StefanK Supercharged March 7, 2014 Share March 7, 2014 depends on what accessories are you looking at....... most of the shops selling are more common for most car models, if you are driving the newer SH model lesser, if driving SG9 or SG5 some of the bros are dekitting now, can check at the forum for parts to kit up... i using the stock one for 07 forester also, damn lousy leh..... but can you integrate the steering controls for the new HU?? Yap. It comes with the wires to "jiap" to the steering controls. Except mute button not working... If got money, you can try the Pioneer, but I think the Alpine is impressive enough and I am only using stock speakers. Can anyone share the maintenance for forester 2.5XT? never owned a car with turbo before. Actually i'm not so much attracted to the bhp it's just that the cars with more air bags, sunroof, features just happened to be turbo in my shortlist. the other car is mazda cx-7 though. maintenance should be quite standard, oil change including the redline oil. other than that nothing special. should be the same as CX-7 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UP2013 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Left 10l of petrol when the orange light is on. So far i never see red. The lowest i went was about 4l left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Yap. It comes with the wires to "jiap" to the steering controls. Except mute button not working... If got money, you can try the Pioneer, but I think the Alpine is impressive enough and I am only using stock speakers. maintenance should be quite standard, oil change including the redline oil. other than that nothing special. should be the same as CX-7 like that i think i change my speakers only can liow, saw some of the bros foresters change speakers already better than mine alot. mine the volume like very soft and not able to hear the radio when i am going at around 85km/h.... to me subaru turbo cars wear and tear parts are generally higher than others as its more harsh on the engine i feel, had changed alot of parts over the 1 year 3 months i had own it, but if you keep it well it will still be ok. same as a V-twin motorcycle, if you love the V-twin engine note, u will also like the boxer note. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 like that i think i change my speakers only can liow, saw some of the bros foresters change speakers already better than mine alot. mine the volume like very soft and not able to hear the radio when i am going at around 85km/h.... to me subaru turbo cars wear and tear parts are generally higher than others as its more harsh on the engine i feel, had changed alot of parts over the 1 year 3 months i had own it, but if you keep it well it will still be ok. same as a V-twin motorcycle, if you love the V-twin engine note, u will also like the boxer note. Speakers you change got cheaper than HU boh? wait you kena hypnotise and install those si bei high end one, add amp add woofer somemore! Mine last time 80km/h up down also difficult to hear, especially on Tuas roads, but now, I hear nothing outside... which scares me... I think wear and tear more on driver lah... we like to "torture" our scoobies haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Mine last time 80km/h up down also difficult to hear, especially on Tuas roads, but now, I hear nothing outside... which scares me... I think wear and tear more on driver lah... we like to "torture" our scoobies haha Good ma, no meh? And yes, scoobies are meant to be tortured. Truer words have never been spoken on MCF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 Good ma, no meh? And yes, scoobies are meant to be tortured. Truer words have never been spoken on MCF. no good. cannot hear cars and bikes beside me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear March 8, 2014 Share March 8, 2014 (edited) no good. cannot hear cars and bikes beside me. I can only hear EVOs/Scoobies/Vtecs/V6,V8,V10,V12s hahaha. Anything else, my ear will auto block out, especially the fart cans from m'sia Wah biang ehh bro, 2am liao still not sleeping ah? Edited March 8, 2014 by Hotshot85 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 I can only hear EVOs/Scoobies/Vtecs/V6,V8,V10,V12s hahaha. Anything else, my ear will auto block out, especially the fart cans from m'sia Wah biang ehh bro, 2am liao still not sleeping ah? Cannot lah... i scared cannot see them. Can hear them still as good as seeing them. Maybe that's why those J-plate bikes put loud exhaust! I Sleepless in Singapore leh... you say me you also! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 no good. cannot hear cars and bikes beside me. hahaha of coz must be cheaper.....i think about 150 to 200 can get a pair of cheap from speakers, not willing to spend so much on my scoobie as left 3 1/2 years only........ i think my exhaust too loud already, thats why cannot hear.....but i think subarus got one of the lousiest soundproofing still. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 hahaha of coz must be cheaper.....i think about 150 to 200 can get a pair of cheap from speakers, not willing to spend so much on my scoobie as left 3 1/2 years only........ i think my exhaust too loud already, thats why cannot hear.....but i think subarus got one of the lousiest soundproofing still. i think if add good soundproofing, the FC will be si bei kan pua jia lat already. