HP_Lee 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 Hey that is dangerous leh... What happens if the divorce was initiated by the guy to get rid of the foreign spouse, when he don't want her, and want to marry another woman ? That is always a risk in marrying a foreigner(Singaporean). The foreign spouse, just have to open eyes big big. Anyway PI is cheap to employ. I have heard, many younger generation of going for that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 This was aired yesterday. Drama when the filipino lady cried...... my take is no. this would lead to more entrants of bogus marriages and social issues. I say ship them back to where they came from. your views? Better than letting in totally no link people like what has been going on all these years. I agree with you in your risk assessment, but either way, a Singapore citizen "benefits". I'm all for that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 My friend is stuck in such a limbo. He met his Vietnamese wife while working here (she was then on one of the various foreign work permits). Fell in love, got married.. and found out he cannot apply BTO from HDB cos wife is foreigner holding LTVP. Ding dong ding dong to MP, ICA, HDB many many times over the past 2-3yrs.. still the same.. Migrate to Vietnam lor. Why waste time in this country? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 I give up.... Think how ever you want.... For some people, whatever the authority says is 100% correct. Not referring to anyone in particular. I'm sure this number is at least 45%. That's the figure to watch for in 2016 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 (edited) I am ok. As long as the sponsor for the foreign spouse is my fellow countrymen (Singapore Citizen) and I don't think this minority will affect Singapore. Others have to line-up. Edited March 13, 2013 by Renegade777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 then is same as current long stay visit pass or dependent pass..... different but u can enjoy the same benefit as singaporean as compared to long visit pass which cant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 But then Western/Northern Europe generally more "ang moh" size than the Eastern europe counterparts right? In Europe, I think only U.K women are big size, continental women are usually slim. I lived in U.K for a while, its easy to understand why with teh type of food they eat. Now, I live in Germany, & I will go as far as say most Singaporeans girl couldn't even fit into the pants the typical girls over here wear. Anyway, looking at the kids in Germany now remain me of my time when I was a kid almost 2 decades ago, when there are very few fat kids. These days I see so much obese kids in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 Let me relate one real incident. One of my company's driver, being not so highly educated earning less than 2k a month, fell in love with an admin lady from pinoy. This pinoy lady was here working on working permit. Being the case, they got married and have 2 kids. The work permit was terminated and the lady was sent back to philipines. Till date they are still apart, with my driver having to fly twice a year to see his kids and wife. Talk to MP or ICA all no use. The wife also cannot come over to Singapore for a visit. For his pay, he cannot apply for his wife as a dependant as he is not qualified perhaps wage scale was taken into consideration. So imagine, if one falls in love (which is something you cannot control), and is not highly qualified or with someone of lower pay or work permit, then they their fate is more or less doom. and here is an answer to ur friend once the foreigner taking up work permit, u wont be able to get PR, this is one of the recent rules of govt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 if its a female singaporean marrying a foreign man, he serves his NS first before getting his immediate PR. if its a male singaporean marrying a foreign female, she must stay for at least 2 years first with contributions to the nation before being eligible to apply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 back to topic, I think this rule is rediculous, you mean, if someone went oversea to work or on Holidays, & meet some one special & eventually want to marry her/him, she/he can't come back with the person to live in Singapore? & we are giving out EP & PR to our nighbours like gift vouchers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 (edited) back to topic, I think this rule is rediculous, you mean, if someone went oversea to work or on Holidays, & meet some one special & eventually want to marry her/him, she/he can't come back with the person to live in Singapore? & we are giving out EP & PR to our nighbours like gift vouchers? come back can live.. on long term social visit pass btw, singapore is not the only country that does this.. even japan requires a min of 2 years after married before can try to apply for pr Edited March 13, 2013 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 Have decided to share my experience here, it's rather personal but just to let everyone here judge for ur self and mayhe throw sime advise. born in Singapore but parents wasn't married at the point of time, so I dunno why I wasn't given a citizenship despite being born here, studied here served the army and going reservist every single year like everyone here. I've been to the MP since my secondary school days and was told to served the army 1st as I hold the blue ic w no nationality. Served 2 years in the saf w no bad records but wasn't given a citizenship when my china friends all got theirs. Long story short , has been more than 4years since i ORD n earning a stable income, only down side is I do not have a degree or diploma. But I am born here in Singapore and have never lived in any other country before. I see the MP at least 2 time a year every year since ORD. and standard reply "I'll try to write in" that's pap to me. No reason given for rejection nothing. Just to share my personal experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 Have decided to share my experience here, i think best to post in social media and propagate.....or write to sh!ttytimes... i think you deserved to be a singaporean... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 A local Singaporean marry a foreigner and his/her spouse cannot get PR. A foreigner who works here, got some pass, get PR and can bring his whole family, parents, grandparents and probably the village here. See how well the foreigner is treated over a local ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 This was aired yesterday. Drama when the filipino lady cried...... my take is no. this would lead to more entrants of bogus marriages and social issues. I say ship them back to where they came from. your views? bogus marriages? i dun think tat easy coz for singaporean men marrying foreign wives, not so easy to get PR one....my case is one of the example....wife and me married/ROM, then go apply PR, ICA reject without reason.....went to MP, told MP want to buy hdb and form family, them MP wrote letter to ICA, then got approve....buy hdb must at least wait for 5 years then can sell.... ...after 10 years later, i wanna bring in my run lion ATBs to singapore as FB....ICA dun approve visa....so i have to go AT Land often Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 Who says? [laugh] Yes its true! Women can get pregnant in many unexpected ways. In the 1700s in france the wife of a nobleman got pregnant with a black child cos she drank coco before bed every night. He husband was an elderly man and was surprised he was so virile. The house man servant from Africa was also very surprise. That the husband accepted the explanation from the wife. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 A local Singaporean marry a foreigner and his/her spouse cannot get PR. A foreigner who works here, got some pass, get PR and can bring his whole family, parents, grandparents and probably the village here. See how well the foreigner is treated over a local ? you are right see how ridiculous the rules were just a year ago: The changes, from 1 September 2012 are as follows: S Pass and Employment Pass (EP) holders need to earn a fixed monthly salary of at least $4,000 to sponsor the stay of their spouses and children here. P1 Pass holders will no longer be able to bring in their parents-in-law. They may still bring in their parents, spouses and children. P2 Pass holders will no longer be able to bring in their parents or parents-in-law. They may still bring in their spouses and children. which means last time, these P-pass holders (meaning PMETs) fight for jobs with our middle-class Singaporeans, and they also got the rights to bring in the whole of their villages each PR couple could bring in 4 elderly (in-laws somemore!)... really outrageous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 Yes but only if they are good looking. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...