Living With Less. A Lot Less.

Tungsl

he talk c--k only lah cos he rich and single -_-

seriously, u have 1 x kid, u need more than 450sq feet liao.

toys, cot, stroller, steriliser, bottles, clothes, diapers, milk powder tins + place to hang laundry.

I'm not even including the stuff that the kid will need past few years old.

If you don't want your house to look like a HDB bomb shelter, 450sq feet my ass.

toys, cot, stroller, steriliser, bottles, clothes, diapers, milk powder tins + place to hang laundry.

If you don't want your house to look like a HDB bomb shelter, 450sq feet my ass.

true to a certain extend

he is rich and single

so whatever he does

people think he is just experimenting

but there are many apartments in HK with less than 450sq feet with an entire family of 4 living in it

this is something i expect will happen to singapore sooner or later

why

in the past we never believe that we will have shoebox apartment in singapore

now we have many

Single easy, in fact it is better.

But with family , very difficult

yeah. first thing that came to my mind too.

if i were single and filthy rich, i would also be living a minimalistic life.

cos i dun actually need so many things/ space.

true to a certain extend

he is rich and single

so whatever he does

people think he is just experimenting

but there are many apartments in HK with less than 450sq feet with an entire family of 4 living in it

this is something i expect will happen to singapore sooner or later

why

in the past we never believe that we will have shoebox apartment in singapore

now we have many

Isn't there a national day song which goes "..... They said we couldn't..... But we did.... ". ..?? :D

Depends on the interior design of that house. Some are so well designed that they look really cosy and comfortable to live in.

I have friends who stay in shoebox with his wife and a kid. No problem at all. He made good use of vertical space, and has a lot of "smart" compartments, like a study table that could turn into a single bed with a twist of a lever. The partition between his living and master bedroom is movable and motorised. Entire partition can be move forward or backwards depending whether he wants more space in the living or the master bdroom. Very cool.

So it is possible with a kid, just need more thoughts in the interior design.

Edited by Icedbs

Just for reference, a 99 year 500 sq ft apartment in the west area of singapore will cost 800k-1mil today.

and a 3k+ sqft freehold semi-d in the east is below 4m. [:)]

but then it will 'cost' to have such interior built to save space.

we see reports on some ah ma collecting thrash, they can have 4-room flat (1000 sq ft) but no space to walk [rolleyes]

Depends on the interior design of that house. Some are so well designed that they look really cosy and comfortable to live in.

I have friends who stay in shoebox with his wife and a kid. No problem at all. He made good use of vertical space, and has a lot of "smart" compartments, like a study table that could turn into a single bed with a twist of a lever. The partition between his living and master bedroom is movable and motorised. Entire partition can be move forward or backwards depending whether he wants more space in the living or the master bdroom. Very cool.

So it is possible with a kid, just need more thoughts in the interior design.

the cost of customising such an interior? ^_^ vs just buying a normal cupboard and storage boxes from ikea.

want to wash the house? Don't need 1 pail/mop? Got car? lagi best. need 2 pails.

Want to cook for family of 3? Don't need a bigger fridge to save on grocery trips?

Want to go overseas for whole family? don't need 1 x large luggage minimum?

Vaccum cleaner? Not everyone can afford Roomba/Scooba.

We don't live in temperate climate whereby 1 pair of jeans can wear for entire winter. And just need 1 x jacket.

I'm all for reducing waste. Since my early 20s, i've minimised buying stuff which i think i won't use often.

But even then some clutter is expected in a live in home.

Sure can have fancy storage options. Oh but guess what.

Every night before can pull down your bed, must clear the floor. Must constantly figure out where to squeeze in other bulky items.

U have 1 x kid, the clothes which he/she outgrown can already stack up after few yrs. Give to salvation army? Sure, if u only plan to have 1 x kid. Get 2nd kid then buy again ar? So which is more wasteful.

In the end, all these stuff are placed in storage boxes in their parent's place.

If u've lived long enough, u realised some clutter is actually useful. We've reused quite a lot of things that we only re-discovered after some years in storage instead of buying. And that is actually reducing WASTE.

And constantly living with each other in close proximity is going to have pros and cons.

Yes closer relationship, but also no privacy.

Imagine being stuck in a 450 sq feet shoebox with your emo teenager [laugh]

wife keeps asking me to buy a landed property - I insisted no.

I don't see the need for such a big space for nothing. I'd rather buy a condo in a prime location than a landed. the maintenance and all.... just not my cup of tea.

I also don't need a lot of things. In fact I concur with the author. Used to buy expensive and branded furniture and all...... nowadays just get whatever that works and looks nice in the house can already. BUt will still spend some money on design.

the cost of customising such an interior? ^_^ vs just buying a normal cupboard and storage boxes from ikea.

want to wash the house? Don't need 1 pail/mop? Got car? lagi best. need 2 pails.

Want to cook for family of 3? Don't need a bigger fridge to save on grocery trips?

Want to go overseas for whole family? don't need 1 x large luggage minimum?

Vaccum cleaner? Not everyone can afford Roomba/Scooba.

We don't live in temperate climate whereby 1 pair of jeans can wear for entire winter. And just need 1 x jacket.

I'm all for reducing waste. Since my early 20s, i've minimised buying stuff which i think i won't use often.

But even then some clutter is expected in a live in home.

Sure can have fancy storage options. Oh but guess what.

Every night before can pull down your bed, must clear the floor. Must constantly figure out where to squeeze in other bulky items.

U have 1 x kid, the clothes which he/she outgrown can already stack up after few yrs. Give to salvation army? Sure, if u only plan to have 1 x kid. Get 2nd kid then buy again ar? So which is more wasteful.

In the end, all these stuff are placed in storage boxes in their parent's place.

If u've lived long enough, u realised some clutter is actually useful. We've reused quite a lot of things that we only re-discovered after some years in storage instead of buying. And that is actually reducing WASTE.

you must be realistic

some families do not have a choice

of course if possible everybody wants to live in a bigger home

as to clutter, it is unavoidable

but if you are in position (normal person with normal IQ) that requires you to clear your clutter, soon or later you will clear the clutter

And constantly living with each other in close proximity is going to have pros and cons.

Yes closer relationship, but also no privacy.

Imagine being stuck in a 450 sq feet shoebox with your emo teenager [laugh]

dont judge or make value opinion

based your disposable income and your perception

for some having a roof over their head is already heaven (this being an extreme example)

the bottom line is

you cant accept it

that does not mean

others with little means

cannot make a home or at least try to make a home out of it

Just threw out tons of stuff from my house I've been staying in for 12 years. Unbelievable amount of junk we think we would use, or things bought we thought would be useful but ends up in a drawer or a corner of a cupboard somewhere. I think it's the human psyche of acquisition.

Clothes, books and other re-usable stuff donated.

in the west also below 4m mah..

what you trying to proof?? [lipsrsealed]

link pls?

remember 3k+sqft, freehold, semi-d, below $4m... essentially about $1k/sqft +/-

have a look at the video and tell if you think he is living less? or rather living less compared to who?

he is living less than what HE used to have.. but can a normal middle income singaporean even afford his sort of apartment renovation and quality?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O3T_RfJ6KPs