Sturtles 6th Gear December 13, 2014 Share December 13, 2014 (edited) If we have more driver like u, think our country will have a better tomorrow... I ever kena block by car on 2nd lane, took me around 30 over seconds to filter out. Most driver saw me turning on my signal and immediately closeup the gap, once 1 car willing to give way. KNS Some might think that 30 seconds is nothing, but just imagine, if 1 car take 30 seconds to filter, 30 cars means 15 mins wasted and this 15 mins could be the killer! Not only we should give ways to ambulance, but also give way those cars that try to filter out for the ambulance to move faster. Definitely agree! In fact, I would go as far as saying, we should let faster cars behind us pass, by filtering out, or giving way. We would not know what is the situation leading to them speed, where it could be a chiongster testing the new speed cams, or a person with diahorrea, wife delivering, or even seeing a loved one for the last time. We are not able to fairly judge their actions, so it is plain wilful to block them by hogging the fast lane Edited December 13, 2014 by Sturtles ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyeron 4th Gear December 13, 2014 Share December 13, 2014 Consequences of blocking ambulance = Jail, if proven in court. Then see if people still dare to block Ambulance. It is completely ridiculous even to discuss if one should give way to ambulance or not...doh! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear December 13, 2014 Share December 13, 2014 Just back from CTE to town, a TP Volvo with siren on n blinkers. Coming fast behind me 200m away i start to keep left and everyone did the same for this Volvo. Is it bcos TP got the power to summon driver if dun give way? Can see taxi drivers also quickly keep left. Less than 2 mins i lost sight of the volvo. I find that most vehicles on the road do give way to emergency vehicles. It is that one idiot that screws it all up wastes precious minutes. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
keanie Turbocharged December 13, 2014 Share December 13, 2014 Amidst of these real or fake ambulance, I regrettably encountered a not so good experience with a private ambulance some years back. I remembered it's in AMK near YCK mrt station. I was behind a private ambulance, speeding with sirens on and honking a car in front. I thought must be some serious emergency until I realised the ambulance turned into the carpark I was going to, switched off it's siren and engine and the driver and his partner came out and slowly walked to the hawker centre queuing up the stores. Clearly he is abusing his siren. I was angry for a moment and too bad video cam was not popular that time else I just put up online. But having encountered that doesn't mean I go around boycottImg and blocking ambulances. It's all about ethics Obviously, this ambulance is abusing his power but we should not let some of these black sheeps affecting us by not giving way to ambulance on emergency runs. It was reported in paper quite some time when an ambulance on emergency run will switch on it's siren to alert motorists to give way. Understand that ambulances are also installed with cameras to take photo of motorist for not giving way. I always make it a habit to give way to give to ambulance whether it siren is on or not. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 13, 2014 Share December 13, 2014 Obviously, this ambulance is abusing his power but we should not let some of these black sheeps affecting us by not giving way to ambulance on emergency runs. It was reported in paper quite some time when an ambulance on emergency run will switch on it's siren to alert motorists to give way. Understand that ambulances are also installed with cameras to take photo of motorist for not giving way. I always make it a habit to give way to give to ambulance whether it siren is on or not. yup.... everyone should have the mentality of rather play out by 10 black sheeps, rather than causing a single death of a victim just because we are in doubt.... when any emergency vehicle need us to give way, try our best. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged December 14, 2014 Share December 14, 2014 Amidst of these real or fake ambulance, I regrettably encountered a not so good experience with a private ambulance some years back. I remembered it's in AMK near YCK mrt station. I was behind a private ambulance, speeding with sirens on and honking a car in front. I thought must be some serious emergency until I realised the ambulance turned into the carpark I was going to, switched off it's siren and engine and the driver and his partner came out and slowly walked to the hawker centre queuing up the stores. Clearly he is abusing his siren. I was angry for a moment and too bad video cam was not popular that time else I just put up online. But having encountered that doesn't mean I go around boycottImg and blocking ambulances. It's all about ethics But you never know. It could be that their message was cancelled at the last minute when they were nearby the hawker ctr.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naimed 5th Gear December 14, 2014 Share December 14, 2014 Don't understand Thai but the video is straightforward. Be considerate, that 1 or 2 metres mean a lot to someone else... 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear December 14, 2014 Share December 14, 2014 Don't understand Thai but the video is straightforward. Be considerate, that 1 or 2 metres mean a lot to someone else... Was watching a documentary from CNA just now. Apparently, most, if not all, of Thai's ambulance services are done by volunteers! The large pool scatters round many locations, providing near-first-second response to distress calls. Cheers to these volunteers! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged December 14, 2014 Share December 14, 2014 i think most of them have yet to experience their love one laid in an ambulance. however, i believe they will sooner or later and i hope they are there with the ambulance to witness others not giving way. Looks like giving way even to emergency vehicle can burn pple ego too. even need to discuss what if only lights on. knnccb. I rode in an ambulance before...................as a patient. An idiot driver ran red light, causing me to crash into him despite my swerving and braking efforts. I suffered whiplash and thought I was going to die, as breathing was labourous, every movement of the stretcher I was strapped on caused more pain in my chest and neck. Bad enough, suffering like that. Scarier was the sound of the siren, sounded like death knell to me. From this bad experience, I hope all drivers would automatically make way for ambulances so that there's minimal deployment of the sirens, which I'm sure, causes more anxiety to the patient and loved ones. