Healthcare financing -Medishield/Life, etc

Hi all, I understand that i need to try to lose weight.. haha.. dunno y since i start work last year, i ballooned abit... recently bought a bicycle and started to cycle quite alot.. hope i can lose some weight too..

Anyway, I am just thinking, If i go for check up, and because i just start taking hypertension medicine, my blood pressure will be lower now. so if i dun tell the doctor, how would he and NTUC know that i have hypertension?

I know that next time when they find out, they will reject all claims but, how do they find out?

Possible?

Don't do it bro. If next time they completely reject any of the claims, than you KPKB also no use, & no one will pity you.

Cycling is good, less likely to injured your legs. My feet both up lorry liao after playing too much football, & recently from ski. Sport should always start young. Haha. So no more running & less (or not football) anymore for me. I will try cycling on better weather. Only issue is I lived 20km from my workplace!

the ntuc guy is correct.

that's why getting health insurance as early as possible is crucial.

When my son is one month old.. first plan I got him was a shield plan max coverage, follow by another whole life policy. My friend tried to ask me to get me into aviva so that coverage for son is foc until 18years old.. I told him my son will get a standalone plan.. those free plan are rubbish because what if he develope some illness along the way.. by the time he is 18, he will be uninsurable.. anyway shield plans are cheap.. only $100-200 per year from Medisave until he is 30.

So bottomline, don't save on that little medisave $$ and get those free for children Aviva plan.. its rubbish. Get the right plans for your kids, which is the standalone ones.

Hi all, I understand that i need to try to lose weight.. haha.. dunno y since i start work last year, i ballooned abit... recently bought a bicycle and started to cycle quite alot.. hope i can lose some weight too..

Anyway, I am just thinking, If i go for check up, and because i just start taking hypertension medicine, my blood pressure will be lower now. so if i dun tell the doctor, how would he and NTUC know that i have hypertension?

I know that next time when they find out, they will reject all claims but, how do they find out?

Possible?

Where you buy your hypertension medicine? From GP sure got records.

When there is no claim and nothing happen, they will just collect premium from you every year.

When something happens, the insurance company will start to investigate and gather

all these info from your GP.

You can try AIA as my friend also on hypertension medicine declare his condition

to AIA.

But his condition is very mild and AIA accepted him after his AIA agent appeal.

I tot many said our medical is v exp when 1 dun plan well and its better to high tax but with free medical or heavy subsidized in angmo countries?

But Bro Radx mentioned about it,then different opinions liao lol

Not only get that medical insurance (not life or endowment hor!) when young, get it when in the pink of health.

Bec when kena disease, it's too late to insure. And you can't blame the insurance company for not taking an ill person in bec he's already a known risk.

As Radx said, go for the best plan as it is paid out if your CPF medisave.

Only the riders the cover the co-payment/ deductible paid by cash.

I know pple like to procrastinate this kind of things, pls don't. Upgrade your plan ASAP.

Thought I'd leave this post here from my post in other thread for those who are in medishield

ok i do my good deed here

For all of you all, your medishield, change to plan A immed......it really saves your pocket. Gahmen puts u on plan b by default. However, you co pay 80%. With just additional loading of not much ALL FR MEDISAVE, and you upgrade to Plan A, you co pay 10%

for example, each dialysis session costs $200.....i only pay $20. And monthly it all comes from my medisave...i DUN PAY A CENT. If not u think i can drive my car now?? most prolly not

so do yourselves and family a good deed. Call the insurance that services your medishield, either income or GE, and change NOW! u never know when u need it. I am glad i changed when i was healthy..phew!

Waste time. I don't bother with Medishield or See Pee F. I pay everything full cash :D

knn...suan until dunno where put face [laugh] [laugh]

but at least my pocket still got cash....and the marni invisible wan lah [laugh][laugh]

juz pulling ur leg la. good that u highlight this and remind everyone that there are simple ways out there for us to take our own responsibility to lessen the burden of medical bills instead of juz kpkb at everything.

Thought I'd leave this post here from my post in other thread for those who are in medishield

ok i do my good deed here

For all of you all, your medishield, change to plan A immed......it really saves your pocket. Gahmen puts u on plan b by default. However, you co pay 80%. With just additional loading of not much ALL FR MEDISAVE, and you upgrade to Plan A, you co pay 10%

for example, each dialysis session costs $200.....i only pay $20. And monthly it all comes from my medisave...i DUN PAY A CENT. If not u think i can drive my car now?? most prolly not

so do yourselves and family a good deed. Call the insurance that services your medishield, either income or GE, and change NOW! u never know when u need it. I am glad i changed when i was healthy..phew!

thanks [thumbsup]

I think mine is under prudential - prushield or something... will call up prudential to enquire on this!

Edited by Baphomet

If really want peace of mind, everyone shd be getting "ENHANCED" Incomeshield Plan "PREFERRED"

U can use Private hospital and the coverage is "As charged"

http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/Enhance...ld/coverage.asp

U can compare this plan against the default Plan BASIC.

Everyone shd understand this important PRACTICE...

Medisave $ is not meant to pay hospital bills.

Medisave $ is meant to pay the insurance premiums, and the insurance will pay the hospital bill.

This arrangement gives u alot more bang for every medisave buck!

Edited by Yoongf

If really want peace of mind, everyone shd be getting "ENHANCED" Incomeshield Plan "PREFERRED"

U can use Private hospital and the coverage is "As charged"

http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/Enhance...ld/coverage.asp

U can compare this plan against the default Plan BASIC.

Everyone shd understand this important PRACTICE...

Medisave $ is meant to pay the insurance premiums, and the insurance will pay the hospital bill.

Yes you are right.

I just signed up for my mum on this plan. Initial wanna go to the 2nd plan.. then friend said a magic word "65% factor if staying in private hospital, as charged in restructuring hospital, and alot of time restructured hospital may have Q".. immediately I signed for the Preferred Plan bec I have only have faith in private hospital for life and death situation.

juz pulling ur leg la. good that u highlight this and remind everyone that there are simple ways out there for us to take our own responsibility to lessen the burden of medical bills instead of juz kpkb at everything.

N Alwes blame gahmen

BINGO! [thumbsup]

wah sei.....u go hospital in mercy or poorsure ambulan? :D

Hi bro, thanx for this thread.after looking at this thread, I went to call Ntuc income and found out that I am on income shield plan MA. Is this the plan A u talking about?

I ask for them if there is any better plan and they refer me to one financial consultant. The guy told me of one enhance income shield. But I need to go thru a check up to see whether I got any existing illness. If there is, there might be a exclusion.

Currently my BMi is 33.5 . The guy say Ntuc will reject any BMi more than 33.. Also, this week, I just start my high blood pressure medicine because I have mild hypertension. I am 26 yrs old btw.

He say that if I get the enhanced income shield, Ntuc will reject my heart related disease claim. But if next time I kenna any heart disease, althought I am on enhanced income shield, Ntuc will still pay my bill based on my income shield plan MA because I was insured under plan MA b4 this highblood pressure was discovered.

Is this true?? I dun think its true right?? I think it's more of the guy trying to get my deal then just smoke ,e right??

happen to me due to bmi

but prudential take me