TVT Supercharged March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 in some cases, the benefit not strictly on baby bonus where women sleep around and ask govt to pick up the tab, it could be divorce women who need the other benefits to help raising the kid. Divorce women get affected meh? I tot they already get the perks when they got married... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 We don't have enough babies so Sporean babies from single or both parent family should get the perks. I personally also think the man that made the lady pregnant should also get some perks. If he didn't help there would be no baby in the first place. If more babies are the objective, why discriminate? i like this topic because can talk about palm sperm, shoot insai, cip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 If you give single mums the perks, it might send a wrong signal to all men/women out there. Then what is the incentive to get married, and be committed to your spouse? I can sleep around and still Father a child, and rest assured my child (n the woman I slept) with is taken care by zheng hoo... It is also not good for a child to grow up in a single parent family. If the lady in question is a Singaporean, why is she discriminated for her choices? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 Go beyond your high and mighty moral ground and look at the " benefits " Baby Bonus: $6,000 cash each for first and second child, and $8,000 each for third and fourth child. Parenthood Tax Rebate of $5,000 for their first child, $10,000 for the second child, and $20,000 for the third and each subsequent child. 16 weeks of paid maternity leave 1 week of paid paternity leave Six days of paid childcare leave a year if the child is below seven years old, or two days if the child is aged seven to 12. Subsidies for infant care and childcare Levy concession for foreign domestic worker Medisave grant for newborns MediShield coverage for congenital and neonatal conditions Aren't the children gifts where they did not have a choice to where, how and who they are borne to ? The " benefits" will go only a little to help them , why punish them when the mistake does not come from them ? and while we are harping this, the kid is already disadvantaged right from the beginning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 (edited) If you give single mums the perks, it might send a wrong signal to all men/women out there. Then what is the incentive to get married, and be committed to your spouse? I can sleep around and still Father a child, and rest assured my child (n the woman I slept) with is taken care by zheng hoo... It is also not good for a child to grow up in a single parent family. That is not the point and I guess the 80% of the people voted against has this mindset.... C'mon, to those single parents, do you think they become have kids because they think gahmen will support them from now on? It's like for if gahmen say will support you if you chop off your leg or hand..... Ai mai? Single parents should be regarded as an unfortunate event which nobody wants it to occur.... Edited March 12, 2013 by Tjkbeluga Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 OK, I do know that in the western country, there are some women who just want to be inseminated and bring up a child alone. From religious point of view, I'm against this but, government should be secular and thus even in such case, any subsidy given by government is still nothing compare to the whole package of bringing up a child. So, I should still say they should be supported. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 give= good way to increse birth rate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 Some single mums can be quite perky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighero Neutral Newbie March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 kids of single parent will most likely end up as ah beng and ah lian... so for me, shouldnt get the same perks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 12, 2013 Author Share March 12, 2013 this sounds like they are begging while the normal family parents take it for granted. If such benefit are given to all, even if the single mum get married at later stage, they dun have to go through the channel of application or 看人脸色 . All single parents have access to social assistance, says its spokesman. "If they face financial difficulties or require social assistance, they can approach any of the Community Development Councils or Family Service Centres for assistance." Help Family Service Centre, for example, provides counselling and casework services for single parents and their children. It also organises support groups and programmes, which aim to help the single-parent families to cope. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 12, 2013 Author Share March 12, 2013 kids of single parent will most likely end up as ah beng and ah lian... so for me, shouldnt get the same perks i know radx is quite free lately -_- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighero Neutral Newbie March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 (edited) i know radx is quite free lately -_- but its quite true wat... i personally know of a few examples without parental guidance from both parents, children may fall way side Edited March 12, 2013 by Bighero Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 12, 2013 Author Share March 12, 2013 but its quite true wat... you know why that quite true, cos from the beginning they were discriminated by people like you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 what abt single Dads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 Single parents should be regarded as an unfortunate event which nobody wants it to occur.... What if they purposely do not want to get married but wants a child ? If we allow perks to these single mums, you may encourage more of such single parenthooding... Don't forget now women are financially stable and can easily live without a spouse... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 single mum is still a mum... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 12, 2013 Author Share March 12, 2013 (edited) What if they purposely do not want to get married but wants a child ? If we allow perks to these single mums, you may encourage more of such single parenthooding... Don't forget now women are financially stable and can easily live without a spouse... so it may not be necessary women sleeping around and have baby, for this group they will most likely opt for abortion. For financially independent women, even without the benefit, not sure can they go to the sperm bank for getting pregnant? If the single mum can support the kid financially in a proper environment, what do you foresee the kid will turn out to be? other than there is not role model from a father. In some family, got father like no father. Edited March 12, 2013 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear March 12, 2013 Share March 12, 2013 What if they purposely do not want to get married but wants a child ? If we allow perks to these single mums, you may encourage more of such single parenthooding... Don't forget now women are financially stable and can easily live without a spouse... Yes, as I mention in my following post, as a government, they should be secular. Like you mentioned, if they are financially capable, what's stopping them from having one even if gahmen don't support them? The total subsidy given, is nothing compare to the sacrifice given by a parent(s). Having a child should not be considered just because gahmen give support or not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...