Healthcare financing -Medishield/Life, etc

So far so good. I was in my 20s when it all happened. Now not switching liao, but want to increase the the premium for better coverage. [:)]

You still in old plan? The plan A and plan B? If yes, you may want to speak to your financal consultant to brief to your more about the PruShield and Prushield Extra which is way a lot better than the A and B plan.

Just be careful when do switching. If you have pre-existing conditions please don't switch as it will do you no good. But if you are in pink if health, by all means, it's your choice.

Yes. This is true and good caution.

You still in old plan? The plan A and plan B? If yes, you may want to speak to your financal consultant to brief to your more about the PruShield and Prushield Extra which is way a lot better than the A and B plan.

nope i'm already under Prushield. just not sure which one. [:)]

Easy to know, do you pay cash every month for the Prushield? If yes you have both Prushield and prushield extra. If you pay by using Medisave only, than you have only Prushield. The prushield Extra is basically a rider that adds on to prushield to give 100% hospital bill coverage up to a yearly limit set by the company. Every other insurance company is the same with some differences on benefits, except for certain company which currently do not have 100% hospital bill coverage for the rider, but they compensate in cash benefit when admitted to hospital, best is to check with your financial consultant for more details.

even on CPF also have two type Prushield Plus and Prushield Premium.

Easy to know, do you pay cash every month for the Prushield? If yes you have both Prushield and prushield extra. If you pay by using Medisave only, than you have only Prushield. The prushield Extra is basically a rider that adds on to prushield to give 100% hospital bill coverage up to a yearly limit set by the company. Every other insurance company is the same with some differences on benefits, except for certain company which currently do not have 100% hospital bill coverage for the rider, but they compensate in cash benefit when admitted to hospital, best is to check with your financial consultant for more details.

even on CPF also have two type Prushield Plus and Prushield Premium.

Ya easy to remember, the premium one is covered up to private hospital. The non premium one is covered up to government restructured hospital A ward. The word extra is basically a rider add on for 100% hospital bill coverage to yearly limit amount as stated in the contract.

Edited by Yewheng

I have done the same thing to myself and whole family.

I bought the highest medishield plan from AIA and also the rider covering the co-insurance in 2010 June.

Unlucky to develop an illness 4 mths later in Oct 2010.

Went to NUH and surgery was schedule 1 week later as NUH said not critical.

Was in pain and called my AIA agent. My AIA agent told me straightaway go to

Mount Elizabeth or Mount Alvernia since my plan cover everything.

Went Mount Alvernia and was operated on that very day. Stay at a single ward

after Mount Alvernia know about my insurance plan. Just a 2 night stay and the bill come to ard 10k.

Very lucky that I don't have to pay a single cents and also enjoyed 1st class service

from Mount Alvernia.

My first hospitalised experience at 36 yrs old. After that I upgraded my whole family

to the highest plan from AIA and include the cash rider to cover the co-insurance.

In Singapore, really can die but cannot sick.

i want to add to this. i had stomachache for 1 whole mth. went SGH A&E, refer fast track to gastro specialist, FAST TRACK hor.. need 2 weeks.

wah, every night stomachache until cannot sleep, wait 2 weeks??

lucky my package is the highest end type. means private hospi and spec, and no need pay a single cent.

went to gleneagles, immediatley next day scope. lucky it was a small problem and resolved with medication. whole bill was 4k+. din pay a single cent (got pay lah, but full claim back).

morale of story: while you are healthy or somewhat healthy, get your self and your family well covered. the premium is abt $400+ for adult a year, and half that amount for kids.

i want to add to this. i had stomachache for 1 whole mth. went SGH A&E, refer fast track to gastro specialist, FAST TRACK hor.. need 2 weeks.

lucky my package is the highest end type. means private hospi and spec, and no need pay a single cent.

went to gleneagles, immediatley next day scope. lucky it was a small problem and resolved with medication. whole bill was 4k+. din pay a single cent (got pay lah, but full claim back).

morale of story: while you are healthy or somewhat healthy, get your self and your family well covered. the premium is abt $400+ for adult a year, and half that amount for kids.

H pylori?

Scope plus anti biotic 4k??

H pylori?

Scope plus anti biotic 4k??

nope. IBS.

top scope and bottom scope, plus doctor fee and med. 3-4k. plus a couple of doc visits each time also $150-180. fully claimable. add up to 4k.

Edited by Shanhz

Agree with u..

Got a FT ex colleague who is SG PR for past 4 years. 1-2 years ago we talked about this type of shield insurance paying from medisave and we been recommending the person to take up (whichever is the insurer doesn't matter) but the person very stubborn, keep telling us statistic and $ go down drain if no claim, and insurer bluff people (from the person experience in Europe and USA).. then that person kanna Lymphoma... Treatment in SG not cheap, no choice but go back Europe seek public health care.

Typical penny wise pound foolish mentality

to add to my earlier comment, since scope with pte spec is about 4k.. and my premium is 400+ per year.. and since colon scope should be done every 10-15 years. just treat it as you save up every yr to do a pte spec colon scope every 10 yrs.. and everything else that you claim for other than this (*touchwood*) is FOC. maybe you might feel better

anyway for those that smoke, $400+ a year is no big deal compare to what you spend on ciggies. and all the more important since u are likely to have higher risk of tio something tua zhong

to add to my earlier comment, since scope with pte spec is about 4k.. and my premium is 400+ per year.. and since colon scope should be done every 10-15 years. just treat it as you save up every yr to do a pte spec colon scope every 10 yrs.. and everything else that you claim for other than this (*touchwood*) is FOC. maybe you might feel better

anyway for those that smoke, $400+ a year is no big deal compare to what you spend on ciggies. and all the more important since u are likely to have higher risk of tio something tua zhong

i think it is double for above 50 [sweatdrop]

group insurance is all about statistics. there is a reason why it is so expensive at that age (and beyond).

hospital stay become a reality once you are past 60/70.

just whether it's short or long stay

It is still too expensive for normal Singaporeans. How many can afford to pay a few hundred in premiums a year? Only the top 30 -40%. How about the rest? They deserve to die?

Dont talk co-ck lah.

Even if the premium is $1000/ annum, it is still $83.33/mth and can be paid using Medisave.

So many have no qualms forking out more than $10/ pack of ciggies....

Dont talk co-ck lah.

Even if the premium is $1000/ annum, it is still $83.33/mth and can be paid using Medisave.

So many have no qualms forking out more than $10/ pack of ciggies....

Agreed.

To me, this is considerably cheap taking into account the amount of coverage for health care and medical costs.

It is worth the penny.

Edited by Yuan