Daredarr Neutral Newbie March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Dear ICE gurus, First of all I have to apologise for the series of goondu questions cos I'm a super noob abt ICE. I've recently purchase a used car (Daihatsu Materia). Didn't really pay much attention to the sound system when checking the car during purchase as I'm not too into ICE and like I've mentioned, I'm a noob lor. Aft collecting the car, I do some cleaning of the interior and discover a 'box' below the front passenger seat with cables. I serious do not know what it is and presume it to be an 'Amplifier'. I have attached pics for gurus to affirm my guess. At the same time, I realised that the front & rear speakers (on the doors) are somehow very soft and not too clear. The sound transmission was very much dependant on the speakers (or do u call that tweeters) on the dashboard. All these makes me pondering with a few questions in mind: 1) If what I saw is an amplifier, how come the sound/music fr the front & rear speakers? Always tout amp is supposed to 'enhance' the sound effect?? 2) Could the poor sound effect due to cable connection problems? 3) I know it might be difficult to 'diagnose' the problem from what I've described or what I've shown in the pic. That's why I am also asking ICE gurus the rough cost if I send the at to those car audio shop to check and maybe 'rerun' the cables or connections or maybe help diagnose the problem. And of course, the HU is stock factory fitted if u are asking, but I don't know the make/model. Think the brand is MAC or something bah. Thanks in advance and once again sorry for the goondu questions. I couldn't find the answers I'm looking for aft I use the search function. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daredarr Neutral Newbie March 2, 2013 Author Share March 2, 2013 (edited) Here are some more pics. Sorry for the lousy quality. Had a hard time squeezing at the rear passenger seat floor board to take the photos. Edited March 2, 2013 by Daredarr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daredarr Neutral Newbie March 2, 2013 Author Share March 2, 2013 (edited) This is the speaker (or is it called tweeter?) on the dashboard which I've mentioned earlier. Edited March 2, 2013 by Daredarr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 This is the speaker (or is it called tweeter?) on the dashboard which I've mentioned earlier. Speaker is a general term for something that produce a sound. Tweeter is to make high frequency sound which we usually call treble Woofer is to make low frequency sound which we call bass Your photo with red arrow is a Tweeter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 (edited) The component under your seat is indeed an Amplifier to increase the power of the signal from your head unit. It does not necessary make good sound. It just give more power. The speakers are the ones that are important to make good sound. I can guess why you are not happy with the current sound. I believe you brought this car 2nd hand. If yes, the previous owner is likely to have dismantle the good speakers and amplifier and re-install a lousy set-up for you. You will be surprise that some speaker may be not connected or connect wrongly as in + to -. I have seen this too many times. So you have to go to hifi shop to have it sorted out. Edited March 2, 2013 by Blue850r Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daredarr Neutral Newbie March 2, 2013 Author Share March 2, 2013 (edited) Speaker is a general term for something that produce a sound. Tweeter is to make high frequency sound which we usually call treble Woofer is to make low frequency sound which we call bass Your photo with red arrow is a Tweeter. Wahahaha. Now I know....so those at the door panels can be called speakers right? The component under your seat is indeed an Amplifier to increase the power of the signal from your head unit. It does not necessary make good sound. It just give more power. The speakers are the ones that are important to make good sound. I can guess why you are not happy with the current sound. I believe you brought this car 2nd hand. If yes, the previous owner is likely to have dismantle the good speakers and amplifier and re-install a lousy set-up for you. You will be surprise that some speaker may be not connected or connect wrongly as in + to -. I have seen this too many times. So you have to go to hifi shop to have it sorted out. Yup, 2nd hand. And as what u've said is what I'm worried abt lor. That's why wanna ask the gurus here if I send to car audio shop to rectify it I.e. jus rewiring or connect properly, how much would be charge roughly? Dun want to be carroted unnecessary leh Edited March 2, 2013 by Daredarr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 when u turn on high bass music, ur car damn power! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daredarr Neutral Newbie March 2, 2013 Author Share March 2, 2013 when u turn on high bass music, ur car damn power! U mean the stock factory condition ald power?? Doesn't seem so for my car lor.....that's why I'm looking for a way to 'revert' back to normal lor. Actually I dun nid too powerful ICE lah, as long as it sounds better than a portable radio can liao lor. Cos that's how mine sound like now :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 U mean the stock factory condition ald power?? Doesn't seem so for my car lor.....that's why I'm looking for a way to 'revert' back to normal lor. Actually I dun nid too powerful ICE lah, as long as it sounds better than a portable radio can liao lor. Cos that's how mine sound like now :angry: Errm last time my car got install that, feel the diff in power, esp dsco music become like in club Think for ur case, speaker may got prob, way to revert normal is to take off the power Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Wahahaha. Now I know....so those at the door panels can be called speakers right? Yes Yup, 2nd hand. And as what u've said is what I'm worried abt lor. That's why wanna ask the gurus here if I send to car audio shop to rectify it I.e. jus rewiring or connect properly, how much would be charge roughly? Dun want to be carroted unnecessary leh Just budget $100 or less. Depends on the job because tracing wiring is worst than fresh install. Don't go to famous hifi shops, they are usually expensive as their customers are high end. Just hop in to those common accessories shop around housing estate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daredarr Neutral Newbie March 2, 2013 Author Share March 2, 2013 Just budget $100 or less. Depends on the job because tracing wiring is worst than fresh install. Don't go to famous hifi shops, they are usually expensive as their customers are high end. Just hop in to those common accessories shop around housing estate. Guess I'll have to send liao lor. Thank u so much for ur inputs bro!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XavierT Neutral Newbie June 4, 2015 Share June 4, 2015 Sorry, too new to start a topic. I need help. My car is equipped w. Eco Start/Stop, and installed 3ways ICE + 1farad cap. Whenever Eco Starts at traffic, my audio goes off for 1s-3s. I have heard opinions from installers but nothing from owners. Please help if you experienced this problem before. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...