Remember to give way to Ambulance

Phluvcat

Amidst of these real or fake ambulance, I regrettably encountered a not so good experience with a private ambulance some years back.

I remembered it's in AMK near YCK mrt station. I was behind a private ambulance, speeding with sirens on and honking a car in front. I thought must be some serious emergency until I realised the ambulance turned into the carpark I was going to, switched off it's siren and engine and the driver and his partner came out and slowly walked to the hawker centre queuing up the stores.

Clearly he is abusing his siren. I was angry for a moment and too bad video cam was not popular that time else I just put up online.

But having encountered that doesn't mean I go around boycottImg and blocking ambulances.

It's all about ethics

guess these are the people that makes this private ambulance look bad.

Amidst of these real or fake ambulance, I regrettably encountered a not so good experience with a private ambulance some years back.

I remembered it's in AMK near YCK mrt station. I was behind a private ambulance, speeding with sirens on and honking a car in front. I thought must be some serious emergency until I realised the ambulance turned into the carpark I was going to, switched off it's siren and engine and the driver and his partner came out and slowly walked to the hawker centre queuing up the stores.

Clearly he is abusing his siren. I was angry for a moment and too bad video cam was not popular that time else I just put up online.

But having encountered that doesn't mean I go around boycottImg and blocking ambulances.

It's all about ethics

My colleague encounter the same thing. He called the private ambulance on the spot(in the carpark). Took photo of the ambulance with registration plate and shoot email, cc to his police division.

The private operator called my colleague to apologise for their staffs action.

Private ambulance driver quite jialat, most of the time they are dispatch, run errands, fetch workers from hostel, night shift one sometimes help out in the hospital [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

It's all about ethics

Can't deny such black sheep do exist, i have such encounter before. At the old estate i used to stay, there is this driver who drove private ambulance and he did the same thing, blaring siren when got blocked and i was following him all the way back to open car park where he park the ambulance and slowly stroll to his block... i still see the ambulance every now and then when i am back at the estate.

As long as I see a faster car behind me I will move left to give way.

I don't need to know if sending MIL to hospital or wife about to give birth

or driver has diarrhea and needs the toilet quick. I don't care, I will give way.

As long as I see a faster car behind me I will move left to give way.

I don't need to know if sending MIL to hospital or wife about to give birth

or driver has diarrhea and needs the toilet quick. I don't care, I will give way.

must give way faster than his bowel gives way, in this case.

Haha yeah, don't want him to mass up his car.

Many times I saw a car approaching fast on lane 1 and I move to the middle lane

and I check my right mirror and the car completely disappeared.

I then check left side and the car cut left to exit the highway.

Must be coming off the highway to find the nearest toilet.

Why would anyone gun it on lane 1 just to brake hard and cut left 3 lanes

to come off a highway unless they need the toilet real bad.

Edited by Jamesc

Just back from CTE to town, a TP Volvo with siren on n blinkers. Coming fast behind me 200m away i start to keep left and everyone did the same for this Volvo. Is it bcos TP got the power to summon driver if dun give way? Can see taxi drivers also quickly keep left. Less than 2 mins i lost sight of the volvo.

Maybe more people saw what could happen to one's reputation if they do not keep left to emergency vehicles.

Getting shamed online [grin]

Just back from CTE to town, a TP Volvo with siren on n blinkers. Coming fast behind me 200m away i start to keep left and everyone did the same for this Volvo. Is it bcos TP got the power to summon driver if dun give way? Can see taxi drivers also quickly keep left. Less than 2 mins i lost sight of the volvo.

People are scared they have to pay a fine.

People worry more about losing money

than someone's life in the balance in an ambulance.

Sad but true reflection on our society.

• Praise 10

Always give priority of way to ambulance, their job is to save lives and every second counts!

Drive safe everyone! :)

Here's one good deed that deserves a mention- [thumbsup]

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/get-inspired/good-job-to-private-ambulance-crew-who-stopped-by-accident-site-to-help-victim

Good job to private ambulance crew who stopped by accident site to help victim

Posted on 12 December 2014 | 1,826 views | 3 comments

Stomper Iqbal​ was heartened to see paramedics from a private ambulance stopping by to help a motorcyclist who had an accident last Friday (Dec 5).

According to him, the private ambulance was just passing by when the crew spotted the injured man along Upper Serangoon Road at 6.10pm.

He recounted:

"There was no one helping the vicitm.

"Civic ambulance was passing by, and stopped at the side of the road to help him out.

"I think it's very good of them. Good job!"

• Praise 12

It's all about ethics

Pragmatically, there are bad eggs around in every profession.

However even with slimmest chance when we give way, it might save a life, it is with gladness and a prayer I will give way to every emergency vehicle encountered

take with a pinch of salt. If really serious, should be in real ambulance rather than "fake" one.

did i read that its not a scdf ambulance???

just a simple question for you to ponder over - if it is not serious would you rather just dial-a-cab/drive by yourself or call for an ambulance?

TPTK. Almost everyone (including law abiding) see TP will miss a heartbeat.

Is the ambulance a SCDF one? Some drivers have such thinking that only must give way to those SCDF ambulance and not to those private ones...

normally if i am driving on 2nd lane and saw ER vehicle coming on 1st lane... i will slow down to create gap for vehicles on 1st lane to be able to change lane...

If we have more driver like u, think our country will have a better tomorrow... I ever kena block by car on 2nd lane, took me around 30 over seconds to filter out. Most driver saw me turning on my signal and immediately closeup the gap, once 1 car willing to give way. KNS

Some might think that 30 seconds is nothing, but just imagine, if 1 car take 30 seconds to filter, 30 cars means 15 mins wasted and this 15 mins could be the killer!

Not only we should give ways to ambulance, but also give way those cars that try to filter out for the ambulance to move faster.

i think most of them have yet to experience their love one laid in an ambulance. however, i believe they will sooner or later and i hope they are there with the ambulance to witness others not giving way.

Looks like giving way even to emergency vehicle can burn pple ego too. even need to discuss what if only lights on. knnccb.

From this thread you can see why there are still so many selfish people never give way to ambulance.

Edited by Earthboy