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear December 14, 2014 Share December 14, 2014 Bro, thanks for sharing. hope all can be a better driver in SG. I rode in an ambulance before...................as a patient.An idiot driver ran red light, causing me to crash into him despite my swerving and braking efforts.I suffered whiplash and thought I was going to die, as breathing was labourous, every movement of the stretcher I was strapped on caused more pain in my chest and neck.Bad enough, suffering like that. Scarier was the sound of the siren, sounded like death knell to me.From this bad experience, I hope all drivers would automatically make way for ambulances so that there's minimal deployment of the sirens, which I'm sure, causes more anxiety to the patient and loved ones. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 Ya, should kantong 10 years and go jail for 2 weeks. Consequences of blocking ambulance = Jail, if proven in court. Then see if people still dare to block Ambulance. It is completely ridiculous even to discuss if one should give way to ambulance or not...doh! I always give them benefit of doubt. As long as blinkers on or siren or both, I will move aside. But siren is more useful because it catches my attention more than blinkers. When I hear sirens, I will start to look out for the ambulance and make way for it as necessary. Obviously, this ambulance is abusing his power but we should not let some of these black sheeps affecting us by not giving way to ambulance on emergency runs. It was reported in paper quite some time when an ambulance on emergency run will switch on it's siren to alert motorists to give way. Understand that ambulances are also installed with cameras to take photo of motorist for not giving way. I always make it a habit to give way to give to ambulance whether it siren is on or not. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 15, 2014 Share December 15, 2014 Don't understand Thai but the video is straightforward. Be considerate, that 1 or 2 metres mean a lot to someone else... I dedicate this video to all those road hoggers out there as well as those whom have defended the action of the Matrix ... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 Saw this on friend FB posting. We are quite similar to India also 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 I'm not the one who seems to keep finding reasons to cast doubts on ambulances. Real or fake ambulances??? Seriously? WTF? Then now, you insinuate they use the vehicle to da bao lunch??? When I come across such people whose minds are too dark and suspicious for any reason to be able to shine a light into, I'm not sure if this is an evolutionary trait or simply a result of our pressure-cooker, ruthless and materialistic society.Their thinking is rather similar to crackpot war veterans who think all Asians are Vietcongs or N.koreans out to rape and murder everybody they come across. Funnily enough, this trait seems more prominent in the middle-income demographic, than say compared to the higher income percentile or the less well-off. Quite sad really. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 (edited) I'm not the one who seems to keep finding reasons to cast doubts on ambulances. Real or fake ambulances??? Seriously? WTF? Then now, you insinuate they use the vehicle to da bao lunch??? In life you need to learn to trust people. if everyone thinks like you, very difficult to do things even for simple task leh. Plus you make yourself stress up, why so paranoid?? Yes , there will always be minority of black sheep around, that do not represent the majority of the community. Because of the minority of them and the majority of the community also get punished or treated like shit , or treated like they are also the black sheep, is it fair to them ? So summary, it's all about trust and have faith in the system. If everyone thinks like this, it will not be so stressful in the 1st place, nor we need to argue who is right or wrong, who has right of way etc. Everyone happy. Edited December 18, 2014 by Yewheng 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 In life you need to learn to trust people. if everyone thinks like you, very difficult to do things even for simple task leh. Plus you make yourself stress up, why so paranoid?? Yes , there will always be minority of black sheep around, that do not represent the majority of the community. Because of the minority of them and the majority of the community also get punished or treated like shit , or treated like they are also the black sheep, is it fair to them ? So summary, it's all about trust and have faith in the system. If everyone thinks like this, it will not be so stressful in the 1st place, nor we need to argue who is right or wrong, who has right of way etc. Everyone happy. Nicely summed up. Let's just accept that there these kinds of sad individuals who live in our society. They are free to choose how they want to react and feel. All about trust and if these isolated incidents affect how they think, so be it. WE can only do so much and our part to influence those around us. For the rest, the system will take care of them. One fine day, they will realise, and hopefully their personal stake is not compromised based on this value system they abide by. Peace and have a good rest of the year ahead. LEt's not let these beings ruffle our sanity. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syaheerbmw 3rd Gear December 19, 2014 Share December 19, 2014 (edited) Just to inform you guys who think that some Private Ambulances are scam.. Please bear in mind that: 1. Private Ambulances are also subjected to audits and are not allowed to use their emergency lights and sirens as and when they like. 2. SCDF currently have some private ambulance companies which are sub-contracted for Emergency 995 calls. This is to increase number of ambulances available during emergencies and they also turn out from SCDF stations/posts just like any SCDF ambulances. Some of the companies involved at the moment are Lentor Ambulance and UniStrong Ambulance services. Their ambulances do look different from the Mercedes ambulances SCDF uses but they have call signs starting with PA and with 3 digits after that denoting the station they belong to, just like SCDF ambulances which have callsigns A###. This is accurate information, and if you have any doubts, you can PM me. ;-) So, in any case, when there is any ambulance which turns on their sirens or lights, please just give way. It will not kill you to give way, but if you don't, it may kill someone. Edited December 19, 2014 by Syaheerbmw 11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged December 19, 2014 Share December 19, 2014 Anyway, I will not give way for "lights only" because it is clear that it is not an emergency (otherwise the sirens should be on). An ambulance is after all, just another vehicle on the street when there is no emergency. Bro, I won't agree with you on this point. I think blinkers or siren on or off, we should always give way to emergency vehicles. Those with off blinkers/siren might might getting back to their base to wait for another emergency call or to rest for the next call. We should not delay their journey back. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...