Joseph22 Turbocharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 8:50 AM, Bavarian said: I studied their debate in details and all I can say is that their evaluation of each others character are spot on. :D I refrain from commenting.. dont want to involve in their lover spite ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 8:49 AM, Bavarian said: I won't be too sure about your 'tests' as there are too many variables. Yep. The other car belonging to my friend had extra 200+km mileage on the tires. My car also had an extra baby seat so the weight might be different as well. Plus my friend was about 20kg lighter than me at that time. Other than that we tried to keep the rest of the variables the same. Same model but different specs so his had ABS mine didn't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 (edited) On 3/18/2013 at 9:25 AM, Nzy said: Yep. The other car belonging to my friend had extra 200+km mileage on the tires. My car also had an extra baby seat so the weight might be different as well. Plus my friend was about 20kg lighter than me at that time. Other than that we tried to keep the rest of the variables the same. Same model but different specs so his had ABS mine didn't. your test got professional certification or not?? Edited March 18, 2013 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 9:28 AM, Joseph22 said: your test got professional certification or not?? Nope. I still remember why I did this test. Cuz there was another thread on MCF debating about ABS or no ABS also. lol. Just happened me and my friend driving the same model and both of us recently changed new tires. So just went out and tested lo. Just testing for fun but at least I consistently got the car without ABS to stop in a shorter distance ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 In simple words R u a pro? Btw hor same car same tyre Means different driver leh This one impt variance oso diff Liao Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/16/2013 at 6:19 AM, Nzy said: Must practice first before going out to drive. I practiced quite alot so now I know for my own car exactly when the wheels will lock up. So far for the past few times I had to ebrake never managed to lock the wheels. Before practicing every time I try to ebrake sure have smoke. yup, agree, everyone should practice to improve their skills... also, try the limit off their car, especially after changing new tyre. I always take opportunity to test my new tyre (after run in for 1K) on wet road during wee hours when there is no car behind... of course, Im not asking you all to drive at 180km/hr and ebrake... just a normal speed at 70km/hr and you will know the limit of your tyre/ brake... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 9:36 AM, SPT27 said: In simple words R u a pro? Btw hor same car same tyre Means different driver leh This one impt variance oso diff Liao Lol Actually driver different nvm ma. Cuz for the ABS car we wanted the ABS to kick in. Just slam as hard as possible on the brakes only. Any driver can do that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 9:40 AM, Nzy said: Actually driver different nvm ma. Cuz for the ABS car we wanted the ABS to kick in. Just slam as hard as possible on the brakes only. Any driver can do that. sorry, but with professional proof about abs. I cannot help but no to trust what u say about abs. Maybe, if u can show us the link of another professional that with proper testing proof other wise. Btw, on the wiki link. It mention that there is a 22% chance that on the gavel road that abs will have lesser stop distant even though its nornally the other way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 Haizzzzz....TS posted a pic of hoping to let all of us have a good laugh but now seems like the topic is raising temp and blood pressure instead........ [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 (edited) Skip to 2:00. It shows with ABS distance to stop is shorter. IMO, it depends on the car, the driver, and the speed on whether ABS can stop faster than without. Most important function of ABS is that the wheels doesn't lock up when you need to stop. Note that in the video above, a lot of times it shows that the car with ABS, driver drive the car away from obstacle instead of trying to stop before it. Without ABS, maybe you want to steer away also cannot. Edited March 18, 2013 by Nicholas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 10:52 AM, WTF said: Haizzzzz....TS posted a pic of hoping to let all of us have a good laugh but now seems like the topic is raising temp and blood pressure instead........ [shakehead] you think like us peace lover..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 11:07 AM, Hamburger said: you think like us peace lover..... also known as OT kings...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 (edited) Whether ABS allow a car to stop quicker or not, its also important to note the main idea is to prevent wheel lock, which is bad in about 90% of the time. When you drive downhill on a corner, if you locked your wheel, you car will go straight, instead of turning, & you may end up bottom of a hill, or cliff. I will never ever buy a car without ABS (& traction control for that matter). Edited March 18, 2013 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 Very simple, do 1000 times hard braking in the shortest distance possible on a car with ABS and on a car without ABS. do this continuously. see which car/driver give up first? :) or have a time lap downhill simpang pulai/tapah on a heavy rain night. (i place my bet on the car with ABS/TC) the important thing to note, you are not leaving things to fate or the driver's braking skills. because the computer will do the same thing right every single time! