Lorry kills again.

Yr1985

ok ...u answered it...this is the problem LTA needs to resolve..they shld only hv 1 standard...instead of multiple standards...shld jus implement red/green right turn arrow w a timer...will be safer for all..

Well, IIRC, the "right turn when clear" is implemented to reduce waiting time (and wasting time) when traffic is clear.. But at some major/busy junction, turns out this method cause more accidents, so the red/yellow/green arrows are implemented for busy junctions

Edited by Shull

No no no

Pls have more confident

U r 100% rite!!!!!

I rem Liao

My work in loyang as in changi area

Towards tampines

Rite turn to tpe sle

That pedestrian light is green!!!!

Imagine we see green light traffic

We inch forward

Opp direction clear no cars

We drive forward

Knn pedestrian crossing

N it's green man

Knn

Oh ya

It's green light traffic n not rite turn green arrow

But I simply dun agree with this

Eg loyang is industrial area

Lots of heavy veh gng up tpe

If small road ok fine

IMO only

picture from Stomp:

fr the combination of kolor on the lorlee, it seems the parent Coy is fr JB,

listed in bolehland main board, in chinese: east&south.

Thanks, I can't be sure cause so used to the system that don't need to think when driving, just use intuition but with eyes open big big.

PS. Are you writing this from your phone? Looks like poem. [laugh]

Yup

From phone

But I always write in point form

Maybe due to technical student

Lol

Ytd oso driving to T junction

Green light in my favour

Lucky I was attentive

I saw a guy crossing the traffic when all the way reading phone

Wtf

I hornnnnnnnnn

Jus to wake him

He nv rush n look at his lights

Knn gave me a shock n I look at my light again

Yup mine is green n his presdestrain light was red!!!

These pple gave Sg drivers a bad name too lar

fr the combination of kolor on the lorlee, it seems the parent Coy is fr JB,

listed in bolehland main board, in chinese: east&south.

No wonder my delivery of HP workstations for today delayed [bigcry]

RIP to the pedestrian.

Yup

From phone

But I always write in point form

Maybe due to technical student

Lol

Ytd oso driving to T junction

Green light in my favour

Lucky I was attentive

I saw a guy crossing the traffic when all the way reading phone

Wtf

I hornnnnnnnnn

Jus to wake him

He nv rush n look at his lights

Knn gave me a shock n I look at my light again

Yup mine is green n his presdestrain light was red!!!

These pple gave Sg drivers a bad name too lar

Sometimes pedestrians also f-up one, take one look at oncoming vehicle then still jaywalk across slowly to act cool. Near my house and donwan invite trouble so seldom horn. But if it's ah ma, I will stop my vehicle fully let her cross.

So young... 28 only...

A 28-year-old female pedestrian died in an accident involving a lorry early Thursday morning.

Police said they received a call at 7.05 am, and the victim, believed to be a Singaporean Chinese, was pronounced dead on scene by paramedics.

The accident happened along Buangkok Green towards Sengkang East Road. The victim suffered head injuries.

The 42-year-old lorry driver is assisting with investigations, said police.

This happened right outside my house on my usual route to work.

Today i happened to leave the house slightly later and reached the scene around 8.40am-ish. TPs were on scene, blocking two of the 3 lane road. From far i could see the blue tent being placed beside the lorry. As i got closer i only saw police personnel on scene presumably trying to remove the body. No SCDF personnel.

And from the lorry's position, it was on the right-most lane, about 10 metres away from the intersection. The body of the victim was directly under the rear of the lorry. Based on that i believe that the pedestrian might have been jaywalking (i have no bloody idea why so, as this is a main road). Also, the pedestrian crossing was also 10m away.

Before i read this news i thought it was a motorcyclist involved.

Maybe if i had set out on my usual timing i might have witnessed the accident. Who knows.

Don't always blame the vehicle.

It is a sad and tragic accident as jaywalkers not common along Buangkok Green due to constant heavy traffic.

Lorry can't be speeding along that stretch because of the number of traffic junctions at short intervals.

Edited by Toothiewabbit

Heavier jail sentence plus caning. If rape can have caning , why not errant drivers which cause death? Imagine if it is your kin that is being knocked down , how will u feel?

I agree with the view that pedestrians should also be more cautious. Just now only I encounter this situation where one vehicle broken down, half-out of a parking lot, thus narrowing the road (it was a small road through an open space carpark. Tow truck was already there parked at the side, confusing the situation even more.

With other vehicles I drove cautiously squeezing through the narrow gap - when suddenly pop out one pedestrian (back to my vehicle) also insist on squeezing through the gap at the same time! [hur] Headphone plugged firmly in ears and I suspect in the midst of phone call. Siao! I could've run over his toes unknowingly... or he could've been accidentally crushed against a parked vehicle.

Edited by Sosaria

There is a reason that these lorries are speeding.

For survival,both ownself and the companies they are working for.

Who's to blame when biz costs are so high? <_<

That is why.... LTA should implement right turn arrow red when pedestrian is crossing.... Only when it turn red, then the right turn arrow turn green.... Safer for pedestrian to cross.... May be a delay for driver, but safety come first....

Cfm is jay walk when there's no traffic light at the plc of contact lar

Sometimes we know better than these reporters man

Haiz

But even if she is jay walk

Lorry driver oso tau kee liao lar