Remember to give way to Ambulance

Phluvcat

Road hoggers are like that. They do not care about other motorists that are behind them forcing others to drive according to their style. They just care about themselves and forgotten public roads are shared. This one same mentality, these drivers will tell themselves that they are keeping to the road limit. Why must give way ? You wanna go fast, then overtake from the left la.

Simply selfish.

Have to agreed.

some hoggers just die die wont go to the empty lane in the middle.

To them, as long they are in the speed limit, hack care what the rest r doing.

They r oblivious to surrounding and live in their small selfish world.

If got part time traffic police, i sure go and take and just summon those idiots hoggers

Have to agreed.

some hoggers just die die wont go to the empty lane in the middle.

To them, as long they are in the speed limit, hack care what the rest r doing.

They r oblivious to surrounding and live in their small selfish world.

If got part time traffic police, i sure go and take and just summon those idiots hoggers

Got lah. Join the VSC - Volunteer Special Constabulary!

I second to this bro posting. I have experienced before i was having a very bad food poison n fainted just outside a GP clinic. GP called a ambulance and I was inside it. I can hear that siren was not on. But half way thru, the medic shouted to driver " No Pulse" and i still can hear that siren was on and chiong. I thinking "Hong Gan" liao. I must be gone liao bcos i heard NO PULSE but i still can hear siren. End up in TTSH ER room i woke up, and the medic came to say sorry to me. Bcos both of them wack 4 IV into my hands n legs during the journey bcos the pulse sensor on my finger drop and they saw no pulse reading from the machine! Kaoz no doubt i in pain and i just smile to them. Its ok, u doing yr job. I got alot of meat for u to do IV.

I believe the medic explained to you to assure u it was just a scare. If u really had no pulse they would have commenced CPR. As for the driver chionging, well put it this way. If the medic scream no pulse , the driver will chiong immediately. Even if it is a false alarm, the driver will not slow and relax because the adrenaline is now so high it is not easy to go back to the original state. Edited by Philipkee

This type of driver must really revoke the license. Only when we weed out the bad eggs then we can have good road manners.

Hope kena punish gao gao

Just one more additional point -

One subject that seems to come up regularly -

Should you give way for "only" lights ...

I dunno what is the legal answer, but in my mind - absolutely YES.

Also - As a side issue - I do think that "lane splitting" for emergency vehicles should be practised, but that's an issue for another day

Legal answer seems to be no - according to post #240 at least.

Anyway, I will not give way for "lights only" because it is clear that it is not an emergency (otherwise the sirens should be on). An ambulance is after all, just another vehicle on the street when there is no emergency.

• Dislike 4

Troll

Anyway, I will not give way for "lights only" because it is clear that it is not an emergency (otherwise the sirens should be on). An ambulance is after all, just another vehicle on the street when there is no emergency.

I believe the siren is not turned on for some operational reasons.

1. the siren noise may cause more anxiety/discomfort to the patient.

2. the siren noise may hamper clear communication between the medics, and maybe HQ.

3. the siren noise may hamper the monitoring of the patient and equipment.

An ambulance is an emergency vehicle, no matter its siren or lights or even high beam, you BETTER give way.

Its not up to you to determine is there an patient in that ambulance or is the patience in a rush to hospital or not, you just BLOODY GIVE WAY...

If anyone look closely, the matrix also have camera in car.

He might be thinking since I can record everything, I dont think I'm in the wrong.

This kind of people deserve to be removed from the road PERMANENTLY, no excuses no reason just a purely inconsiderate ars**le that dont give a F about others.

An ambulance is an emergency vehicle, no matter its siren or lights or even high beam, you BETTER give way.

Its not up to you to determine is there an patient in that ambulance or is the patience in a rush to hospital or not, you just BLOODY GIVE WAY...

This kind of people deserve to be removed from the road PERMANENTLY, no excuses no reason just a purely inconsiderate ars**le that dont give a F about others.

Of course I don't make that determination. The ambulance driver does when he decides not to turn on the siren.

An ambulance may be an "emergency vehicle" but when the siren is not on, there is no emergency so why should anyone give way?

• Dislike 2

Of course I don't make that determination. The ambulance driver does when he decides not to turn on the siren.

An ambulance may be an "emergency vehicle" but when the siren is not on, there is no emergency so why should anyone give way?

The big questions is what gives you the right to assume that an emergency vehicle with only blinking light on is not attending to an emergency?

You can probably not give way to an ambulance when there is no light and siren but it ever came across your mind that even if an ambulance is not attending to an emergency, the faster it goes back to the depot of the hospital, the faster it can be redeployed in case of an emergency?

Another scenario, a heart patient feel slight discomfort in chest, traveling to the hospital takes 20 mins if everyone give way, the ambulance driver didn't turn on the siren or light because the patient feels well enough, after travelling for 25 mins, suddenly the patient makes a turn for the worst, start to experience severe chest pain but because of people like you who refuse to give way to an ambulance that did not on siren and lighs, he is still 10 mins away from the hospital, ambulance turns on siren now, you give way, but... is it too late?

Is it so hard to signal left and give way?

Edited by whyuliddat

Don't like this say leh. The faster the emergency vehicle reach designation even if it is not for emergency, the better the vehicle could be utilised. I mean would the emergency vehicles be of better use to get stuck in traffic just because most people have the same mindset as you or to have more time slot to be utilised for uses that come up unexpectedly?

Just an example, 3 fire engine that is travelling back to fire station after putting off fire. These fire engine isnot in emergency, most drivers think like you and don't give way, get stuck in peak hour traffic. What if just so coincidence that the fire station that it is based just happened to be empty because another fire has occurred and the fire station is now empty with no fire engine. If it so happen that if another fire happened nearby that fire station location, the fire engine that get stuck in the traffic utilise efficiency will not be there. Maybe because this fire engine still need to go back to fire station to top up what has already been used to fight fire previously and thus no choice but to transfer to another fire station that is further away to attend. This is time wasted and inefficiency. So cannot be so selfish thinking only emergency then give way, even if in non emergency, try best to give way when possible, you will never know your actions ( okay many drivers actions ) can be of great help to free up time wasting on traffic .

Edited by Yewheng

It's on Stomp too...

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/driver-of-hyundai-sgf6850j-refuses-to-give-way-to-ambulance-carrying-breathless

Driver of Hyundai SGF6850J refuses to give way to ambulance carrying breathless woman -- and even jams on brakes

Posted on 11 December 2014 | 37,848 views | 55 comments

PHOTO: VIDEO SCREENSHOT

A Hyundai driver was seen blocking the way of an ambulance along the Pan Island Expressway even though other vehicles in front had already filtered out of the lane.

According to a report in The New Paper, the ambulance was rushing a 45-year-old woman who had difficulty breathing and the five-minute delay caused by the driver's refusal to give way may have resulted in the woman being warded in the ICU.

The video, uploaded by her son, showed the Hyundai driver's persistence in staying on the fast lane on the road despite the blaring sirens of the ambulance.

The driver is also seen jamming on his brakes a couple of times in the video.

• Praise 11