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 (edited) On 3/18/2013 at 10:49 AM, Joseph22 said: sorry, but with professional proof about abs. I cannot help but no to trust what u say about abs. Maybe, if u can show us the link of another professional that with proper testing proof other wise. Btw, on the wiki link. It mention that there is a 22% chance that on the gavel road that abs will have lesser stop distant even though its nornally the other way. just google braking distance without ABS and the first 2 pages already have many links to articles showing that no ABS can have shorter braking distance. Too many links to copy. Anyway it still depends on the driver. I also saw many links showing ABS have shorter braking distance because no ABS the wheels lock up. So it depends on the driver also. Edited March 18, 2013 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 18, 2013 Share March 18, 2013 (edited) On 3/18/2013 at 2:35 PM, Nzy said: just google braking distance without ABS and the first 2 pages already have many links to articles showing that no ABS can have shorter braking distance. Too many links to copy. Anyway it still depends on the driver. I also saw many links showing ABS have shorter braking distance becauseno ABS the wheels lock up. So it depends on the driver also. you dont have to post all the links. just need one or two that is certify by credible sources will do and since you say there is so many, i dont think its difficult. so far all the links i click in support what i had posted. \ On the wheel lock, isnt that what all this arguement is about? Also, i believe no amount of practice on conventional brake can make a normal human braking ability to be as constant as abs in the cases of emergency. dont forget, all it take is one mistake to lock the wheel. btw, if you look through neutral comment. they had mention, car with abs can also achieve the same short braking distant if they did not activate the ABS. Edited March 18, 2013 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 On 3/18/2013 at 3:57 PM, Joseph22 said: you dont have to post all the links. just need one or two that is certify by credible sources will do and since you say there is so many, i dont think its difficult. so far all the links i click in support what i had posted. \ On the wheel lock, isnt that what all this arguement is about? Also, i believe no amount of practice on conventional brake can make a normal human braking ability to be as constant as abs in the cases of emergency. dont forget, all it take is one mistake to lock the wheel. btw, if you look through neutral comment. they had mention, car with abs can also achieve the same short braking distant if they did not activate the ABS. http://www.sdt.com.au/safedrive-directory-ABSBRAKES.htm http://www.trackpedia.com/wiki/ABS http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/roadsafety/tp-tp13...s2_e-215.htm#is http://www.theautochannel.com/mania/behind...ss_wig_abs.html These few links show that no ABS can stop in a shorter distance. I also did mention if you don't activate the ABS in a car with ABS will get shorter stopping distance. I meant that cars without ABS can stop in a shorter distance if you don't let the wheels lock up. I did not say that the car with no ABS definitely stops in a shorter distance... I mentioned it is in my own car where I know the limits already. I did not choose to buy a car with no ABS. I bought my car in a rush cuz I heard COE was going to shoot up during the next bidding and it did. Did not do much research cuz I assumed all modern cars have ABS. Only after the first time I did an ebrake then I realise my car has no ABS. Thats when I started practicing and all these practice has prevented me from rear ending other cars already. I am not asking people to go out and get a car with no ABS cuz you will stop faster. I am just saying that it isn't always true that a car equipped with ABS will stop in a shorter distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 On 3/19/2013 at 1:30 AM, Nzy said: http://www.sdt.com.au/safedrive-directory-ABSBRAKES.htm http://www.trackpedia.com/wiki/ABS http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/roadsafety/tp-tp13...s2_e-215.htm#is http://www.theautochannel.com/mania/behind...ss_wig_abs.html These few links show that no ABS can stop in a shorter distance. I also did mention if you don't activate the ABS in a car with ABS will get shorter stopping distance. I meant that cars without ABS can stop in a shorter distance if you don't let the wheels lock up. I did not say that the car with no ABS definitely stops in a shorter distance... I mentioned it is in my own car where I know the limits already. I did not choose to buy a car with no ABS. I bought my car in a rush cuz I heard COE was going to shoot up during the next bidding and it did. Did not do much research cuz I assumed all modern cars have ABS. Only after the first time I did an ebrake then I realise my car has no ABS. Thats when I started practicing and all these practice has prevented me from rear ending other cars already. I am not asking people to go out and get a car with no ABS cuz you will stop faster. I am just saying that it isn't always true that a car equipped with ABS will stop in a shorter distance. If i am capable enough, i can similarly brake till the extent that i dont activate ABS on my ABS enabled car. How does this brake distance compare to your brake distance on your car without ABS (which you have braked without locking up)? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...