StefanK Supercharged September 5, 2013 Share September 5, 2013 hmmm... dunno which well-known workshop you went to, but the one I went to charges $1K. I know there are others that charge around $800+. "Timing belt change" is just a convenient name. Other than the few belts, it also includes changing the water pump, tensioner, and some other peripherals like gaskets. Hmm... just out of curiosity... $1221.50 for timing belt and peripherals change, engine oil change, oil filter and air filter change, air con gas top up (which leaked 3 days later )... like that consider expensive? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged September 5, 2013 Share September 5, 2013 Dealer lar Buy new car oso have to get ins from agent ma same ;ar bo pian ... got bitter reasons ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear September 5, 2013 Share September 5, 2013 hahahahaahaaaa next round i gonna go down and ask for that price what they are gonna change for me. i think the usual belts are timing/aircon/power steering if there is plus water pump, if any bros got good price for forester plus let me know so that at least we get a rough gauge on how the prices are set. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boo_saa Neutral Newbie September 5, 2013 Share September 5, 2013 Bro Blueoldman. Good thing must share leh... me going to change soon. Can share which WS u change at .. 300+ is really good price.. buy u kopi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 5, 2013 Share September 5, 2013 hahahahaahaaaa next round i gonna go down and ask for that price what they are gonna change for me. i think the usual belts are timing/aircon/power steering if there is plus water pump, if any bros got good price for forester plus let me know so that at least we get a rough gauge on how the prices are set. The cheapest way is get all the parts from stockist n get a Ws to do labour Problem with pro scooby is they dun entertain bringing own parts That's y their price is 800-1500 They have to mark up on the parts as well No wrong about that imo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 5, 2013 Share September 5, 2013 Bro Blueoldman. Good thing must share leh... me going to change soon. Can share which WS u change at .. 300+ is really good price.. buy u kopi Beer oso no share Liao lo It's jus a matter of finding a non pro Ws that's willing to entertain you bring your own parts Y can't I share? No it's not like that, I used to pm too many bros add till recently When I go down to my Ws, it's always full house kns My shaft boot broke also no time change for me ar Really very sorry, you got to do your own homework bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 5, 2013 Share September 5, 2013 bo pian ... got bitter reasons ... Ai ya as long as you like the ride Why bother with that ONE time high premium rite Lower your ride n start cornering like ah siao That's what scooby is all about HAndling rocks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzsfv 5th Gear September 6, 2013 Share September 6, 2013 Hmm... just out of curiosity... $1221.50 for timing belt and peripherals change, engine oil change, oil filter and air filter change, air con gas top up (which leaked 3 days later )... like that consider expensive? Expensive. Like Bro BLueOLdman mentioned, there are many WS out there that does timing belt change. subaru cars are not like lambo or ferrari bro, not so complicated. For subaru cars be it WRX or TS, the full package parts for timing belt change is rough 300+(this include ORIGINAL water pump, about 4 to 5 belts can't remember, all the gasket and many many more), and labour estimated about 100 to 200 depending on WS. source around bro. oil change if bring own oil shd be ard 30-40 for labour,nothing more. Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged September 6, 2013 Share September 6, 2013 Expensive. Like Bro BLueOLdman mentioned, there are many WS out there that does timing belt change. subaru cars are not like lambo or ferrari bro, not so complicated. For subaru cars be it WRX or TS, the full package parts for timing belt change is rough 300+(this include ORIGINAL water pump, about 4 to 5 belts can't remember, all the gasket and many many more), and labour estimated about 100 to 200 depending on WS. source around bro. oil change if bring own oil shd be ard 30-40 for labour,nothing more. Hope this helps. Hmmm ok. Thanks for the info! The key i realised is to go stockists to buy the parts you need to replace. I think we need to put up a list of items to be changed for the major servicing milestones, so that noobs like me will know what to buy when we go to the stockists. