This is why our children have to ballot

Humsuplo

TS, there are 2 other ways to get your kid to the good school you wish, or at least, better chances...

(1) Buy a new home, with the new address, you are allowed to switch school under a special scheme - good chance of getting nearby school since it is a special intake.

(2) Train your kid well so he or she can get into GEP, gifted stream, then you have your choice of good schools ... though not necessarily close to home [laugh] And better still, go straight to brand-name school... no need to volunteer or buy multi-million address! Fair enough? Needs hard work though!

Edited by Sosaria

No offense. But you think his parents wanted him to go through that? Probably they could not afford a better option. Like buying a house in Singapore.

[thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

As a Northerner (Woodlands, not JB [:p] ) I actually have many classmates from Malaysia when growing up. They go through the same process as us, and honestly integrate very well with us. In fact after a few years you can't even tell them apart from a Singaporean.

So I say, cut them some slack. They are our neighbours after all. We cannot completely close the door on them.

it is rosyth... my kids enter straight without ballot cos i from there. but hor so many parents who try to do so much in the end no place for their kids..

another option is wait till streaming and if they can get into mensa sure can come rosyth one.

i wonder if 1 place left and there are 2 kids who are elegible 1 is from jb and the other is sg which rosyth will take?? both same mensa score in this case.

but then again, which parents want their kids to go to si ling primary? still gov must make sure that our own children of this land gets priority over foreigners.. they should be the ones who do the volunteer work and no just pay higher fees can come here study liao.

better yet, secondary onwards should not allow foreigners to study here.

Rosyth standard like that one ar? Better not send my kids there.....

As long as following the rules here, please don't anyhow accuse others. As the saying goes:

"Cannot take the heat, get out of the kitchen".

You can go Montfort Junior.. No need balloting.. 15% Pinoy, 15% Nepalese, 10% PRC, 10% India, 10% Msia & 40%Sporeans..

is montfort primary school so bad

the school has a huge ground

across the road is the kopitam nearest the school (near where the old bicycle shop use to be) with the roasted meat rice shop

their politeness needs a bit of polishing

i always thought almost all neighbour school nowadays are ok and acceptable

it is peer pressure that resulted in parents wanting to put their children in atas school

i know a person who was from AJC after that ended up in SHATEC but now earning $20,000 with $8000 housing allowance

and each year got free trip to Europe

so the point is

if the kid is going to do well

generally in any environment will be ok

but putting him or her in a good environment will facilitate the process to greatness

hence it must be the reason why any tom dick or harry parents

sie sie also want to put their children smart or not so smart into good school

Rosyth standard like that one ar? Better not send my kids there.....

from what i understand Rosyth

is one good school

You can go Montfort Junior.. No need balloting.. 15% Pinoy, 15% Nepalese, 10% PRC, 10% India, 10% Msia & 40%Sporeans..

out of curiosity, i went to their open house before.. quite okay leh.. but yes.. compared to the other famous ones, they are not 'there'.

So we shouldn't send our kids to oversea universities too. They need the places more than us. Cambridge for British. MIT for Canadians.

Damn...when did the Canadians annex the US of A?

As a Northerner (Woodlands, not JB [:p] ) I actually have many classmates from Malaysia when growing up. They go through the same process as us, and honestly integrate very well with us. In fact after a few years you can't even tell them apart from a Singaporean.

So I say, cut them some slack. They are our neighbours after all. We cannot completely close the door on them.

[thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

As long as following the rules here, please don't anyhow accuse others. As the saying goes:

"Cannot take the heat, get out of the kitchen".

:angry: :angry: :angry: Our kids have to fight with foreigners for uni place while we are discrimated in the job market!!!

Source: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drin...et-4126723.html

Brothers!!! 2016!!! :angry: :angry: :angry:

if nus or ntu stop taking in foreigners, our kids can study locally right?

Quota aside, is your kid good enough to qualify?

from what i understand Rosyth

is one good school

Rosyth is one of the few primary schools offering the gifted programme.

wake up ur mind lah.... Malaysian student (foreigner) can only go to those school who have plenty of vacancy.... in another words, those school where even PR wont want to choose. U kids want to go?? dont even need to ballot, what is there to kpkb about?? [hur] [hur] [hur]

seem to have some misunderstanding about the priority for SG kids. it is only priority within each phase, so a PR can still be ahead of a SG kid if the PR is in a earlier phase.

The phases are

1 - sibling in the school

2A(1) - parent is a alumni + PSG, SAC member etc

2A(2) - parent or sibling is old boy

2B - volunteer or community

2C - none of the above

i think if they want to finetune the system further, they may want to exclude PRs from 2A(2). 1, 2A(1) and 2B is based on contribution, so if the PR have contributed, the child should be afforded priority.

2A(2) is just sentimental reasons. I think they can exclude PR. In fact, they might as well exclude SGreans or move it to below 2B.

Edited by Chongster

seem to have some misunderstanding about the priority for SG kids. it is only priority within each phase, so a PR can still be ahead of a SG kid if the PR is in a earlier phase.

The phases are

1 - sibling in the school

2A(1) - parent is a alumni + PSG, SAC member etc

2A(2) - parent or sibling is old boy

2B - volunteer or community

2C - none of the above

i think if they want to finetune the system further, they may want to exclude PRs from 2A(2). 1, 2A(1) and 2B is based on contribution, so if the PR have contributed, the child should be afforded priority.

2A(2) is just sentimental reasons. I think they can exclude PR. In fact, they might as well exclude SGreans or move it to below 2B.

Actually I think 2A(2) could be for the sake of continuity. Some parents might want their child to go to their school or the same school as their elder siblings perhaps for convenience sake. Like my younger brother for example. He's 10 years younger than me, and got into my old school via 2A(2). If not, very ma huan for him cos we don't live near any other schools.