Lala81 Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 he talk c--k only lah cos he rich and single seriously, u have 1 x kid, u need more than 450sq feet liao. toys, cot, stroller, steriliser, bottles, clothes, diapers, milk powder tins + place to hang laundry. I'm not even including the stuff that the kid will need past few years old. If you don't want your house to look like a HDB bomb shelter, 450sq feet my ass. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched March 15, 2013 Author Share March 15, 2013 he talk c--k only lah cos he rich and single seriously, u have 1 x kid, u need more than 450sq feet liao. toys, cot, stroller, steriliser, bottles, clothes, diapers, milk powder tins + place to hang laundry. I'm not even including the stuff that the kid will need past few years old. If you don't want your house to look like a HDB bomb shelter, 450sq feet my ass. true to a certain extend he is rich and single so whatever he does people think he is just experimenting but there are many apartments in HK with less than 450sq feet with an entire family of 4 living in it this is something i expect will happen to singapore sooner or later why in the past we never believe that we will have shoebox apartment in singapore now we have many Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 Single easy, in fact it is better. But with family , very difficult yeah. first thing that came to my mind too. if i were single and filthy rich, i would also be living a minimalistic life. cos i dun actually need so many things/ space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 true to a certain extend he is rich and single so whatever he does people think he is just experimenting but there are many apartments in HK with less than 450sq feet with an entire family of 4 living in it this is something i expect will happen to singapore sooner or later why in the past we never believe that we will have shoebox apartment in singapore now we have many Isn't there a national day song which goes "..... They said we couldn't..... But we did.... ". ..?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 (edited) he talk c--k only lah cos he rich and single seriously, u have 1 x kid, u need more than 450sq feet liao. toys, cot, stroller, steriliser, bottles, clothes, diapers, milk powder tins + place to hang laundry. I'm not even including the stuff that the kid will need past few years old. If you don't want your house to look like a HDB bomb shelter, 450sq feet my ass. Depends on the interior design of that house. Some are so well designed that they look really cosy and comfortable to live in. I have friends who stay in shoebox with his wife and a kid. No problem at all. He made good use of vertical space, and has a lot of "smart" compartments, like a study table that could turn into a single bed with a twist of a lever. The partition between his living and master bedroom is movable and motorised. Entire partition can be move forward or backwards depending whether he wants more space in the living or the master bdroom. Very cool. So it is possible with a kid, just need more thoughts in the interior design. Edited March 15, 2013 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 Just for reference, a 99 year 500 sq ft apartment in the west area of singapore will cost 800k-1mil today. and a 3k+ sqft freehold semi-d in the east is below 4m. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 but then it will 'cost' to have such interior built to save space. we see reports on some ah ma collecting thrash, they can have 4-room flat (1000 sq ft) but no space to walk Depends on the interior design of that house. Some are so well designed that they look really cosy and comfortable to live in. I have friends who stay in shoebox with his wife and a kid. No problem at all. He made good use of vertical space, and has a lot of "smart" compartments, like a study table that could turn into a single bed with a twist of a lever. The partition between his living and master bedroom is movable and motorised. Entire partition can be move forward or backwards depending whether he wants more space in the living or the master bdroom. Very cool. So it is possible with a kid, just need more thoughts in the interior design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 and a 3k+ sqft freehold semi-d in the east is below 4m. in the west also below 4m mah.. what you trying to proof?