Singapore versus Hong Kong

Tungsl

Taking care of the elderly

in HK

when you reached 65 years and above, the country in recognition of your contribution will give you "fruit money" of a few singapore hundred dollars until you die

in singapore

we only get administrative fees for anything we do even when we become elderly - such as using our medisave and etc

in HK

the elderly 65years and above, gets to take the bus, MRT and ferry for just HK$2 which is less than Singapore 35cents to encourage the elderly to have a fruitful and active life for retirement

in SG

the subsidy is limited and restrictive

in HK

the medical services is nearly free even if got a kidney transplant each day you stay in the public hospital you only HK$100 or something like that

in Singapore

the medical bill even for the poorest, the sky is the limit, you can even pay by installment up to 30years

In short,

we should not be so short sighted in singapore

we should put people first and GDP second

without the people where is the GDP come from

please do kindly appreciate that is to highlight that our country should do more for our elderly

one day, we would be elderly too

in HK

when you reached 65 years and above, the country in recognition of your contribution will give you "fruit money" of a few singapore hundred dollars until you die

in singapore

we only get administrative fees for anything we do even when we become elderly - such as using our medisave and etc

in HK

the elderly 65years and above, gets to take the bus, MRT and ferry for just HK$2 which is less than Singapore 35cents to encourage the elderly to have a fruitful and active life for retirement

in SG

in HK

the medical services is nearly free even if got a kidney transplant each day you stay in the public hospital you only HK$100 or something like that

in Singapore

the medical bill even for the poorest, the sky is the limit, you can even pay by installment up to 30years

In short,

please do kindly appreciate that is to highlight that our country should do more for our elderly

SG bus and MRT for senior citizens now whole day 69cents alr. u still sleeping?

compare to less than 35cents

Cannot compare lah. HK don't have ministers who earn millions every year -_-

You never listen to garment all these years? GDP come from foreigners lor, singaporeans no use one.

Cannot compare lah. HK don't have ministers who earn millions every year -_-

try not to be political

otherwise i may kena ban

anyway George yeo (singaporean) now is an advisor to the HK administration

isnt there a conflict of interest especially when he still a member of a political party

strange

You never listen to garment all these years? GDP come from foreigners lor, singaporeans no use one.

that is what they say

but who built the foundation

those who built the foundation did not enjoy the fruits of their labour

neither did most of their children

try not to be political

otherwise i may kena ban

anyway George yeo (singaporean) now is an advisor to the HK administration

isnt there a conflict of interest especially when he still a member of a political party

strange

George yeo no longer in PAP mah. So he is free to do anything he wants.

I do support the HK govt for giving 生果金 to the elderly. Would be good if our gahmen can do the same too for their contribution. Then again, our miserly minister will come out and say how this will strain the coffers.

No need to think so much. Singapore is NOT a welfare state. Not in the past, not now and definitely not going to be in the future.

in HK

in singapore

in HK

in SG

in HK

in Singapore

In short,

Hi SCB

LOL [laugh]

in HK the streets & flats look like slums from some 3rd world, the road lanes are nearly mirror cap to cap that narrow, the wkend crowds at shops are ridiculously packed, lastly HK not independent they are CN's owned

Edited by Wormvirus

George yeo no longer in PAP mah. So he is free to do anything he wants.

I do support the HK govt for giving 生果金 to the elderly. Would be good if our gahmen can do the same too for their contribution. Then again, our miserly minister will come out and say how this will strain the coffers.

No need to think so much. Singapore is NOT a welfare state. Not in the past, not now and definitely not going to be in the future.

sorry you are wrong

he is still a member of PAP - go read the news

this is not a about being a welfare state

then with your reasoning

we should not be getting GST rebate and all

in HK the streets & flats look like slums from some 3rd world, the road lanes are nearly mirror cap to cap that narrow, the wkend crowds at shops are ridiculously packed, lastly HK not independent they are CN's owned

yes agree with you but depends on where you go

this adds colour to the city

weekend are crowded and are ridiculously packed

you mean Singapore isnt

their MTR (our equivalent to MRT) are more frequent

let me give you an example

about cost

i bought a lexus LS430 in Singapore and it is about 2-3x times for the same Lexus430 i have in HK

maintenance is in reality cheaper than in Singapore when you factor in COE, ERP and etc

roads are crowded in both cities

have you tried driving along PIE from the airport at night (even at 9pm) it is still crowded with cars

basically I am not saying HK is better than Singapore

but just trying to say we can do better especially with our GIC and Temasek doing so well

no funds in the world can beat them in returns

average abut 14-17% return since conception

if that is the case

why not share it with the people

spend realistically on infra-structure such as transportation and not just zooming on profitable routes and axing unprofitable routes

encourage culture

you know most places of interest such as museum cost hardly anything for entry in HK but cost an arm and a leg in Singapore

eg in SG - Asia Civilisation Museum

for a family of 4 goes to visit - ???? $$

in HK - Culture Museum - many more things to see

adults entry fee is about Singapore $2 only

please dont go on a defensive about Singapore

nobody is saying it is bad

but just hope that with an the time being first in many things

cant we start to focus on the people

soon entry to all museums will be free for sporean and pr ... this is long overdue !

garden by the bay

killer price to see artificial garden

i cant imagine what our tax-payers are paying

for air-conditioning the entire dome 24/7

electric bill - tua ki

sorry you are wrong

he is still a member of PAP - go read the news

this is not a about being a welfare state

then with your reasoning

we should not be getting GST rebate and all

GST rebate is not welfare. It's just a way for our gahmen to make themselves look good for implementing a permanent policy that will hurt everyone's pocket. What good is a one or two time rebate?

Hmmm u know hk is ex in what when come to car?????

Car park rent and buy

Iirc got areas up to millions hkd when buy the lot at prime areas

Pple even treat as investment