Subaru Owners.. (Part 2)

PeterKang

My place to WS is about 6 km or so, so i will take a chance to drive it there. The coolant residue after 1 day (didn't drive today) seems to be something i saw before on engine bay.. wonder if that actually happened before. will drop by WS anyway. thanks.

just monitor it, once overheat the gaskets will crack.

hope its just a loose cap should be ok in awhile. :D

Today, drove about 1 km and radi leak like fountain [dizzy] . Lucky WS close enough and get radi replaced. Quoted about 650, but eventually i got my own radi part and total damage was like 450..

650 for replacing standard radiator considered market rate? or tiok chop?

Mine 07 GD, replaced with a oem.

Koyorad radiator $260

Labour $60(Got a couple of things changed so not exact labour cost)

Coolant $35(Can bring your own coolant)

So roughly it will be around $300.

Edited by Pms

Mine 07 GD, replaced with a oem.

Koyorad radiator $260

Labour $60(Got a couple of things changed so not exact labour cost)

Coolant $35(Can bring your own coolant)

So roughly it will be around $300.

only half from the quoted price. i will need to source around for WS then..thanks for sharing.

Lai liao lai liao!

Can get to see it tomorrow before I fly off!

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/subaru-wrx-set-singapore-bow-163803996.html

subaru-wrx-0114-de.jpg

Same price as BRZ!!!

only half from the quoted price. i will need to source around for WS then..thanks for sharing.

Your $650 is original?

I paid $660 for original including labour plus some minor replacement parts.

I think Subaru quite jialat leh. One generation after the Evo X, the current STi is still behind in terms of the tech (compared to the X)

Your $650 is original?

I paid $660 for original including labour plus some minor replacement parts.

Paid total about 450 bringing own parts fm stockist, yes its original.

nice

If 08 NA model, it should not have this.
My knowledge not very good, but I usually see this with turbo charged cars. Maybe I'm wrong.
If is 08 model, the setup should be similar to Peter's image, Legacy air intake towards the front. No wires.

This should be the Impreza 07 NA engine bay layout:
2007-subaru-impreza-9w.jpg

This is 08 Impreza NA engine bay layout:
engine.jpg

3rd Gear

Anyone got end of life stock/spoilt GD chassis/Hawkeye 5x100 shocks to donate?

Is there any way to enable chirping/horning when you lock/unlock the door on a 2010 Impreza? My dad went to install an after market central lock what chirps when you lock/unlock as he was having trouble finding where the car was parked without it.

Any Body having the said issue as mentioned below for 2014 Forester XT:

From China Suburu forum

2013/06月牽的XTP車主,至2014/04月更新082版ECU之前,
大腳加速瞬間產生的短暫急促"答答聲"伴隨動力喪失的情況,約莫出現了三次,
從第一次出現後就不太敢大腳加速了(自我安慰當做是國產小馬力車在開就好 T_T)。

I personally facing such issue when using 'I' mode when travelling along highway of speed 60~70km/h,

the "Tak,Tak" sound start appear when i accelerate hard for overtaking and the car will start to pulled back like engine lag problem and then move on again [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Any Body having the said issue as mentioned below for 2014 Forester XT:

From China Suburu forum

2013/06月牽的XTP車主,至2014/04月更新082版ECU之前,

大腳加速瞬間產生的短暫急促"答答聲"伴隨動力喪失的情況,約莫出現了三次,

從第一次出現後就不太敢大腳加速了(自我安慰當做是國產小馬力車在開就好 T_T)。

I personally facing such issue when using 'I' mode when travelling along highway of speed 60~70km/h,

the "Tak,Tak" sound start appear when i accelerate hard for overtaking and the car will start to pulled back like engine lag problem and then move on again [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Most likely it's the wastegate opening and closing to regulate the amount of exhaust gas passing thru the turbo and limiting the compression boost. The Intelligent mode is the supposedly the eco mode, right?

Better to go watch in Youtube to see how a turbo wastegate works.

What you heard is probably the wastegate controlled flap that opens and closes to regulate the exhaust gas.

Hi bros,

Anyone got a used set of ts 1.6 06/07 model suspension to clear

Or knows where to get a set as mine gng chui Liao.

Original should be able to get from Ubi but wonder any after mkt brands for Subaru

And difference in price n handling

TIA

Hi bros,

Anyone got a used set of ts 1.6 06/07 model suspension to clear

Or knows where to get a set as mine gng chui Liao.

Original should be able to get from Ubi but wonder any after mkt brands for Subaru

And difference in price n handling

TIA

U can check in the Subaru forum, many guys are selling their aftermarket suspension, WRX certain models should fit also.

Hi Watwheels,

Thank for the info and hope that the problems is wat you mentioned the wastegate issue.

Cos reading the Subaru forum from China ,the said defect is quite happening there,and quite a number of drivers have commented the same problem and sent in to agent to repair ,like re-tune the ECU ( From 081 version to 082 ) etc

Quite concern of this issue

http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=336&t=3946920&last=50774658