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged September 6, 2013 Share September 6, 2013 Ai ya as long as you like the ride Why bother with that ONE time high premium rite Lower your ride n start cornering like ah siao That's what scooby is all about HAndling rocks actually i go for comfort more ... taking corners not my cup of tea ... i prefer running over road humps ... used to be able to do that with my previous sedan - at stock height - but now the scooby seems quite hard at the back ... when i go over hump, it will react with a pretty hard landing. btw, are the stock keys immobilizer keys ? i am thinking of changing to those aftermarket cheap alarms for that "oot oot" when we lock our cars ... :) and also auto lock when we step on the brakes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear September 6, 2013 Share September 6, 2013 actually i go for comfort more ... taking corners not my cup of tea ... i prefer running over road humps ... used to be able to do that with my previous sedan - at stock height - but now the scooby seems quite hard at the back ... when i go over hump, it will react with a pretty hard landing. btw, are the stock keys immobilizer keys ? i am thinking of changing to those aftermarket cheap alarms for that "oot oot" when we lock our cars ... :) and also auto lock when we step on the brakes. yup comes with immobilizer for my SG9 but replaced it with a 2way with remote start for it, all they need is to remove the chip from your key and put it in your car. I think I got the remote for 280 with installation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged September 6, 2013 Share September 6, 2013 anyone know the size of the stock speaker for the 07 impreza ? front and rear ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear September 6, 2013 Share September 6, 2013 Hmm... just out of curiosity... $1221.50 for timing belt and peripherals change, engine oil change, oil filter and air filter change, air con gas top up (which leaked 3 days later )... like that consider expensive? I think ok lah, especially if including price of engine oil... no comments on your air-con gas leak... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterKang Clutched September 8, 2013 Author Share September 8, 2013 anyone know the size of the stock speaker for the 07 impreza ? front and rear ? Bro , u interested in sound system ar ? :) Lol.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged September 9, 2013 Share September 9, 2013 Bro , u interested in sound system ar ? :) Lol.. no lar ... just that the current speakers machiam "lau-hong" liddat .... i removed my speakers from my previous car ... so wondering if can put them in the scooby or not. btw, for 2007 impreza, when the orange dot for the fuel gauge lights up, how much more fuel left ? will it still change to red as final warning ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear September 9, 2013 Share September 9, 2013 Left 10l of petrol when the orange light is on. So far i never see red. The lowest i went was about 4l left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 9, 2013 Share September 9, 2013 no lar ... just that the current speakers machiam "lau-hong" liddat .... i removed my speakers from my previous car ... so wondering if can put them in the scooby or not. btw, for 2007 impreza, when the orange dot for the fuel gauge lights up, how much more fuel left ? will it still change to red as final warning ? If I nb rem wrongly huh 1.5 yrs ago I wanted bring the entire ice over from lancer to ts The front size think is 5.5" rear is oval I gave up due to additional weight by woofer Ha ha Think only orange light only ba Once orange light up Left 50-100 man km ard 10 l like pms say Wagon full tank I get 380-400+ a bit the best if controlled driving After that I gave up " power " mode all the way else 3 2 1 mode not seems to react Subaru is for luuuuu n corner one la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PeterKang Clutched September 10, 2013 Author Share September 10, 2013 no lar ... just that the current speakers machiam "lau-hong" liddat .... i removed my speakers from my previous car ... so wondering if can put them in the scooby or not. btw, for 2007 impreza, when the orange dot for the fuel gauge lights up, how much more fuel left ? will it still change to red as final warning ? I also dunno what's the size of the stock speaker too. That time when I change speaker, I cut the door inner board because the speaker too big Liao ! Haha.. So far I never dare to try how much more can my ride tahan when the light pops out as I scare it'll die one in the middle of the rd. but the max I ever try was the lights pop up at Toh Guan where I was just abt to enter the expressway till I reach Macpherson rd Esso and the engine still running. That moment I cross my finger n pray hard it won't die off ! Haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...