Remember to give way to Ambulance

Phluvcat

Legal answer seems to be no - according to post #240 at least.

Anyway, I will not give way for "lights only" because it is clear that it is not an emergency (otherwise the sirens should be on). An ambulance is after all, just another vehicle on the street when there is no emergency.

This is the statue extracted

Ambulance, fire engine, etc., to have right of way

12.(1) Any vehicle used as an ambulance, or as a fire engine or for military, police, civil defence or customs purposes shall, when on an urgent duty call, have the right of way over all other traffic if such vehicle makes known its approach by means of some distinctive siren, bell or multi-toned horn, as the case may be.

(2) All traffic shall on the approach of any such vehicle, draw in as close to the left-hand or right-hand edge of the roadway as possible and all vehicles shall be brought to a standstill to allow a clear passage for such vehicle.

(3) Such action shall only be required of traffic when the vehicle is giving its recognised audible warning.

(4) Paragraph (1) shall not relieve the driver of any vehicle used for the purposes mentioned in that paragraph of his liability under the provisions of any law relating to dangerous, rash or negligent driving.

Edited by Dafansu

Jus last nite on cte to sle ... 1 white lexus is250 blur like sotong... hv 1 ambulance with lights on, yet cant see. Duno rear mirror for wat? Or use to check nostrils?

Nowadays more private ambulance with lights on, day n night, do they get treated differently from scdf ambulance?

Of course I don't make that determination. The ambulance driver does when he decides not to turn on the siren.

An ambulance may be an "emergency vehicle" but when the siren is not on, there is no emergency so why should anyone give way?

For all you know, they dabao lunch back to base to makan.....

• Dislike 1

With so much publicity, the driver must be worrying dead [:(]

Many will file police report after viewing the video, can rest assured that the driver going to receive something for Christmas :D

With so much publicity, the driver must be worrying dead [:(]

Many will file police report after viewing the video, can rest assured that the driver going to receive something for Christmas :D

Ya... then the driver will have high blood pressure and maybe he needs to call an ambulance..

Then he will know first hand if the ambulance he is in, ganna slow down by vehicles....

Imo, emergency vehicles regardless of situation, siren or blinkers, just give way.

I don't want to dwell whether driver abusing or not. I just don't want my action to affect the mortality of the patient.

For those stubborn driver, another way of looking at it "Gosh, if saving someone is better than building a Pagoda, why not? A 5mins delay earn u a Pagoda, that sounds like a worthwhile thing to do"

Legal answer seems to be no - according to post #240 at least.

Anyway, I will not give way for "lights only" because it is clear that it is not an emergency (otherwise the sirens should be on). An ambulance is after all, just another vehicle on the street when there is no emergency.

Maybe the sirens broke down ....

Just give way lor ... even without siren can die meh....

I said this earlier and I will say this again.

Whenever they are ferrying patients, the blinkers will be on. It is not a full emergency in the sense that the patient is dying but then, why do you want to hold up the patient? Do you want to wait until the heart has stopped beating before the sirens are on and then you give way?

Another point. Ta Pao lunch. I agree that I have ta pao ed lunch when I was in the hospital after dropping of the patient. Why?

Because when the alarm goes off in the fire station, the rostered ambulance (next available ambulance) MUST depart the fire station within ONE MINUTE. The camera actually captures the time from the sound of the alarm to the time the ambulance leave the station.

This is crucial because if it was a cardiac arrest, a minute delay could mean life and death.

What this means is that if the paramedic was eating lunch at the fire station canteen, he has to discard his food, run all the way to the ambulance call area, get the report, ensure his crew is in the ambulance before setting off, all within one minute. The food is usually discarded because even if if it was a normal call, it would be about an hour before he returns to base and the food is cold. So sometimes they eat in the ambulance. No choice.

