoh said: bo lah.... i see so many nice rims but i no feeling one.... for me, i am a point A to point B guy... as long as its safe, its good enuf for me... ideally, my stock rims should last me until 10 yrs... but is it ok? is it safe? Unless you drive at high speed and go across a least a 1 1/2 inches branch/stick which could damage your rim. Or whilst parking, graced against the kerb and scratches the side of the rim. The set of rims you having could outlast the coe of the car ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 Change to steel rims, can renew COE for another 2 times also no need to change rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear March 18, 2013 Author Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 6:21 AM, Picnic06 said: Unless you drive at high speed and go across a least a 1 1/2 inches branch/stick which could damage your rim. Or whilst parking, graced against the kerb and scratches the side of the rim. The set of rims you having could outlast the coe of the car ... scratched rim not safe? first year of driving, my rim kissed kerb many times... some jialat one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 6:24 AM, Simonsoh said: scratched rim not safe? first year of driving, my rim kissed kerb many times... some jialat one. no... it is not "not safe' but more of ugly looking rim with so many scratches.... Maybe after a couple of years experience where don't graze kerb anymore, you change to a new rims... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 If no bang before Jus stay stock rim n change tires can oreadi Steel rims r solid at high speed Those sports light rims r only gd at low end Aka pick up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear March 18, 2013 Author Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 6:45 AM, SPT27 said: If no bang before Jus stay stock rim n change tires can oreadi Steel rims r solid at high speed Those sports light rims r only gd at low end Aka pick up i duno if they are steel... juz stock from Kia... as long as no cracks or visible damage can already rite? no such thing as out-of-shape or non-visible damages one etc rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear March 18, 2013 Author Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 6:28 AM, Picnic06 said: no... it is not "not safe' but more of ugly looking rim with so many scratches.... Maybe after a couple of years experience where don't graze kerb anymore, you change to a new rims... thanks but seriously i dun mind ugly... keke... i have so many dents and chipped paint on doors from lorries that i cant bother... oh... and since we are on the topic of nice-nice, if one travels on Tuas and industrial area everyday, its normal to have many many many many white spots on bonnet and front bumper from small stones and particles rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 no need change unless went into pot hole and rims got deform or cracked. scratches can touch up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 If u wan play safe When change tires The tyre shop will balance ur wheel for u If they complain ur wheels r out of shape It's fine to use Dun worry ya Can see u not into cars but really gd as u r asking for safety issue Good Drive safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 Unless you kanna pothole fast and hard or strike/mount kerb (need to go ws fix and straighten your steering type) before, it should be okay to last... Check if got cracks? Ask tire shop to check your rims when you go for rotation... if you doubt their inputs, then go for 2nd opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 7:09 AM, Hosaybo said: no need change unless went into pot hole and rims got deform or cracked. scratches can touch up. Went into pothole also must see how fast you went into and how deep the pothole is. Sometimes even you went into pothole might damage your wheel rather than the rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 7:24 AM, SPT27 said: If u wan play safe When change tires The tyre shop will balance ur wheel for u If they complain ur wheels r out of shape It's fine to use Dun worry ya Can see u not into cars but really gd as u r asking for safety issue Good Drive safe Ths is very correct. When you do your tyre rotation, stand beside the machine n observe. If the rotation is swee swee round round then ok. If can see with your naked eye got out of shape, rotation not smooth, then time to change liao. When driving, with a damage rim, steering also feel vibration. No matter how many times you do alignment also same same. Safety wise, of course perfect round rims are the best but a slightly "not round" rim shd not be a big concern. Just my 1 cent opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 6:12 AM, Simonsoh said: bo lah.... i see so many nice rims but i no feeling one.... for me, i am a point A to point B guy... as long as its safe, its good enuf for me... ideally, my stock rims should last me until 10 yrs... but is it ok? is it safe? I also never change rims. 1set can last until i sell or scrap car. Only if a rim is damaged wil i change. Once someone stole one wheel n i cud not get replacement so had to change a whole set of 4 pcs. But i got 2nd hand and so quite cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 9:01 AM, 13177 said: Went into pothole also must see how fast you went into and how deep the pothole is. Sometimes even you went into pothole might damage your wheel rather than the rims. I kenna a few times pothole in msia but lucky rim n tire still ok. My current rims is original. Ty r slightly heavier but much stronger. Manufacturer usually quite strict on quality so made to higher specs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 7:04 AM, Simonsoh said: i duno if they are steel... juz stock from Kia... as long as no cracks or visible damage can already rite? no such thing as out-of-shape or non-visible damages one etc rite? Stock sports rims usually stronger so more lasting. Ty comply to factory specs. Aftermarket rims only made to rim makers specs so cud b very low even. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...