Roh96 6th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 Hahaha. U use "special " pads ah. Racing pads? B n B car dun need racing or special pads. Just normal original or oem pads more than enough. I guess he is using soft pads, thus more brake dust and wear faster. 25-30K is typical life for soft or racing pad. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Briansoh 1st Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 (edited) Owner can ownself check. If there is shuddering while braking means your discs are warped. If you have loud screeching noise, usually means discs are warped or brake pads finish or not installed properly with copper grease on the backing plates. Once you take off the wheel, look at the disc, they must be flat with no lines or scoring marks on them. If there are any, means the disc needs to be changed. Mine lasted about 250K Kms for the rears and slightly lesser for the fronts on stock Mercedes brake pads. Dont see why you need to change yours at only 70K unless your brakes overheated before and cracked or brake pads finish already and you still never change. And what car are you driving? Most normal car stock brake discs are 50-70 bucks a piece from stockists. The good mechanics will show you whats wrong with the discs when they tell you. Edited March 8, 2013 by Briansoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobucw 2nd Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 Yeah,... better to get second opinion. Normally don't have to change if what you say is true,.. i.e. "gentle" driving. Can last maybe 5 years or longer. However, if your pads have damaged the disc, then it may need to be changed. Some pads are harsh depending on quality and this is not good for the disc. Sometimes it's good to send disc for skimming each time the pads are changed,... provided the disc is not warpped. Also, if you run your fingers on the disc, if it is not smooth, better to skim it so the new pads will have a nice surface to contact. It all depends on the quality of disc and pads, and driving style and condition. No harm getting a 2nd or 3rd opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 I thot warp disc is when u brake at high speed your steering wheel will vibrate. Quite easy to tell. yes, tat's typically how we judge....if it's a hot day n the car has been running for a rather long distance, the vibration when braking will be worse usually if the discs r warped....then it's time to skim or change Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 I thot warp disc is when u brake at high speed your steering wheel will vibrate. Quite easy to tell. So far i driving so many years n so many cars. Some till 20 yrs till scrap never had this problem. Sometimes steering vibrate is bearing or steering or suspension parts worn. Bushes old need to change. Discs so far i hv never changed b4.. Even wrong rims or wrong offset wil cause wheel to vibrate or wobble. WS mech very smart to cheat ignorant motorists. Best part ty see motorist so happy after he been cheated. Mech also happy. Make more money n make driver happy. Everybody happy. Good what. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 I.C, How come the WS always so greedy? well, times are bad..... if you always go for those petrol station car wash, they like to aim the water spray at your rims to wash. This is dangerous because if you drive for some time, the brake discs are v hot. the water spray contact these hot discs, the discs will warp due to sudden temp drop. many drivers kena this kind of situation. So the smart thing to do is don't go to petrol station car wash after u drive for a long time. Do it as soon as possible after u just start the engine. or you can DIY car wash. In normal driving, you never have to change brake discs...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 I guess he is using soft pads, thus more brake dust and wear faster. 25-30K is typical life for soft or racing pad. Some racing pads very abrasive fr better grip. But ty wear e discs more. Just stick to original or oem pads more than enough fr our "ricer boys ". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 If directly wash your brake discs will 'damage' it, then how about during raining day when you drive on wet road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 Owner can ownself check. If there is shuddering while braking means your discs are warped. If you have loud screeching noise, usually means discs are warped or brake pads finish or not installed properly with copper grease on the backing plates. Once you take off the wheel, look at the disc, they must be flat with no lines or scoring marks on them. If there are any, means the disc needs to be changed. Mine lasted about 250K Kms for the rears and slightly lesser for the fronts on stock Mercedes brake pads. Dont see why you need to change yours at only 70K unless your brakes overheated before and cracked or brake pads finish already and you still never change. And what car are you driving? Most normal car stock brake discs are 50-70 bucks a piece from stockists. The good mechanics will show you whats wrong with the discs when they tell you. My corona i used till almost 20 yrs n >400k km also never change discs. There was some wear. Can see lip higher than part where pads contact it but still very thick. No need to change at all......unless u go genting n cameron every week n use brakes all e way down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 (edited) Actually disc need to change. Jap cars have softer pads so don't wear out the disc that's why some drive until the car scrap still never change before. Some conti rides wear the disc quickly, need to change 1 disc for every 3-4 pad change. That said, most people don't keep their car long enough to have the disc changed. Pad is changed every ~2 years I think? So 3 pad change already 5-6 years. Skimming is not good. It makes the disc thin. Reduce structural strength. Do 1-2 times can. Don't do more than 2 times. If you don't drive like a rabbit, your disc should stay in good shape one. Edited March 8, 2013 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 well, times are bad..... if you always go for those petrol station car wash, they like to aim the water spray at your rims to wash. This is dangerous because if you drive for some time, the brake discs are v hot. the water spray contact these hot discs, the discs will warp due to sudden temp drop. many drivers kena this kind of situation. So the smart thing to do is don't go to petrol station car wash after u drive for a long time. Do it as soon as possible after u just start the engine. or you can DIY car wash. In normal driving, you never have to change brake discs...... Normal driving discs not that hot lah. Unless u see yr discs glowing red hot. Then its very hot. Discs r designed n made to withstand normal driving n getting wet without damage. Unless yrs china car n discs made from alumnium foil. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 If directly wash your brake discs will 'damage' it, then how about during raining day when you drive on wet road? Yr discs were designed n made to withstand getting wet under normal driving conditions without damage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 Normal driving discs not that hot lah. Unless u see yr discs glowing red hot. Then its very hot. Discs r designed n made to withstand normal driving n getting wet without damage. Unless yrs china car n discs made from alumnium foil. Hahaha. oh then my friends' cars all lemon........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 oh then my friends' cars all lemon........ Or ty so kua su. Everything also listen to mech. Financial advisors also tell u sell...buy...sell....buy. Every trade ty make a comission. U dun buy or sell how ty buy new merc..bmw..porsche or audi every couple of years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 I did car service in a workshop, the boss suggested me to replace brake discs, cost about $350 for front pair, my car mileage just 70k, in gentle driving style. can anyone advise how ofen to change brake discs in normally? thanks did the w/s say why need to change disc? It's very unusual to change disc at such low mileage. I have never changed brake disc for all the rides I owned before. Only once when there was wobbling on my steering when braking and my mech did skimming on my disc. Other than this brake disc are made to last a very long time. My current ride is coming to 9 years and done 170k plus...disc are still good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 OT a bit....my car mileage now at abt 59K...the AD mechanics so far haven't changed my brake pads (been back to AD for oil change n servicing becos still under warranty)...is tat normal? i thot tat brake pads need to be changed at abt 40K km? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 Cos when u open yr wallet he peep inside see so many $50 notes. He wan to do magic n move some to his wallet. Hahaha. Ws owner wants to do the magic trick plus:- Take his rotors and sell to another carrot owner as new ones Sell skimmed old rotors to first carrot also as new ones.... Then he go niteclub or ktv for a good time... With the stacks of $50 notes from a few carrots' wallet using his magic tricks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 8, 2013 Share March 8, 2013 Yr discs were designed n made to withstand getting wet under normal driving conditions without damage. I guess only apply during normal driving conditions? But not when you spray water directly on the disc brake?! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...