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 (edited) the cost of customising such an interior? vs just buying a normal cupboard and storage boxes from ikea. want to wash the house? Don't need 1 pail/mop? Got car? lagi best. need 2 pails. Want to cook for family of 3? Don't need a bigger fridge to save on grocery trips? Want to go overseas for whole family? don't need 1 x large luggage minimum? Vaccum cleaner? Not everyone can afford Roomba/Scooba. We don't live in temperate climate whereby 1 pair of jeans can wear for entire winter. And just need 1 x jacket. I'm all for reducing waste. Since my early 20s, i've minimised buying stuff which i think i won't use often. But even then some clutter is expected in a live in home. Sure can have fancy storage options. Oh but guess what. Every night before can pull down your bed, must clear the floor. Must constantly figure out where to squeeze in other bulky items. U have 1 x kid, the clothes which he/she outgrown can already stack up after few yrs. Give to salvation army? Sure, if u only plan to have 1 x kid. Get 2nd kid then buy again ar? So which is more wasteful. In the end, all these stuff are placed in storage boxes in their parent's place. If u've lived long enough, u realised some clutter is actually useful. We've reused quite a lot of things that we only re-discovered after some years in storage instead of buying. And that is actually reducing WASTE. Edited March 15, 2013 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 And constantly living with each other in close proximity is going to have pros and cons. Yes closer relationship, but also no privacy. Imagine being stuck in a 450 sq feet shoebox with your emo teenager Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 What's the big deal with living with a lot less space? Try living with a lot less money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 wife keeps asking me to buy a landed property - I insisted no. I don't see the need for such a big space for nothing. I'd rather buy a condo in a prime location than a landed. the maintenance and all.... just not my cup of tea. I also don't need a lot of things. In fact I concur with the author. Used to buy expensive and branded furniture and all...... nowadays just get whatever that works and looks nice in the house can already. BUt will still spend some money on design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched March 15, 2013 Author Share March 15, 2013 the cost of customising such an interior? vs just buying a normal cupboard and storage boxes from ikea. want to wash the house? Don't need 1 pail/mop? Got car? lagi best. need 2 pails. Want to cook for family of 3? Don't need a bigger fridge to save on grocery trips? Want to go overseas for whole family? don't need 1 x large luggage minimum? Vaccum cleaner? Not everyone can afford Roomba/Scooba. We don't live in temperate climate whereby 1 pair of jeans can wear for entire winter. And just need 1 x jacket. I'm all for reducing waste. Since my early 20s, i've minimised buying stuff which i think i won't use often. But even then some clutter is expected in a live in home. Sure can have fancy storage options. Oh but guess what. Every night before can pull down your bed, must clear the floor. Must constantly figure out where to squeeze in other bulky items. U have 1 x kid, the clothes which he/she outgrown can already stack up after few yrs. Give to salvation army? Sure, if u only plan to have 1 x kid. Get 2nd kid then buy again ar? So which is more wasteful. In the end, all these stuff are placed in storage boxes in their parent's place. If u've lived long enough, u realised some clutter is actually useful. We've reused quite a lot of things that we only re-discovered after some years in storage instead of buying. And that is actually reducing WASTE. you must be realistic some families do not have a choice of course if possible everybody wants to live in a bigger home as to clutter, it is unavoidable but if you are in position (normal person with normal IQ) that requires you to clear your clutter, soon or later you will clear the clutter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tungsl Clutched March 15, 2013 Author Share March 15, 2013 And constantly living with each other in close proximity is going to have pros and cons. Yes closer relationship, but also no privacy. Imagine being stuck in a 450 sq feet shoebox with your emo teenager dont judge or make value opinion based your disposable income and your perception for some having a roof over their head is already heaven (this being an extreme example) the bottom line is you cant accept it that does not mean others with little means cannot make a home or at least try to make a home out of it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 Just threw out tons of stuff from my house I've been staying in for 12 years. Unbelievable amount of junk we think we would use, or things bought we thought would be useful but ends up in a drawer or a corner of a cupboard somewhere. I think it's the human psyche of acquisition. Clothes, books and other re-usable stuff donated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 in the west also below 4m mah.. what you trying to proof?? link pls? remember 3k+sqft, freehold, semi-d, below $4m... essentially about $1k/sqft +/- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 not really talking c--k.. but rather.. got money talk anything also can.. no money forget it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 have a look at the video and tell if you think he is living less? or rather living less compared to who? he is living less than what HE used to have.. but can a normal middle income singaporean even afford his sort of apartment renovation and quality? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3T_RfJ6KPs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...