Donut Supercharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 My suggestion is to print "FINE $500. GIVE WAY" in reverse bold red text, on the front of all ambulances. Then motorists will wake up their bloody idea. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 And those driving on the middle lane should open up to give space for those on lane one too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 (edited) It was reported in the news the driver was fined $160 and docked 4 demerit points. SHould send this video to tp. The honda driver deserves something Edited May 15, 2013 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 i do give way to them. im saying those private ambulance (without patience onboard or any mission) are taking us motorist for a ride just becos they are ambulance and all motorist see them must give way when they are on the 1st lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 (edited) this morning, on clementi ave 6 toward AYE, an ambulance with siren on was rushing (probably towards NUH?)....most of us actually changed lanes to give way....(i was car no. 5 if u count ambulance as no. 1, and no. 2 to 6 all gave way)....but there was this stupid karang guni pickup (no. 7 in the lane) (piled high with cardboards n junk) who act blur n continued to drive slowly....i suspect the ambulance had to go around this pickup (couldn't see wat happened after i changed lane as the traffic picked up in my lane n i had to keep moving) Edited May 15, 2013 by Timex1441 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 i do give way to them. im saying those private ambulance (without patience onboard or any mission) are taking us motorist for a ride just becos they are ambulance and all motorist see them must give way when they are on the 1st lane. You sound like you are quite unhappy with those PTE ambulance, why not take your eyes off their number plate and you will be more relax, just treat it like any other cars. They wanna speed so be it, why so bother. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 Why should this be a dilemma for you? Once see see blinkng light, means must gives way. Regardless if on mission or not,we must assume the possibility of a life saving situation. This is what I wanted to say - giving way is so hard? You will lose so much time? Anytime I see Ambulance with lights on I automatically give way - I don't care if he "on mission" or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 i do give way to them. im saying those private ambulance (without patience onboard or any mission) are taking us motorist for a ride just becos they are ambulance and all motorist see them must give way when they are on the 1st lane. What does it matter? Do a cost / benefit for yourself. If he is not "on mission" and you gave way what have you lost? If he IS on mission, and you DON'T give way - what is lost? Think about it for a moment. Then also think about - what is the proportion of time they on-mission vs off - think about how often they can "cheat" Is it really worth it to play punk? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 Lane 2 was pretty crowded too, maybe that blue Airwave had difficulty in switching over? Infront of the blue airwave in lane 1 was very packed too, ambulance was caught in heavy traffic hours simply. Don't just judged the blue airwave just like that. PS: I am not that driver or relative/friend of the blue airwave :) So if you were in the ambulance and the car in front didn't give way, I am so happy you understand its not the car didn't want to give way but the difficulty in switching over, lane 1 is very packed anyway . . . Thank you for your kind understanding when it happens to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 16, 2013 Share May 16, 2013 Lane 2 was pretty crowded too, maybe that blue Airwave had difficulty in switching over? Infront of the blue airwave in lane 1 was very packed too, ambulance was caught in heavy traffic hours simply. Don't just judged the blue airwave just like that. PS: I am not that driver or relative/friend of the blue airwave :) that's a very square mentality. can't you filter at around 1/3 or 1/4 in-between lanes to allow the ambulance to squeeze through? driving a bus that die die must occupy in one whole lane? most cars' width don't take up the whole lane. watch the videos posted by some bros above to teach you how to do that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 Another one, not blocking the ambulance but tailgating it and driving on road shoulder for about a minute before switching to the middle lane. The road was jammed up in front thus the ambulance took the road shoulder and this bugger follow suit...dun think the merc driver is the family member of the person on the ambulance rite? https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151892605587031&set=vb.82024892030&type=2&theater Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 when see ambulance in lane 1, I just give way no matter blinkers on or not... who knows maybe their blinker spoil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 Wah very Hiong.... also tailgating the Umbulance.... Hope the TP see it and ticket him Another one, not blocking the ambulance but tailgating it and driving on road shoulder for about a minute before switching to the middle lane. The road was jammed up in front thus the ambulance took the road shoulder and this bugger follow suit...dun think the merc driver is the family member of the person on the ambulance rite? https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151892605587031&set=vb.82024892030&type=2&theater Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 Give way to ambulance more advantage to me as I can tail gate him since ppl clear the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 now even ambulance also got camera to stomp other driver [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 how to tell whether is the ambulance is in a emergency? Most of the time, ambulance tends to drive on the 1st lane (fast lane). They neither turn-on head lamp nor the siren. Very fustrating. When u give way to them, then u realise that they seems to be driving leisurely. Not kan chiong at all. I know the priority is to give way instantly when u see a ambulance behind yr rear mirror or when u hear the siren. I know they have every right to drive on 1st lane (private car no). But if they without any mission or patient onboard, they shouldnt be driving on the 1st lane to take advantage of motorist who give way to them. SCDF ambulance more on the ball. NO mission, they will not drive on 1st lane. it's those private ambulance (without mission or patient) that are hogging the 1st lane This is what I learn from my stint as emergency nurse. Ambulance 1) Blinker lights not on, no siren = No case 2) Blinker lights on, no siren = Either going to a place to pick up victim or case is not "full emergency" 3) Blinker lights on, siren on = either someone is blocking the road or "full emergency" 4) Blinker lights on, siren on and the ambulance stops at road shulder suddenly = defibrillation (shocking) is being delivered. Not full emergency = short of breath, giddiness Full emergency = Cardiac arrest or "standby cases" Since a "not full emergency case" can suddenly turn to "full emergency", all should give way to ambulances if they are on a mission. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 (edited) Very informative! Thanks for sharing. Owe u 5..... no bullets liao. Hehe Personally, will give way once one appears in my rear view mirror. Dun want the burden of wondering whether those few seconds of hugging stubbornly to the current lane...oops, delay in lane switch may have saved a life per se. Safe ride Cheers Edited February 19, 2014 by PSP415 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged February 19, 2014 Share February 19, 2014 Last week also encounter 1 idiot tailgating the ambulance. Evryone giving ways to the ambulance and yet this x5 squeeze in.between cars to follow the ambulance. Knn i almost bang into the x5 I will go n search the video n upload it tonight if im able to find. I think the x5 no shd be EJthirtyfive ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...