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear March 9, 2014 Share March 9, 2014 Cannot lah... i scared cannot see them. Can hear them still as good as seeing them. Maybe that's why those J-plate bikes put loud exhaust! I Sleepless in Singapore leh... you say me you also! Me different, I was at work hehe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 10, 2014 Share March 10, 2014 i think if add good soundproofing, the FC will be si bei kan pua jia lat already. yah heard that some soundproofing materials can weight up 80kg to 100 plus if a few layers....... my car already very heavy liow , and I also very heavy hahahahahhaa 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear March 14, 2014 Share March 14, 2014 Subaru and mitsubishi intentionally use minimal soundproofing to mimick the rally feel. Saw an episode of westcoastcustoms ice-ing one evo & one rex. Alot of work soundproofing. I never ice but did some handling/suspension upgrades. That already increase NVH alot with the stock proofing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raritiescarlover 1st Gear March 19, 2014 Share March 19, 2014 Hi and your helpful information is excellent for us there.Thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyeron 4th Gear April 14, 2014 Share April 14, 2014 (edited) Hi Fella Scooby, Yesterday, when I opened my car hood i found coolant spillage all over the place. Completely surprised! There was no sign or sound from it.. considered lucky as I would regularly open hood to check if there is any leakage. Riding an Impreza GE '09. All I can understand is that my radi failed and most probably need a replacement. Before I jump into own conclusion I wanted to get some opinions from Scooby experts here. 1. The plan is to get radi fm stockist and get it installed in WS, but wondering if generally WS would accept customer bringing their own parts? Can recommend good reliable WS with decent price? 2. Did top-up coolant tank with tap water, wonder how far I can drive to avoid engine overheat..(my panel does not have C - H indicator, just a blue light if engine cool). Appreciate for any advise given, thanks! Edited April 14, 2014 by Vyeron Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear April 14, 2014 Share April 14, 2014 Hi Fella Scooby, Yesterday, when I opened my car hood i found coolant spillage all over the place. Completely surprised! There was no sign or sound from it.. considered lucky as I would regularly open hood to check if there is any leakage. Riding an Impreza GE '09. All I can understand is that my radi failed and most probably need a replacement. Before I jump into own conclusion I wanted to get some opinions from Scooby experts here. 1. The plan is to get radi fm stockist and get it installed in WS, but wondering if generally WS would accept customer bringing their own parts? Can recommend good reliable WS with decent price? 2. Did top-up coolant tank with tap water, wonder how far I can drive to avoid engine overheat..(my panel does not have C - H indicator, just a blue light if engine cool). Appreciate for any advise given, thanks! Try not drive it anymore, get it tow to the workshop. mine forester that time had a leak which I did not notice till late and I tot its ok to drive and top-up water to drive to the workshop. in the end had a damage top gasket that need to be changed along with other parts. can try the pro-Subaru workshops and check their pricing before going down and some of the workshops may have used one after some of the owners upgrade. try to not carry on driving if possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear April 14, 2014 Share April 14, 2014 (edited) Hi Fella Scooby, Yesterday, when I opened my car hood i found coolant spillage all over the place. Completely surprised! There was no sign or sound from it.. considered lucky as I would regularly open hood to check if there is any leakage. Riding an Impreza GE '09. All I can understand is that my radi failed and most probably need a replacement. Before I jump into own conclusion I wanted to get some opinions from Scooby experts here. 1. The plan is to get radi fm stockist and get it installed in WS, but wondering if generally WS would accept customer bringing their own parts? Can recommend good reliable WS with decent price? 2. Did top-up coolant tank with tap water, wonder how far I can drive to avoid engine overheat..(my panel does not have C - H indicator, just a blue light if engine cool). Appreciate for any advise given, thanks! It happened to mine b4 but I think it was due to too much coolant. It spilled all over and created quite a puddle but after that the coolant level was still at full and no overheating or leakage detected. Till date everything still running fine. I would suggest that you bring to your workshop to check but don't replace it immediately. Unless you wanna mod and upgrade to aluminum rad....heh heh. But if you are worried that it might overheat then tow it over to workshop. You can call up both stockist and workshop to compare price but generally there is no surcharge on bringing your own stuff unless it is engine oil for some workshops. Edited April 14, 2014 by Elmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyeron 4th Gear April 14, 2014 Share April 14, 2014 Try not drive it anymore, get it tow to the workshop. mine forester that time had a leak which I did not notice till late and I tot its ok to drive and top-up water to drive to the workshop. in the end had a damage top gasket that need to be changed along with other parts. can try the pro-Subaru workshops and check their pricing before going down and some of the workshops may have used one after some of the owners upgrade. try to not carry on driving if possible. My place to WS is about 6 km or so, so i will take a chance to drive it there. The coolant residue after 1 day (didn't drive today) seems to be something i saw before on engine bay.. wonder if that actually happened before. will drop by WS anyway. thanks. It happened to mine b4 but I think it was due to too much coolant. It spilled all over and created quite a puddle but after that the coolant level was still at full and no overheating or leakage detected. Till date everything still running fine. I would suggest that you bring to your workshop to check but don't replace it immediately. Unless you wanna mod and upgrade to aluminum rad....heh heh. But if you are worried that it might overheat then tow it over to workshop. You can call up both stockist and workshop to compare price but generally there is no surcharge on bringing your own stuff unless it is engine oil for some workshops. i am not a modder.. so stock is perfect for me :) still thinking if my case same with yours.. my coolant level seems to be at the acceptable level (near max). still will drop by WS, scared of smokin engine ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...