Personal experience? When I was on attachment with SCDF, the first time the alarm sounded it was so exciting. After the third alarm, I wanted to throw my shoe at the alarm. You see, the alarms sound very often so most of the time the ambulance are out on calls. Sometimes, we do not even return to the fire station for hours because the calls keep coming and even before we reached the fire station, or we reached but have not parked the vehicle (still entering) the next call has come.

So the next time you see a paramedic wolfing down food at the hospital, dun condemn him or STOMP him. Go up and thank him. It might be his only meal for the day and he works a twelve hour shift.

Whenever they are ferrying patients, the blinkers will be on. It is not a full emergency in the sense that the patient is dying but then, why do you want to hold up the patient? Do you want to wait until the heart has stopped beating before the sirens are on and then you give way?

Another point. Ta Pao lunch. I agree that I have ta pao ed lunch when I was in the hospital after dropping of the patient. Why?

Because when the alarm goes off in the fire station, the rostered ambulance (next available ambulance) MUST depart the fire station within ONE MINUTE. The camera actually captures the time from the sound of the alarm to the time the ambulance leave the station.

This is crucial because if it was a cardiac arrest, a minute delay could mean life and death.

What this means is that if the paramedic was eating lunch at the fire station canteen, he has to discard his food, run all the way to the ambulance call area, get the report, ensure his crew is in the ambulance before setting off, all within one minute. The food is usually discarded because even if if it was a normal call, it would be about an hour before he returns to base and the food is cold. So sometimes they eat in the ambulance. No choice.

Personal experience? When I was on attachment with SCDF, the first time the alarm sounded it was so exciting. After the third alarm, I wanted to throw my shoe at the alarm. You see, the alarms sound very often so most of the time the ambulance are out on calls. Sometimes, we do not even return to the fire station for hours because the calls keep coming and even before we reached the fire station, or we reached but have not parked the vehicle (still entering) the next call has come.

So the next time you see a paramedic wolfing down food at the hospital, dun condemn him or STOMP him. Go up and thank him. It might be his only meal for the day and he works a twelve hour shift.

• Praise 19

Thanks for sharing.

something i dunno.

Private ambulance is for non-emergency case right? In that case, the law should be changed so people don't need to give way since it is not an emergency vehicle but just a glorified transport for invalid patients.

In this case, was it shown that the driver blocked the ambulance in an emergency? Anyway, I would have just let the ambulance pass even if it were not an emergency.

Yoz bro.... there is no such thing as private ambulance is for non emergency... do you know that in some run or sport events... many involved in the standby medic are private ambulance...

so if a runner suffer cardiac arrest... and the private ambulance is taking the patient... so people will take it as non emergency?

Please practice consideration... like what you said... give way regardless private or not...

Time to buy TOTO HUAT AH!

good news. i can confirm this matrix driver is really as a**hole. look who went past me across the double white lines because he couldnt wait his turn to move forward. he overtook a few cars by going into the oncoming traffic lane and went past me.

Yoz bro.... there is no such thing as private ambulance is for non emergency... do you know that in some run or sport events... many involved in the standby medic are private ambulance...

so if a runner suffer cardiac arrest... and the private ambulance is taking the patient... so people will take it as non emergency?

Please practice consideration... like what you said... give way regardless private or not...

Valid point bro.

But deep down inside, some people will always find reason to justifiy/ self justifiy not giving way to ambulances / any other vehicles for strange reasons.

Time to buy TOTO HUAT AH!

so heng le. i didnt get a chance to see what kind of driver though.

old/young/guy/lady etc. oh well~!

good news. i can confirm this matrix driver is really as a**hole. look who went past me across the double white lines because he couldnt wait his turn to move forward. he overtook a few cars by going into the oncoming traffic lane and went past me.

Should send this in to TP. Help him lose his license even faster. lol.

He will get whats coming to him. Least I hope the authorities will pass down appropriate judgement

so heng le. i didnt get a chance to see what kind of driver though.

old/young/guy/lady etc. oh well~!