RadX Moderator March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 This was aired yesterday. Drama when the filipino lady cried...... my take is no. this would lead to more entrants of bogus marriages and social issues. I say ship them back to where they came from. your views? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:19 AM, RadX said: This was aired yesterday. Drama when the filipino lady cried...... my take is no. this would lead to more entrants of bogus marriages and social issues. I say ship them back to where they came from. your views? depends if my spouse is a foreigner with PR already anot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 (edited) how about giving conditional PR? If divorce within certain years, revoke the PR. Edited March 13, 2013 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:22 AM, Baphomet said: how about giving conditional PR? If divorce within certain years, revoke the PR. then is same as current long stay visit pass or dependent pass..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 R u talking about the the wife or husband is a foreign spouse ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 Whether PR or not is secondary, they should settle down start a family with kids then can consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 I think it's the issue about the academic level of the foreign spouse. If highly educated and can get good jobs here, it wouldn't be a problem getting PR. Gahmen might even roll out red carpet to welcome them. I think gahment chao kuan. They know what's going on. Those not highly educated or hardly educated will be a problem for them to handle. Nothing much to talk about. If they wanted to give in the first place they would have done so long. They won't be like now dilly dally talk c--k sing song. If no benefits to coutry or ppl, no PR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:24 AM, Galantspeedz said: then is same as current long stay visit pass or dependent pass..... Big difference.... 1) LTVP and DP is not allowed to work. 2) No welfare. Hopitalization is full fee and the whole rest.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:31 AM, Watwheels said: I think it's the issue about the academic level of the foreign spouse. If highly educated and can get good jobs here, it wouldn't be a problem getting PR. Gahmen might even roll out red carpet to welcome them. I think gahment chao kuan. They know what's going on. Those not highly educated or hardly educated will be a problem for them to handle. Nothing much to talk about. If they wanted to give in the first place they would have done so long. They won't be like now dilly dally talk c--k sing song. If no benefits to coutry or ppl, no PR. Gahmen always think from $$$ point of view one lah..... KNN, if the child is singaporean, why not give the mum a stable status? If mum is sick and need to be hospitalized, why can't she be taken care? With that said, I do agree if they divorce, their status should be revoked.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 but some are genuine spouses who are committed here, and have children who are Singaporean citizens imo, it's much better than those whole families PRs... then when their children reach 16, they send them away to avoid NS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:39 AM, Scion said: but some are genuine spouses who are committed here, and have children who are Singaporean citizens imo, it's much better than those whole families PRs... then when their children reach 16, they send them away to avoid NS Well said!!!! This topic is harder than the single mum one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 13, 2013 Author Share March 13, 2013 Lots of permutations and combinations of cases. the case at Talking Pt, the mom divorced the kid. the kid, now grown up staying with father. So mom, dunno how she surviving? Guess this is one of thiose that slipped thru the cracks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:28 AM, TVT said: R u talking about the the wife or husband is a foreign spouse ??? What difference does that make? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 KNN, in the past years, pink ic already been given out freely like toilet paper. now want to wayang show they want to control? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:28 AM, Carnoob said: Whether PR or not is secondary, they should settle down start a family with kids then can consider. Would you start a family if your residency status was in question? Would you have kids here, if you didn't know whether or not you were going to be able to stay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 (edited) My friend is stuck in such a limbo. He met his Vietnamese wife while working here (she was then on one of the various foreign work permits). Fell in love, got married.. and found out he cannot apply BTO from HDB cos wife is foreigner holding LTVP. Ding dong ding dong to MP, ICA, HDB many many times over the past 2-3yrs.. still the same.. Edited March 13, 2013 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 As long as one rooted here for aleast 5 - 10 years of stable marriage, that's fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 13, 2013 Share March 13, 2013 On 3/13/2013 at 5:35 AM, Tjkbeluga said: Big difference.... 1) LTVP and DP is not allowed to work. 2) No welfare. Hopitalization is full fee and the whole rest.... then answer is no... until the spouse meet the requirements of a PR on their own ability ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...